Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars27
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£21.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 July 2011
What i suppose should have been clear to me (and probably would have been had I looked into it properly) is that this is a collection of short stories.
Some great little tales in here, some drab, dull little horrors too.
Mainly late 19th c. - early 20th c.
Some beautifully read, others unlisten-to-able.
The balance is just about on the side of buying it as it's not very expensive.
33 comments|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
These are some well chosen stories that are great for shortening a long journey. Nothing too heavy and something you can listen to again and not get bored. Good value for money and quick delivery too.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
Worth buying and listening to if you have a long car journey - which we did. A nice "taste" of many authors.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
I purchased this to listen to at night, but found the stories were told so well, that I couldn't get off to sleep! Excellent for listening to in the car.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
I haven't yet read all the stories on the cd, but it's just what I need when I'm feeling tired and can close my eyes and listen to the great classic stories!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
BRILLIANT KEEPS ONE ENTERTAINED FOR HOURS..AND YOU CAN GO BACK TO IT TIME AND TIME AGAIN HERBERTSA VORY
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
Perfect for driving-short stories are a great way to pass the time-read so well by famous people and some were so funny too. Very nice old fashioned turn of phrase at times.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
Nice selection to dip into and read by celebs so I can play guess that voice too :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2012
I ordered these to while away the time on a long car journey. Some of the stories are quite heavy but there is a good mix. I think there were 6 or 7 cds in all so a lot of hours worth of listening and certainly great value!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2015
Excellent story one of my favourite stories of DIcken's.pat
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse