Start reading The Girl Next Door on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

The Girl Next Door [Kindle Edition]

Elizabeth Noble
3.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (29 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £2.62 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £4.37 (63%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £2.62  
Hardcover --  
Paperback £5.99  
Audio, CD --  
Earn a Free Kindle Book
Earn a Free Kindle Book
Buy a Kindle book between now and 31 March and receive a promotional code good for one free Kindle book. Terms and conditions apply. Learn more


Product Description

Review

"The vivid primary protagonists and dramatic plot twists full of headache and heartache make this a safe bet for fans of Barbara Delinsky and Jane Green." -- "Library Journal"

Review

'This emotional read is full of fascinating characters you'll miss once the final page is turned'

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2012 KB
  • Print Length: 496 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin (26 Feb. 2009)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B002RI92FC
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (29 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #102,707 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Elizabeth Noble lives in New York with her husband and two daughters. Her five earlier novels, The Reading Group, The Tenko Club, Alphabet Weekends, Things I Want My Daughters to Know and The Girl Next Door were all Sunday Times bestsellers, with The Reading Group reaching Number One.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warm and gentle writing style 16 Jun. 2010
Format:Paperback
As is common with a number of Noble's books, here she takes almost a short story 'Love Actually' approach where we see snippets of intertwining lives. The reason for it in this book is people living in an apartment block in New York, and hence impacting on each other.

The main drive of the story is Eve and Ed, an English couple who move across from England when Ed starts a secondment in the New York office. Eve suffers due to the move, feeling lonely and needy, and eventually decides that having a baby would solve the issues she has, both with her new life and her relationship. The conclusion of their particular story brought tears to my eyes.

Other characters include Kim and Jason, a couple who are struggling through the aftermath of IVF; Rachael and David, who have to come to terms with a huge shock to their relationship; and the sweet love story between Emily and Jackson.

There are other stories that gently touch these more central narratives as well. Unusually, I found all the stories equally absorbing in their own way - although a couple of the characters annoyed me. These included Madison, because of her jealous and manipulative nature, and Charlotte, because of her naivety (although we leave her having had an epiphany of sorts and therefore can hope she'll change).

I enjoy Noble's warm and gentle writing style (that could be compared to other chick lit giants such as Marian Keyes), but also appreciate the fact that she is willing to touch on real life issues and tell sadder stories rather than keep everything light and frothy.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 50/50 14 Oct. 2009
Format:Paperback
I have came across this book 3 times before in the end I decided to buy it. I have not read an Noble book before so therefore I cannot comment whether it is the best or not.. This book for me was a 50/50 case, I have enjoyed it and I have been dissapointed by it.. Firstly there was too many characters, it takes quite a while for you to adjust the characters and that can put of many people, half or the characters weren't even important.

This may be just my mind and thinking but at the synopsis we read this part: "Meeting Emily Mikanowski from 3A turns Trip Grayling's world upside down. Its love at first sight, but he needs help from Charlotte, the shy romance addict in 2A, if he's going to win the girl" and it says that everyones heartbroken etc. So this sentence mislead me to think that whilst helping out, they (Trip & Charlotte) would fall for each other and Emily would be heart broken. But that was not the case. Trip only went to Charlotte once for help and that was towards the end of the book and he had already won the girl. It was a big dissapointment in my case unfortunately..

I'm afraid the introductions of each characters were too long and you had to read half the book by the time you come to the real action. It takes quite a bit time to get into the story.

The only couple I have liked was Eve ad Ed and I really did cry at the end to their story, and I only enjoyed their story, to me this is the only plus side of the book for me...
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally absorbing! 26 May 2009
By Bobby
Format:Hardcover
Once again Elizabeth Noble has succeeded in entertaining us. This time with a cleverly interwoven tale of the lives and loves of neighbourly New Yorkers. Her characters are captivatingly real and honestly flawed.You care what happens to them. There are tears but plenty of laugh out loud moments too in a cracking good read that ends too soon.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, light read 2 Nov. 2010
By Nicola in South Yorkshire TOP 1000 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback
I have enjoyed all of Elizabeth Noble's books up to this one, and The Girl Next Door carries on that trend. It's the story of a number of people who live in an apartment block in New York, and their trials and tribulations over the course of a year or so.

