Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars66
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£13.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 July 2013
Two lovely,gentle and wistful French films about a boy growing up in Marseilles and Provence. Beautifully filmed and full of light humour and a little drama.sad also how the second film(Le chateau....) ends.After the idyllic days of childhood death and the dark shadow of war ends an era of peace and seemingly never-ending summer.Delightfully acted as well.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Wonderful stories, funny and moving, that are here beautifully acted. The films actually lived up to the books - amazingly.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
Warning: if you're happy to just 'look' at the movie then buy, but if you want to understand the story and the characterisation don't bother. Difficult to give an accurate or fair comment on it due to the incredibly poor subtitles. I know the story and have some French but found watching the 1st film too frustrating to enjoy. Haven't seen it to the end nor have I watched the 2nd. I bought this for my partner (who has no French) and I to enjoy over the winter months and as an antidote to the British summer weather. Lacking adequate subtitles, it was a huge disappointment. Had I spotted the comments others have made regarding the subtitles or lack of, I wouldn't have made the purchase .
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
Most enjoying for the 65+ French that remember what our Grand-Mothers told us about our families during the1900ish. Families were split between those who were still for a return to a royal family, very pre-Vatican 2 Roman Catholics and those who were 'radical', anti-clerical and most republican. In reality, such different views could be more aggressive, like during l'affaire Dreyfus. Now in the news, Marcel painted the Alsace and Lorraine purple. France lost the Alsace and Loraine after the defeat of Sedan in 1870. The French did not go to War in 1914 'for God, King and Country' but singing 'Vous n'aurez pas l'Alsace et la Loraine' (You won't have the Alsace/Loraine). Under a 'feel good factor and bitter-sweet' story, it is wonderfully accurate when it comes to lifestyle etc. I thoroughly enjoy Marcel Pagnol.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
To get both of these films in one set is a bargain. Blu-ray disc quality is very good. Subtitles in English cannot be switched off, so if you speak French it is better to get the French release from Amazon in France.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
Gentle, fascinating, transports the viewer to another world - if you loved Jean de Fleurette you'll love this. One of those films you'll always remember.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
The setting and photography were stunning, the acting was superb, and the simple, moving story make these movies a joy to watch. I can thoroughly recommend them. The beauty of the scenery means that following subtitles is no chore at all.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
These films are truly delightful. In a world full of stress, torment and disaster every time you turn on the news, these are pure escapism.
Set in turn of the century Provence, the scenery is enchanting, the sets and costumes just gorgeous and the gentle plot glides along. The young narrator manages to subtly capture the child's feeling of the end of a holiday and having to return to the ordinariness of home in the first film and in the second, the family's return to the enchantment of French countryside.
Neither film resorts to CGI, car chases, impenetrable plot lines and characters who all appear to live on anti depressants.
The whole watching experience was like soaking in warm honey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
The films in the box set are great! The relationship between the father and son in La Gloire de Mon Pere captivates the audience.The adventures take place in the beautiful hills of Provence and the stunning scenery and the beautiful music could not be better. La Gloire de non Pere is a timeless classic and is a wonderful antidote to the pressures of modern living. The film oozes with charm and nostalgia.
The only thing to improve would be better sub -titles, which at times were somewhat inadequate .However, this does not detract from the enjoyment of the film which I would certainly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
Two superb films. Writing, direction, acting and filming of the highest order.Not only that, the price was excellent and they arrived sooner than expected. I'm a happy customer.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)