Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars17
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2014
As I've noted before, I'm a fan of James S.A. Corey and his Expanse series. This was the first short I read and although I was happy to revisit that universe, I found that the situation of the main character was one I couldn't quite get engaged with for some reason.

There was quite a bit going on 'in the background' of this short which I would have loved to learn more about, but I suspect that was the intention of the author in this case. Having said that, about half way though I began to warm to the main character and so I felt that it definitely deserves 4 stars because it's genuinely a good short story in a really beautifully put-together universe written by an author who created great characters. I just don't feel it was one of his best.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
I enjoyed the story but wanted more. This is a short story, not a full book. I definitely want to read more in the expanse universe and was hoping for something that would feed into a 4th book. thanks anyway
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
This is a thoroughly enjoyable addition to The Expanse, with the high standard of writing we expect from Daniel Abraham and Ty Franck.

Nothing earth-shattering or revelatory here, but highly recommended to Expanse fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
Really enjoying this series, can't wait for it to continue. The connection with George RR Martin (Game of Thrones) is interesting as well - I think the series would translate well to an HBO style production.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
Quality addition to the expanse universe, you don;t need to read this to follow the main storyline it just adds to it.
You will understand stuff that is referenced in the main books. Recommended !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
James Corey is one of my favourite authors alongside Ian Banks and Neal Asher. Always well written with interesting ideas, believable worlds and characters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
Awesome work from these guys! god damn this review system though... but yeah james corey are almost second to none in my massive collection of books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
A valid introduction to the world on Mars and a glimpse at how there way of life applaud our in this ultimately great galaxy created by Corey!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
The Plot is a little thin, but my primary objection is 'plot per pound'. I'm relieved that the cost was covered by delivery credits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
A reasonably interesting addition to the main books, but not very long and not a very gripping story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.