Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars31
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£1.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 October 2011
Madonna is an icon, the lady has sold over 300+ million records and is recognised by them that know has the biggest selling and greatest female perfomer of them all. So why wouldnt glee cover her songs and pay their tribute to her?
So thats what they have done and hit number 1 in the usa in the process. These tracks are select cuts from the madonna glee episode and while fun and catchy they will never capture the greatness of the originals. however its still a great effort and worth a look. Fans of glee will love it and madonnas back calalogue opens up to a new generation.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
I enjoy most of the tracks on this EP (my favourites are Vogue, Like A Virgin, 4 Minutes and Like A Prayer), but in general some aren't my favourite Madonna songs so that was a little disappointing. I still bought it though, and would still recommend it to fans of both Glee and Madonna.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
Really great album and only from one episode!

'BURNING UP' is the best song by far and Jonathan Groff tears. it. up! Shame it's missing here because it's the highlight of the album. It's on itunes, so i'd STRONGLY recommend getting just that song.

'4 minutes' and surprisingly 'Borderline/Open Your Heart' are also highlights.
The rest are amazing too, 'Express Yourself' - really fun song.
'Vogue' - it's Sue Sylvester, so nuff said (Will Schuester, I hate you) so funny.
'Like a Virgin' - real good mid section with Naya (Santana) who's amazing.
'What it feels like for a Girl' - good stuff, great harmonies - Kevin's (Artie) awesome as always.
'Like a Prayer' - an amazing song whoever sings it, but Amber's (Mercedes) voice makes it POW.

Overall it's brilliant, so just get it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
The rate that the cast of Glee are spinning out these records, makes me wander where they get the time to do their day job (filming for the TV Series!) Once again an album full of top notch cover versions - this time covering a few of Madonna's songs. Favourites on the album include 'Like A Prayer' (which is one of my fave Madonna songs anyway), Express Yourself, Borderline/Open Your Heart, Vogue (Video is pretty funny), and 4 Minutes. Not keen on their version of 'Like A Virgin' or 'What It Feels Like For A Girl' though.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2011
Love this album, and the only reason for giving it 4 rather than 5 stars is because it's not long enough! I think it does cover all the songs they did in the Madonna episode, but they could have made the CD even better if there was a bonus track or two of songs that didn't make the TV show. Love Glee...can't get enough of the cheese!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2010
The Queen of pop covered by the prince and princesses of the small screen... and it works!! Fantastically well! The guys and girls do her Royal Highness proud with songs that not only sound original but are faithful in production to those originals which rocked the music world all those decades ago. With new smash hits covered like 4 Minutes and disco classics Burning Up, a real variety of hits have been included although famous ones like Holiday or Hung Up should be on here too but thats a minor gripe. It also gives weight to a second installment later in the year as The Power of Madonna episode drew in a record breaking 14 million viewers in the states ALONE and this EP looks set to hit the top spot on Billboards coveted top 200 album chart, amazing when you think that the woman whom this is dedicated to hasnt even released a new album in over 2 years! Its real testament to her enduring power and relavence despite upstarts like GaGa clambering for the spotlight, will her hits have this appeal in 30 years time? I doubt it! This is a great EP which is full of fun, frolicks and pleny of suprises, just like Madonna herself, the crew have done an amazing job and Glee just goes from strength to strength... this is a homage like no other and one which they hope to repeat soon, all thanks to Madonna, the one and only Goddess of pop!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2010
I don't even like Madonna that but this is truly amazing

I watched the episode online and it's fantastic-The songs are some of the best from the show

The vocals are perfect. Jane Lynch is fabulous as well which surprised me a little

The songs are
Express yourself-Great fun song
Borderline/Open your heart-Amazing
Vogue-Jane Lynch (Sue) sings this and it is brilliant as is the video
Like a virgin-Great song. Its very natuaral whhich nice
4 Minutes-Great song. Its sung by Mercedes and Kurt. Its my 2nd favourite and catchy as hell
What it feels like for a girl-Good song sung by the boys which is kinda funny-Not the best though
Like a prayer-Absoloutly amazing song. Rachels voice at the beginning is so incredible. My fave song

So make sure you get this album as it's going to be epic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2010
I have not been a fan of Glee for that long. I have only just caught up with the episodes. Needless to say, I am a fan, a very big fan, and this album is fantastic. 8 songs for a fiver is more than worth the money.

My personal favorites are 'Like a Virgin', 'Like a Prayer', 'Express Yourself' and '4 minutes'. However, the best track has GOT to be Vogue. Jane Lynch's vocals are fantastic and the video to the track, which can easily be seen on YouTube, is utterly sublime. I do think they missed a trick by not having 'Hung up' in the episode but for a Madonna fan, or just a Glee fan, this album is a definite buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2010
This is a FANTASTIC album, it's a real treat for the eardrums and a must buy item for all Glee fans. The best songs on here (in my opinion) are Like A Prayer - very powerful vocals, Express Yourself, Borderline/Open Your Heart - which are alot of fun, and Vogue - I must say, I am very impressed at the vocals of Jane Lynch!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2010
At first when I heard that Glee was going to make a Madonna episode i thought that it would actually not be a good one but when i listened to all of the songs in the EP the covers were actually quite amazing. I jsut hope that when this episode airs that it gets good reviews and high ratings.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)