Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars18
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2016
I have been on a quest, to find any forgotten metal genius from the 1980s and 1990s, songs which went under the radar...secret ballads and disregarded anthems. This album isn't from 1992, it's from 2014, but sounds like it has been time-machined from then to now; the production, songwriting, musicianship, singing and even album cover...it's all perfect. I didn't even know Seb was solo, and haven't listened to anything Skid Row did apart from '18 and Life' and 'Youth Gone Wild.' So this comes as a wonderful surprise, one of the best metal albums of the twenty-tens.

His voice sounds amazing. We hope our metal gods sound like they always did, but the voice is often the first casualty. Bach still has it, and he's using it. And Duff McKagan is on bass guitar for the whole album, which is a priceless bonus.

All of the songs are short, or relatively short...no overblown epics, just metal...from start to finish. Some of the highlights: The way 'Harmony' goes from hard and heavy to melody with an effortless grace, 'All My Friends Are Dead' which broods over the verse before lifting up into a wonderful chorus, 'Push Away' with its 1980s synth underlining the track...very 'Terminator' like something from the TechNoir club...Skid Row meets Depeche Mode, 'Dominator' which is a great song about S&M (succeeds where other bands have failed), 'Had Enough' because ALL metal albums need a ballad, 'Gun to a Knife Fight' because the lead guitar reminds us it's not all about Seb...his band are superb, 'Rock n' Roll is a Vicious Game' for turning things Country Metal for four minutes, 'Forget You' because it's such a good song to end the album with...not too fast, not too slow...with beautiful guitars and a brooding menace which leaves the listener slightly disturbed.

I read some stuff on YouTube, where the Haters have put the boot in and said Sebastian has changed...no, it's YOU who have changed. I have been listening to metal since '87...and this is one of the best albums in the genre since the mid nineties, relevant yet true to the spirit of rock.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
i think it was this week that skid rows singer left skid row and calls were made for sebastian bach to return which is fair enough but if that stifles him i wouldnt want it as this is a flawless solo album. Every song is super and duper and there are great riffs and some world class choruses and melodies and a great range of hard rocking tunes and sebs voice is excellent as usual. I am most and i mean most impressed. One of the best if not the best albums of its kind of last year.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
OMG..I didn't even know SB had a new album!...What can I say..purchased last night and this is about the 5th time I've played today...I'm 52 years of age for gods sake..lol!!!..anyway..just need to say that this is just outstanding..if you like early Skid Row stuff then you WILL love this.makes me feel like I'm 20 again!!..buy it now!!..just read that they were in town this week and now I've missed them..oh well....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Seb's voice is as good as ever. I did expect a bit more from this album seeing as there were some famous faces on it...Stevie Stevens (billy idol), Duff Mckagan (gnr), john 5 ( marilyn manson). In my opinion its not as good as Angel Down but a must for seb/skid row fans.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
Well Sebastian seems to take a fair bit of flak. Is it justified? Well on the basis of this no. Like his other albums I must admit that I do like this. Plus after seeing him live in Manchester last week I can confirm that he can still cut it live.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
This is a seriously rocking album. Killer riffs, great vocals. Really impressed how original it is. Not a filler on the album, have been listening to it constantly since bought it. Highly recommend, so buy it don't rip it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
Just started listening to Give Em Hell in the last few days. I just keep wanting to play it. Its just excellent all the way through
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Love this album....Sebastian at his best. Hope there's a live dvd soon. Good to hear Duff McKagan and Steve Stevens too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 July 2014
Give ‘Em Hell is only the third solo album of all original material from heavy rock and metal singer Sebastian Bach; quite the statistic when you consider his 25 years and counting recording career that started with Skid Row’s critically acclaimed and hugely successful 1989 debut album.

But then Bach has been a busy boy – since departing Skid Row the powerful vocalist has been involved in a number of projects including Broadway show performances s of Jekyll & Hyde, The Rocky Horror Picture Show and the lead role in a national touring production of Jesus Christ Superstar.

It wasn’t until 2007 that Bach delivered his first studio album of all new material (Bring ‘Em Bach Alive! was a half-live, half-studio affair while Bach 2: Basics was a collection of covers) but in rock-metal terms Angel Down wasn’t too shabby – it was acclaimed as one of the best metal albums of that year.

Give ‘Em Hell is another outstanding release from one of the best screamer vocalists out there and while it has the same high-energy and intensity of its predecessor, Kicking & Screaming, it doesn’t have the same rawness; Give ‘Em Hell has a melodic cladding attached to its metal framework and that’s the perfect construction for Sebastian Bach’s vocals.

'Hell Inside My Head' is big, brash Sebastian Bach but with a powerful hook in the chorus that resonates around your head as the band – guitarist Devon Bronson, drummer Bobby Jarzombek and ex-Guns N’ Roses and Velvet Revolver bassist Duff McKagan – pile-drive the mid-tempo metal opener along.
'Harmony' is a big-riffed chunk of heavy rock with a melodic chorus that, as the title suggests, is in harmony with the rest of the song.
And that’s the successful trick that Give ‘Em Hell, for the most part, pulls off – the album is a mix of harmonic hooks and metallic crescendo, high-octane vocals and thunderous riffs, with more traditional screamer-based metal covered by the likes of 'Dominator' and 'Disengaged.'

The obligatory power-metal ballad makes a solid appearance by way of 'Had Enough' and for acoustic-based contrast there’s a cover of April Wine’s 'Rock ‘N’ Roll is a Vicious Game.'
The latter is a perfect lyrical fit for Sebastian Bach having been under the stage – and media – spotlight since before he was 21 and living the rock and roll lifestyle to the full.
Bach’s interpretation of the April Wine classic is a far heavier but fairly faithful rendition of the original; it’s also the best cover the singer has recorded.

In 2007 when the First Edition of One in a Million was made available (this writer’s eBook Argument Paper for Steve Perry being the greatest ever pop & rock counter tenor), contributor Jason Galu and the author argued that the narrow musical genre Sebastian Bach operated in, along with vocal (in)discipline in the live environment, meant he could only ever be a runner-up in the rock tenor championships.

But Bach’s raw power and sonorous vocal made him a serious contender and it’s a testament to his strength of pipes and determination that he's still belting out the notes with much the same strength as he did 25 years ago.

Give ‘Em Hell isn’t just Bach’s strongest and most accessible solo album to date; it showcases just why he’s regarded as one of the best melodic metal rock tenors.
And why he is rated highly in critical appraisals such as One in a Million.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
Purchased for a friend's birthday and she has played it non stop.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£15.90

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)