Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Learn More Shop Fire Shop now Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
23
3.7 out of 5 stars
Size: n/a|Colour Name: White|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2012
I've had these out in larger surf and on my windsurfer with no problems but you need to think how to mount and apply some adhesion science to eliminate peel loads - don't just stick onto a curved deck. All adhesives don't like peel even the foam PSA used on the gopro.
Step 1: scrape away old surf wax & Solvent clean. Abrade. Solvent clean. Keep the silicone paper on the 3m adhesive on the gopro mount. Dry fit to see the gaps at the sides where you need good adhesion to stop it peeling off ! (if you think just pressing hard to compress the foam adhesive on the gopro to account for a large gap is ok then you are kidding yourself)
Step 2: Apply some Epoxy or polyester ahesive around the circle perimeter. Press the mount down to spread out the adhesive and wipe the excess of the edges (don't put much adhesive on as you only need a bit on the edges to level the mount area). Allow this to cure. The mount will come away as still has the silicone paper on it. Now sand this to prep for bonding. Solvent wipe. Now you have a flat base to stick to all ready to go.
Step 3: Take of the silicone paper on the gopro mount and stick it to the flat base

I used some polyester UPOL car body filler on my polyester surf board and would use epoxy on an epoxy board. Stoked with the camera footage.

Dr Dan the composite man.
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
I have mine fitted to my kayak and have been absolutely battered in it lately. The mount has stayed put beautifully and shows no sign of going anywhere!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
So far so good.
Other reviews say they came unstuck in the surf. Im wondering if they stuck them on the day they went out.
My advice is, like any bonding agent, let it bond!
Stuck mine on a week prior to using. Was completely fine and wouldn't come off even with a little force test (Didnt try to rip it off).

Got some great footage. Happy :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2012
Great mounts, work brilliantly, not sure what the other guy is on about they don't fall off ? surfing with gopro is awesome
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
came off both of my boards even after proper mounting. total rip off but if your buying one, chances are you have a gopro thus having no choice apart from to buy another.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
Provides a good strong attachment for the GoPro to the board. Used it in surf and flat water paddling - all good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
Great product, works very well but i just wish it wasn't so expensive... Dont be put off by the size, very strong
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
Useless, glue gave way on first go in the surf, luckily we'd tied the camera to the board with cord or we'd have lost the camera
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
this is a great product, that is cheap, and works well, i use it for mounting the camera on the kayak and would recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
The mount came off in the 1st wave and was only saved by the leash mount fingers crossed for it being ok next time
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)