It's a very light book, and a quick and easy read, although it did move me to tears on two occasions. It doesn't have loads of substance, but it certainly kept me wanting to pick it up and read it as often as possible.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Nobel's best- but I liked it. 2 July 2011
By Nicola F (Nic) TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
I'm always ever so slightly wary when I open a book and the first thing I find is a list of characters- and one that takes up quite a few pages nonetheless! For a chick lit book as well, I was a bit dubious- 'how many characters does this book have?' I thought to myself, already a little bit concerned that I wouldn't be able to focus on who was who. I needn't have worried though- a lot of characters listed at the beginning are actually secondary ones and only make a flitting appearance in the novel. To be honest, I think this book could have done without the list entirely- it seems a bit of a waste of time.

The book isn't a waste of time, thankfully. It's a nice enough read, concentrating on an apartment building in New York City's hodge-podge of residents and their entwining lives. There's a bit of romance, infidelity and focus on family lives. Like Nobel's other books the character development is well done and the writing flows easily- admittedly it isn't a masterpiece and I didn't like this as much as 'Things I want My Daughters to Know,' but that aside, it held my attention and I don't regret picking it up.

As I've said, there's quite a few characters in this- we have a few married couples- but how happy are they, really? There's also independent Emily, romantic dreamer Charlottte and rich boy Trip. Throw in elderly Violet who's hiding a few secrets of her own, a gay couple and a homophobe and this book is like a mini soap-opera.

Though its a little bit rushed in places, I think this book would appeal to anyone who likes chick-lit with a focus on family lives and relationships.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring!
Didn't like this at all, I'm afraid, failed to hold my interest, and found the characters plain irritating! Found myself not caring about any of them -sorry.
Published 1 month ago by Sarah Lovie
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Another great author
Published 2 months ago by lyndyloo
4.0 out of 5 stars My first kindle book
I was actually reading the book in paperback but I received a kindle for my birthday and couldn't wait, so bought the kindle version. Read more
Published 14 months ago by Kat
3.0 out of 5 stars A bittersweet holiday read
I'm not really a fan of 'chick lit' and have never read anything by Elizabeth Noble before. Bought this on a whim as usually I prefer something with a bit more substance, but I was... Read more
Published 22 months ago by WindsorMummy
2.0 out of 5 stars The girl next door
I chose thus book as I had enjoyed her others, but the story line just wasn't meaty enough.
It was a nice book though.
Published 23 months ago by Marie Leigh
4.0 out of 5 stars Good
I did enjoy this, little too much on the negative side of relationships and life in general but well written and poignant. Read more
Published 23 months ago by Lynsey Marie Shoesmith
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it
This is my first Noble's book and after pink cover I haven't expect nothing worth reading. Just another love story for a bored housewifes. What a wonderful dissapointment. Read more
Published on 27 May 2012 by Kate
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice easy enjoyable read
I got into this book straight away, although I must admit seeing the list of characters at the start seemed a bit daunting, thinking I was never going to remember them all! Read more
Published on 20 Mar. 2012 by jg1966
3.0 out of 5 stars Everyone is Next Door in this book.
This is a typical 'chick lit' book and although there have been comparisons to Marian Keyes in other reviews this particular book reminded me of a Debbie Macomber novel. Read more
Published on 10 Nov. 2010 by Jo D'Arcy
1.0 out of 5 stars boring soap opera
I honestly don't see a point why this book was written.

It's a paperback soap opera and not a very good one. Read more
Published on 3 Aug. 2010 by trying something new
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category