Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars59
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£12.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2010
Series 1 was pure TV heaven. Pathos, bittersweet, gags, death, cake-dilemmas and consultants up their own jacksies. WHAT IS NOT TO LOVE? You cannot watch this just once - you have to watch it again and again. Series 2 turned out not to disappoint. The relationship between Den and Marion was so funny but so painful to watch, Dr Pippa was true to perfection and Kim, the donkey, was also absolutely spot on. Other parts, including the patients, the various trainee doctors and student nurse, were all perfectly cast.

Perfect writing/improvisation, direction, editing, even theme music.

We want more, please.
11 comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2011
Although the subject matter is viewed by many as depressing i e treatment of patients in a NHS hospital, as someone who has worked in this environment, I am impessed by the authenticity of the set as well as the consistently high standard of acting. In addition to providing the occasion for wry amusement, the series serves a useful role in drawing to the attention of the general public issues that are glossed over by mendacious bureaucrats - the rapier of wit as opposed to the bludgeon of scorn - not laugh aloud but insightful and pertinent.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2011
VERY funny series. For anyone with any experience of hospitals and the internal workings and dynamics of the medical/Nursing fraternity this is a hilarious account. Black humour at its best!!!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2012
If you've ever visited someone in a NHS hospital you will be able to relate. If you've ever had to stay in one as an employee or patient--you can sympathize. At times the show is disturbing but it's darkly comic.

The cast is perfect. You know it's good acting because their characters seem to come so natural and easy for them.
Jo Brand is great and you want cheer her on.

I can't wait to see what happens now that Series 3 is to be broadcast later this year because there's enough subplots going on to provide adequate cliff hangers.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
"Getting On" is the funniest show I have ever seen! You just don't see humor like that on TV anymore. It's over the top, yet true to life, especially if you're in the medical field. The writing and the acting is excellent! I truly laughed until I cried. I can't wait for series 3 and I can't say enough about this amazing show! If you are thinking about buying it, don't hesitate........do it now! You won't be sorry! I'd give it ten stars if I could!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2012
Like 15 Storeys High, this completely slipped past me originally, but I was fortunate enough to catch a repeat. Brilliant. Dark, sarcastic, very funny and probably worryingy accurate. Thoroughly worth watching.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2012
This is a really great DVD which at times sums up the more ridiculous procedures and antics that our NHS has to offer. The "plop- plop" scene in the very first episode will have you wetting yourself or maybe more. The humour is as dry as the Sahara, but brill. Jo Brand is superb along with the rest of the cast. I reckon I have a Consultant similar to that in the series (The one that I am under at the hospital is also full of his own self importance, doesn't listen to anyone and would eat himself if he were chocolate - Any Nurses reading this have also someone in mid that this description fits). This DVD is well worth the money if you need a good laugh!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
What a shame they didn't make anymore. Love Jo Brand's humour so was recomended this by my husband and he was right. It's brilliant!
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2011
How did they get this so right? The writing, the characters, the situations, the actors - all perfect. The tone of this show is amazing and unique. There is nothing to compare. It's just so good.
Now would someone please release Posh Nosh on DVD?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
So real and apparently absurd its almost not funny! Bot oh my god this is hilarious, second only (and not by much) to In The Thick of It. For someone who works in the public service in Health and Disability services this is alarmingly accurate and hair raisingly funny.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)