Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

  • Gold
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars18
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£9.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 15 January 2008
This generous two disc set includes all the hits, as well as a few British B-side favorites like 'Third Finger Left Hand' and 'Forget Me Not' among others.

Nobody could come close to Martha on hits like 'Heatwave', 'Dancing In The Street' and 'Nowhere To Run'. These recordings define the era and the Motown sound so well.

It is no secret that the group were overlooked towards the end of their stay at Motown. Nevertheless, many of the recordings are still noteworthy, including three tracks here from the excellent 'Black Magic' album.

This set ends with an unreleased bonus track, then four tracks from Martha's solo career. Two of which are from her lost classic album on MCA, one from her album on Arista and one from her disco slanted work at Fantasy.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2010
Before I heard this album I only knew of 3 Martha and the Vandellas songs, Heatwave, Nowhere to Run, and ofcourse Dancing in the Street. I liked these songs so much that I felt I needed to buy this album, and 40+ songs for just over a fiver, what have I got to lose? Turns out I gained ALOT!

This is an amazing album with brilliant song writing, harmonising vocals and the right attitude in the music.

I feel the second CD is the better of the two, but the first CD is still fantastic. The second CD has many of my favourites such as Jimmy Mack, In and Out of My Life (a beautifully soft, but mildly funky song) and of course Martha's solo work like Power of Love and Wild Night which was used on the film soundtrack of Thelma and Louise, which always puts me in a good mood when I listen to it.

This is a must for anybody into Motown, or even anybody who heard 'Dancing in the Street' and liked it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2012
It took 5 years before Martha & the Vandellas made their first single for Gordy and this had appeared briefly on a sub label called Mel-O-Dy.
In 1961 they had cut a single for a Chess sub called Checkmate under the name of the Del Phis called I'll let you know,next trying Tamla Motown where Martha became a secretary and the group were used on bvs for a single by Sandra Edwards who would later join the Elgins.For this they were known as the Vells and next did bvs for Marvin Gaye's Stubborn kind of fellow.After a first single which was a remake of their Checkmate single they were invited by Berry Gordy to change their name so they became the Vandellas this being the name on the Gaye single.
By the time they cut a single under their new name they had become Martha & the Vandellas by which name they operated under till 1967 when Martha's surname was added so it fell into line with Diana Ross & the Supremes and Smokey Robinson & the Miracles.
The hit singles began with the 2nd Gordy single Come and get these memories-this sold well enough as to warrant an album.
After that the hits kept on coming all of which are on this CD which ran into the 70s when the inevitable solo career began but Martha & the Vandellas would make appearances at Golden Oldies shows like Wolfman Jack's Church Street ones
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
Someone somewhere disagreed, and the result is that some great songs recorded by Martha and the Vandellas no longer sound the same. Clean and sharp, yes, but rather sterile. I'd have given this compilation three stars but for the omission of their version of Mickey's Monkey, which is every bit as good as the Miracles' original. My advice is to avoid this collection and find one that hasn't been polished.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 February 2009
Martha Reeves & The Vandellas one of many female groups from Motowns formative and golden periods. Gold is a very good title for this classic collection. There are lots of gems included here such as Dancing in the street, and Heatwave. Martha really was taken a litle bit for granted at Motown. She was massively under-rated as a vocalist but you can check this out yourselves because this is a very generous priced c d. Magical Motown Memories that make you feel you are back circa 1964 for sure!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2012
Martha Reeves and the Vandellas have been anthologised over and over again for decades. But CD compilations have always, to my mind, disappointed in terms of their sound quality. Not so this collection. Finally, a proper job has been done on the re-mastering, so that it feels like you are hearing these much-loved songs for the first time - the clarity and depth of sound, even on the oldest tracks, is astonishing. Take (Love is Like a) Heatwave, for example. Here the track has been extended by opening out edits in earlier versions, so that we get much more of Martha's brilliant vocal improvisation, and more wonderful Vandella interjections. It really sounds like a live jam session. The arrangement of the tracks in chronoligical order also makes for a very satisfying listening experience, because we can hear how the artists and their style developed. A truly wonderful tribute to a truly wonderful group. Thankyou. Please can we have "Live at the Copa" now?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
Excellent collection from Martha and Vandellas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
C;lassic Motown
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
Classic stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
Great Music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)