Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
Price: £4.32

or
 
   
Trade in Yours
For a £0.56 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
I’d like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Goldfish [Paperback]

Brian Michael Bendis
3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
RRP: £14.99
Price: £13.02 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: £1.97 (13%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Saturday, 20 Sep.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Perfect Paperback £11.66  
Paperback, 2 July 2001 £13.02  
Trade In this Item for up to £0.56
Trade in Goldfish for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.56, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

2 July 2001
Goldfish is the story of an enigmatic grifter with a heart of gold, who returns to his old haunts to find his old flame, Lauren, practically running the city's underbelly, and his oldest friend and ex-partner in crime, Izzy, now a police detective. But David Goldfish has come back for one reason, and one reason only--for his son. This beautiful volume features a brand new GOLDFISH prose story written especially for this collection. A complete crime fiction novel in a film noir art style. Fans of Raymond Chandler books, Humphry Bogart films, and crime drama will be delighted.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product details

  • Paperback: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Image Comics; Gph edition (2 July 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1582401950
  • ISBN-13: 978-1582401959
  • Product Dimensions: 25.8 x 16.9 x 1.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,138,670 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

5 star
0
4 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
3.0 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Did not live up to expectations... 15 Nov 2001
By Magnus
Format:Paperback
For some odd reason I had really looked forward to reading this, despite being unfamiliar with Bendis' work. However, I found the drawings to be a little bit dated - too 80s for my taste. The story is also unspectacular, a little bit cramped and underdeveloped despite the valiant efforts of the artist. But I will still have a go at Jinx and Torso to see if there are any improvements!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.4 out of 5 stars  9 reviews
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gritty Comic-Noir.... 19 Jan 2002
By Daniel V. Reilly - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
Goldfish is, at it's simplest level, a revenge story. A grifter returns to take back something that belongs to him; something that his former partner is unwilling to relinquish, and will kill to keep. The difference between this and every other revenge story is the prize in question is not stolen loot, but a child- the son of David "Goldfish" Gold and his former lover/partner Lauren.
Lauren is now a bigshot crime-boss, while Goldfish is still pulling small-time cons. To give away anything else would be to do potential readers a great injustice.
Writer/Artist Brian Michael Bendis keeps the twists and turns coming, and the book is HUGE- a great value.
The drawbacks are the same ones I've had with most of Bendis' collections, including Jinx, Fire, & Torso: Poor production values. The climax of Goldfish has a few pages printed out of order, and the book is FILLED with misspelled words. (That kind of stuff drives me nuts!) Bendis' art is too murky also, and at times it was very difficult to tell who was doing what to whom.
But readers who are looking for a well-told, twisty crime drama will probably enjoy Goldfish.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too cool for school genre writing exercise 28 Dec 2003
By IT person - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
Goldfish is a fast-paced noir thriller with a theme, plot and characters worthy of any crime writer, and a revelation of what a graphic novel can do. You waste no time reading descriptions of people, surroundings, body language, car crashes and gun battles: your visual cortex does the work with immediate impact. Bendis's art is simple, dark, very expressive. Here and there facial expressions are awkwardly drawn, but the overall layout is effective and the acting is really good. I love the way he only paints surroundings every couple of pages, but they're so carefully selected that they stick with you for a long time. His lighting, close-ups and sustained high tempo do remind you of a movie (think Reservoir Dogs or Memento), except that the dialogue is unimpaired by PG ratings. It's sassy, to the point, true to its characters like a tape recording.
Now you might say that it's almost overdone. The author devised a rigid formal structure that is very densely packed with points and counterpoints, comic relief, dramatic confessions, flash-backs, flash-forwards, action, anticipation, etc. His technique is a little bit too obvious, and the female characters end up a tad shrill. But that's just a tiny gripe for purists, and I'm glad to report, Bendis is completely over that now (look at Jinx, it's a true classic). Besides, many layered themes are woven into this story just as carefully as its plot twists and turns, and its final offbeat perspective makes up for whatever feels formulaic before that. So, don't pass up on Goldfish. It's a great read, it has real feeling and makes more than one good point. It definitely deserves a spot in your collection.
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bendis fan finds herself disappointed 2 Jun 2005
By jessica j - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
I really like Bendis, in general. He is probably my favorite comic book writer. I really like Powers, and Daredevil, and Alias. Since all of those books are superhero books with noir elements, I figured that this book, his root of noir, would be the rosetta stone of Bendis. Instead, it was just kind of lame.

Goldfish himself was only somewhat interesting. He is a crook who is pretty much just a run of the mill crook who never redeems or elevates or changes himself in any way. I sometimes had trouble knowing which one he was because Bendis' art was so rough. A lot of stuff happens to him in this book that you feel is going to add up to some firecracker ending, but then the ending, also, is just kind of lame.

I am sincerely surprised that this made the Wizard top 100 list, as I would not even count it among the best of Bendis' work. An interesting debut, yes, but not a book I would recommend to anyone else.
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent piece of material. 2 Mar 2009
By Steve - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
I first got to known Brian Michael Bendis from an art class at a Community College in Cleveland, OH. This man has a imagination out of this world and his creativity in comics speaks VOLUMES. Cleveland doesn't has much, but if you're into Dramatic/Action pack Comic, then you know Cleveland gave birth to Bendis.

Goldfish is a great crime story. It has a SIN CITY feel to it. The art is incredible. Bendis uses sooo many different form of media to tell a story in every frame. Incredible! Image and Marvel has gained a great person to tell and draw out the stroy. I do recommend this book...even if the plot of story doesn't fit your interest...the artwork in this book will.
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good crime comic 15 Mar 2002
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
I would have to say that Bendis' crime work is probably the best of that type in the comic field.
He is a very good writer who consistently delivers good and believable dialogue for his characters.
I do have a complaint though. I am not the biggest fan of the art. It seems murky and somewhat disjointed. Sometimes during some of the longer dialogue scenes I had trouble distinguishing which of the characters was actually speaking.
That being said, I still would advise that you buy this one. It is a large book with good characters and a surprising twist. Give it a try.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback