Buy Used
Used - Good See details
Price: £2.81

or
 
   
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
I’d like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

God [Paperback]

Alexander Waugh
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover £17.61  
Paperback --  

Book Description

3 Mar 2003
Where does God come from? Has he always existed? What kind of food does he eat? The answers to all these questions, small and large, are in the Bible, or have been written about by those who know him best - saints, popes and visionaries. In this fascinating account of God's life, Alexander Waugh, author of TIME, tackles the biggest subject of them all in his uniquely refreshing and enthusiastic style. So many stories about God have been forgotten, or edged out of the familiar tales that we have lost our understanding of him and how he has been viewed by mankind throughout the ages. Now we can once again find out more about who it is that we pray to.


Product details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Headline Review; New Ed edition (3 Mar 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0747266506
  • ISBN-13: 978-0747266501
  • Product Dimensions: 19.2 x 13 x 2.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 572,220 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Amazon Review

Alexander Waugh, the grandson of Evelyn Waugh and son of Auberon, has produced a book about God which manages to be both shallow and erudite at the same time. In other words, Waugh has done his homework and learned a lot about God in the various religions, but he maintains a salacious and flippant tone throughout which is neither amusing nor thought provoking. On the good side, the book is packed full of interesting facts about God and religion. The structure of the book is more scattergram than logical outline, but the information is tersely presented in short readable chunks so the reader can dip into the book and read as much or as little as he wants. There's also a good index and bibliography for serious God hunters.

While this is an interesting grab bag overview of the Deity, it's too bad that Waugh has to maintain his insouciant public-schoolboy style throughout. It's a pity he couldn't manage just a little bit of personal wonder or reverence for his subject. Readers who would prefer something with a rather broader vision might try Professor Keith Ward's God--a guide for the perplexed. --Dwight Longenecker --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

Review

'Immensely entertaining, and a sovereign remedy against the absurdities and dangers of religious belief ... funny and whimsical ... clever and perceptive' (A C Grayling, Literary Review 2002-03-01)

'Peculiar and delightful... I loved it. Waugh's light-hearted approach is deceptive: some formidable research has gone into this book' (Douglas Kennedy, Mail on Sunday 2002-02-17)

'A deeply felt and genuine exploration... Waugh's biography is a search for love - and strangely, the god he leaves us with, however impossible, remains attractive.' (Jeanette Winterson, The Times 2002-02-27)

'Ten out of ten for the idea, the approach, the style, the writing - above all, the writing - and the sublime audacity of it all ... Waugh writes like an impious angel; wittily and rivetingly' (Michael Brown, Yorkshire Post 2002-02-21)

'A testimony to human ingenuity and imagination...Waugh's GOD combines philosophical wrangling with the delightfully insolent tone of 1066 AND ALL THAT' (Christopher Silvester, Financial Times 2002-03-02)

'[Waugh's] sardonic, urbane tone is in the tradition of Gibbon or Hume...very funny. Pleasingly original...wherever you stand - or think you do - on the God question, this is a good read' (Susan Elkin, Independent 2002-04-11)

'With mischievous wit and erudition...Waugh's tremendously funny book has, however, a serious purpose' (S.B.Kelly, Scotland on Sunday 2002-02-24)

'[An] erudite, scholarly, irreverent and impeccably researched biography of the supreme being... daringly brilliant and witty treatise' (George Osgerby, Tribune 2002-04-12)

'Colourful, funny, deep and perceptive' (A.C.Grayling, Independent on Sunday 2002-04-12)

'An idiosyncratic, intriguing and often charming book about God' (Brendan Walsh, The Tablet 2002-03-16)

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Portrait of a tyrant 8 Nov 2005
Format:Paperback
Alexander Waugh, in GOD has tried to explain the personality of God. He has taken, for his sources the bible, the Qu'arn, as well as the books of Enoch, the and occassionally Joseph Smith, and other texts.
The book is comprised of 7 chapters divided into short sections, thus it is easily digestable, though some may find this style erratic, and not linear enough.
Personally, I feel this is part of the charm of the book. Waugh has a very dry sense of humour, and I laughed out loud on several occasions (this may cause a problem for the deeply religious.)
There are many interesting things that Waugh puts forward: the polytheistic origins of the Bible, the Egyptian origins of Moses, the needing by Christians of the Old Testament, for the sake of origional sin. (some of these well known, others not so).
Is this an atheistic book? No, I don't think so, but it is certainly not a Christian book. (And will definately appeal to atheists - myself included). I believe that Waughs main point is that the Christian God - an all loving, all knowing God can not coexist with the God of Israel - a Genocidal maniac, with a penchant for the smell of burning flesh. But, herein lies the weekness. I say I think this is Waughs point, but I really do not know. The last chapter doesn't really seem to have an aim, and reluctantly ambles to it's conclusion. I think is mainly because of Waugh's reluctance to share his religious beliefs, or lack thereof - rather like his father, as described in the forward. Still, this is the only real weakness, in an otherwise funny, and thought provoking book. The main lesson I took from it is that an atheists biggest weapon is scripture, itself. I'm off to read the Bible, now...
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOD is a good read 18 May 2002
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
Oh dear! The Bible and religion are having such a pasting these days! Alexander Waugh's book "God" is a book (like Paine's Age of Reason) that, by its style can easily cause offence to those who have very gentlemanly ideas as to how criticism should be carried out, if at all. For years, most books written on Biblical criticism, whether textual or archaeological, though taking the Bible to pieces, are usually careful to end up supporting the establishment (and not hurting the feelings of academic friends, or indeed one's own reputation) in reasserting the greatness and richness of the Bible etc.
Waugh's book is not like that. Whereas The Age of Reason was a deliberately abrasive and powerful attack on the Bible and 'revealed' religion, "God" is a light-hearted and flippant treatment of the same subject. I found it entertaining, informative, and I am glad I bought it.
It is essential for any freethinking student of the world's religions to bypass the received opinions of theology and put the cards on the table face-up so to speak, as Tom Paine did. It is only then that you can see plainly the glaring problems of superstition and human invention which abound in all the sacred texts which are supposed to be communicated from God to man.
It is not 'how' an author presents his subject that leads to the truth, but the 'facts' he produces in support of his case that really matters for our enlightenment. So, like Tom Paine, Alexander Waugh has presented us with a mixed bag of possibly unwelcome facts (to some people) in an easily readable format taken from various ancient religious texts. These extracts further help the modern thinker to assess the relevance today (with our far more general education) of the puny and demeaning concepts of God in the Bible etc. "God" is a good book and worth having in your collection. Howell Thomas.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful read 21 Nov 2011
Format:Hardcover
Unlikely as it may appear, this book is exceptionally easy to read, deeply revealing and properly laugh out loud funny. Fabulous read, I couldn't recommend it more highly
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback