Buy Used
£1.99
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This book is eligible for free delivery anywhere in the United Kingdom. Your order will be picked, packed and dispatched by Amazon. Buy with confidence!
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Golf and the Spirit: Lessons for the Journey Paperback – Illustrated, 27 Jan 2001

4 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, Illustrated
"Please retry"
£12.50 £0.01

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card for your child's school by voting for their favourite book. Learn more.
  • Prepare for the summer with our pick of the best selection for children (ages 0 - 12) across Amazon.co.uk.


Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card and 30 Kindle E-readers for your child or pupil's school.
Vote for your child or pupil(s) favourite book(s) here to be in with a chance to win.

Product details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Pocket Books; New edition edition (27 Jan. 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0671037749
  • ISBN-13: 978-0671037741
  • Product Dimensions: 19.4 x 12.8 x 2.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 761,545 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

A graduate of both Harvard University and Case Western Reserve, Dr Peck served in the Army Medical Corps from 1963 to 1972 and had a private practice in psychiatry from 1972 to 1983. He also devoted much of his time and financial resources to the work of the Foundation for Community Encouragement, a nonprofit organization which he and his wife, Lily, helped found in 1984. His bestselling books include The Road Less Travelled and Beyond, A World Waiting to Be Born, and What Return Can I Make? Dr Peck died in 2005.

Product Description

Amazon Review

It is human nature to try and hit a golf ball as hard as you can and to look up while doing so. It is also human nature to be jealous, possessive, greedy, selfish, thoughtless and eager to the point of violence.

Part sport, part open-air struggle against the baser instincts, golf enchants and torments our sense of self like no other leisure activity--how often a gentle round mutates into a 18-hole prosecution of the soul.

Step forward, M Scott Peck--author of the bestselling self-help book of all time The Road Less Travelled--to offer a few pointers on your mental attitude. Resist the urge to beat him briskly about the face and neck with a lofted wood, because his Golf and the Spirit could change the way you think about the game forever.

Set over an imaginary round at Exotica Country Club--golf course of the mind--the book explores the mental machinations that lay behind your 10-yard drives and those occasional belters, finding ways to approach the sport that will have old hands and non-golfers alike eager to tee-off.

Long on developing the mental muscles to enjoy the game, and mercifully short on Americanised psycho-drivel, Scott Peck is a witty, insightful student of his own golfing strengths and weaknesses. If you're looking for advice on adjusting your swing plane for the short irons, look elsewhere. But if your most common post-shot reaction is an expletive-laden cry of anguish then this book could help put the fun back into golf.--Alex Hankin --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From the Publisher

THE FAIRWAY LESS TRAVELLED
THE FAIRWAY LESS TRAVELLED
In 1967 M. Scott Peck first took to the greens and picked up his putter. As he played golf over the next thirty years he grew to realise that the game was a spiritual discipline – an opportunity to learn about himself, his journey through life and one of the most wonderful, maddening, rewarding and inspiring games created by man.

In Golf and the Spirit, M. Scott Peck takes the reader round an imaginary golf course of his own devising – comprised of many of the world’s greatest fairways – while playing the greens he explores the history, lore and skills required of golf. Yet, he also explores the deeper issues behind the game, issues that colour and influence everyone’s life, golfer and non-golfer alike.

The front nine holes primarily explore the more physical and external challenges of golf, the back nine look at the internal, psychological and spiritual challenges of the game. The ability to understand anger and how to move beyond it. The capacity to accept and benefit from teachers. The need for competition if we are to thrive. The encouragement of civility to others and ourselves. The realisation that life, like golf, is not linear. Above all else that to experience the blessings of golf and life fully, we must accept the power of divinity that underlies all things.

Golf and the Spirit, celebrates the lessons that golf can teach everyone and makes a lasting contribution to the literature of golf and life in the tradition of Harvey Penick and Michael Murphy, creating an opportunity for transformation both on and off the fairway.

M. Scott Peck is an internationally renowned author, psychiatrist and lecturer on the relationship between religion and psychology. He is the author of the internationally acclaimed The Road Less Travelled, which has spent more than twelve years on the New York Times best-seller list, as well as twelve other works of spirituality, psychology and fiction. In his spare time he has played the fairways and greens of some of the world’s greatest courses. He lives in Connecticut, with his wife Lily. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By T. Carpenter on 5 Jun. 2001
Format: Paperback
Peck tries to provide non-golfers with an explanation for our fascination with what seems to be a very silly little pastime. He also provides golfers with an opportunity to examine their own lives in the context of golf.
Peck is saying so much more than "Golf is like life". He challenges us to examine ourselves during a round on his imaginary golf course and hole by hole helps to us understand ourselves and our nature to such an extant that by the time you reach the 18th hole you can't wait to play again.
Peck love of the game shines through and this book will help any of those deeper thinkers to understand their own love affair with the grand game and hopefully provoke some non-golfers to take a look at the game!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By K. V. MCCLEAN on 14 Oct. 2008
Format: Hardcover
This is a very deep book and not really a golf book, more a self improvement book wrapped around the spirit of golfing. I found it very hard to read, although I did find some of his stuff relevant a lot of it was 'mumbo jumbo'. A bit like Marmite some will love it and some will hate it!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By kb on 6 Jun. 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
the book was second hand and due to light damage you could tell it had sat on the shelf for a long time... but it was in very good condition and my friend is fully enjoying the book...'MS Peck' is phenomenal
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 17 April 2001
Format: Hardcover
Scott Peck has written some serious and worthwhile books but he gets windy and overblown about golf and how his golf game has taught him more about life. The golf as metaphor genre is getting tapped out. Enough, already.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback