Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now
Get Down With It: Soul Si... has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Our ref: U5942. One hundred percent money back guarantee. Fast shipping within 2 working days. Mail order business for 30 years.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
& FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20.00. Details
Sold by: jim-exselecky
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Get Down With It: Soul Sides 1963 - 67

Price: £12.49 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
29 new from £8.00 2 used from £7.99
£12.49 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Product details

  • Audio CD (25 July 2011)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Kent Records UK
  • ASIN: B0054YH7TY
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 281,666 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Meet Me In Church
  2. Funny Style
  3. There's Something About My Baby
  4. Just To Hold My Hand
  5. Just Be Yourself
  6. You Won't Do Right
  7. Everything A Poor Man Needs
  8. What Can I Do (Pt 1)
  9. What Can I Do (Pt 2)
  10. Hooked
  11. That's The Way It Goes
  12. I Gotta Sit Down And Cry
  13. Rockin' Pneumonia And The Boogaloo Flu
  14. Half A Mind
  15. Shake Your Tambourine
  16. Someone To Take Your Place
  17. Sad Sack
  18. I Feel It Coming
  19. Help Yourself
  20. Hello Happiness
  21. Just A Little Bit
  22. I Just Want What Belongs To Me
  23. Too Late For Our Love
  24. I've Got A Thing Going On
  25. You Better Hold On
  26. Gimme Your Love
  27. Don't Worry About Tomorrow
  28. Get Down With It

Product Description

* The rockin' R&B years of the former front man of Huey "Piano" Smith and his Clowns, Bobby Marchan, have been collected on CD in the past - but his superior soul recordings of the 1960s have previously escaped compilation. "Get Down With It" remedies that by anthologising all of Bobby's recordings for Volt, Dial and Cameo Records. More than half of the tracks on "Get Down With It" are making their CD debut. Several have never been issued before, in any format. This is one truly essential collection of 60s Southern soul.

* Recorded in Memphis, Nashville and Muscle Shoals between 1964 and 1968, embracing every facet of 60s soul, from deep to sweet to danceable it shows that Marchan was unlucky not to have parlayed these great recordings into a sequence of big R&B and Pop hits. Instead some of the songs become hits for others, for example, the title track that became a 1971 UK and European #1 for Slade.

* Musicians backing Bobby include Booker T and The MGs, the Memphis Horns, the second great FAME Studios band aka the Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section, and the American Studios group. Songwriters include Joe Tex, Paul Kelly (shortly to be the subject of his own 60s Kent anthology), Clarence Reid, Steve Cropper and Bobby himself. The tracks are produced by either Stax boss Jim Stewart or Dial head honcho Buddy Killen. This is a Who's Who of quality Southern soul.

* Those who have only known Marchan via his crazed New Orleans rock'n'roll recordings with the Clowns or the proto-soul of his early 60s sides for Fury Records will be more than surprised at how easily Bobby made the transition to soul music - something that not all of his contemporaries were able to do with such conviction - when they hear "Get Down With It".

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
From Huey Smith to an individual star 26 Oct. 2011
By Milton A. Dugger Jr. - Published on
Verified Purchase
Good over-all capturing of the essence of Bobby as a solo performer. Interesting breadth and depth shown as a singer.
Good mixture of ballads and up-tempo songs.
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category