Gerald's Game and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £8.99
  • You Save: £1.80 (20%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 10 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Used Good condition book may have signs of cover wear and/or marks on corners and page edges. Inside pages may have highlighting, writing and underlining. All purchases eligible for Amazon customer service and a 30-day return policy.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Gerald's Game Paperback – 7 Jul 2011


See all 30 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.19
£3.22 £2.73

Frequently Bought Together

Gerald's Game + Dolores Claiborne + Rose Madder
Price For All Three: £20.77

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton (7 July 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1444707450
  • ISBN-13: 978-1444707458
  • Product Dimensions: 13.1 x 2.8 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (59 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 84,476 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Stephen King is the author of more than fifty books, all of them worldwide bestsellers. Among his most recent are the Dark Tower novels, Cell, From a Buick 8, Everything's Eventual, Hearts in Atlantis, The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon, and Bag of Bones. His acclaimed nonfiction book, On Writing, was also a bestseller. He is the recipient of the 2003 National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. He lives in Bangor, Maine, with his wife, novelist Tabitha King.

Product Description

Review

An incredibly gifted writer (Guardian)

You can't help admiring King's narrative skills and his versatility as a storyteller (Sunday Telegraph)

'America's greatest living novelist' (Lee Child)

Book Description

Hodder are boosting Stephen King's backlist with new covers, new author brand lettering and a marketing campaign which directs readers to the right King title for them. 


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful By RachelWalker TOP 500 REVIEWER on 21 Nov 2004
Format: Paperback
Among Stephen King's large body of work, there are admittedly a few duds, but in far greater number are the really super pieces of work, the great books that will stand the test of time and, eventually, he will be deservedly remembered for. There are at least 5 which could vie for the "his best book" accolade, and Gerald's Game is one of them. It is, in a word, superb.
It is one of King's most eccentric books, in terms of the rest of his work. There is no horror here at all, at least not of the ghouly kind. Instead, we sink down into the mind of one character, trapped in a cabin for four hundred pages, and see the internal horrors that lie within it. It is a psychological novel more than anything, which would most probably appeal to fans of authors like Ruth Rendell or Ian McEwan - fans of writers whose normal subject is the human mind, its messinesses and ways of preservation, its internal conflicts and idiosyncrasies. Gerald's Game is a excellent book because King is able to keep us in the company of one single character, alone in a room, tied to a bed, for almost the entire book, and never do we experience a moment of boredom. It would be difficult to overstate the level of achievement this illustrates.
Obviously, not everyone's going to like it. There are people who will find this book boring, and will want more action, more obvious thrills and excitements. If you like subtlety, though, more focused and mental thrills which spring from a more psychological well, this book is for you. It's a marvellous exercise in form and structure, and an absolutely gripping psychological novel. I think King's best work is normally produced when he moves away from overt horror, and this is an example of that. It's a sharp, deeply engaging and gripping book that is no less terrifying than if there were vampires or ghosts involved. Read it. It's not only unique among King's work, but in almost everything else I've read as well.
4 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By fredthe3rd on 2 Jan 2008
Format: Paperback
I put off reading this book for years. it just seemed such a dark concept - and i think it's probably a good thing i didn't read it when i was fourteen, but when i finally did read it (in huge chunks while train travelling probably helped) it was unbearable - in a good way.

I can't reccomend it unconditionally because it's incredibly dark - and graphic in every way conceivable, but it really effected me - you can't sleepwalk through this book.

from squirming in a train seat - unable to stop myself from clutching the back of my neck for some reason to the the adrenalin rush as i read the final chapters late at night in a hotel room when i had a very early start the next morning then being unable to sleep for well over an hour because i was so excited this is a phenomenal read.

but it probably shouldn't be your first stephen king novel.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
Worrying though it is to admit this, these days, without my diary, I am lost. There used to be a time when I could remember to do the things that my colleagues requested of me without a written aid: now, they don't even ask me - they just flick to the relevant page and diarise it for me to find when I get to work on any given day. I mention my inadequacy merely to make a point: although I finished Gerald's Game a month prior to writing this review, I can still remember it vividly. For someone who is clearly losing their memory, this is an achievement that deserves a tribute - a tribute not to my ability to recall something that happened less than four weeks ago, but to Stephen King, who, as a novelist, is able to write such a horrifyingly memorable story.

Briefly, "A game. A husband-and-wife game. Gerald's Game. But this time Jessie didn't want to play. Lying there, spreadeagled and handcuffed to the bedstead while he'd loomed and drooled over her, she'd felt angry and humiliated. So she'd kicked out hard. Aimed to hit him where it hurt. And now he was dead - a coronary - on the floor. Leaving Jessie alone and helpless in a lakeside holiday cabin. Miles from anywhere. No-one to hear her screams. Alone. Except for the voices in her head that had begun to chatter and argue and sneer".

How you rate this book will largely depend upon three factors: how you take to the book initially, what you think of Jessie's "back-story" and whether you are offended by the subtle presence of sexism which seems to provide the undertone to the book. Reading through reviews both here and on other websites, I noticed a polarisation of opinion when it came to discussing the direction of the book.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 13 Oct 2004
Format: Hardcover
Well in my opinion this book is one of the Kings best. It has all the suspence and more that you would expect from Stephen King and is well written and a good read. At 416 pages it is just right. You realy get to know and feel for Jessie and the tiein with Dolores Claiborne is very well done. I would recomend both reading and buying this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Book Scout on 24 Oct 2009
Format: Paperback
One of his best. The classic King scenario: place a character in an impossible situation for an unfathomable length of time, alone, and write a whole novel about it.

You are in a cabin in the woods. During one of his sex games your husband has handcuffed you to the bed, but then goes and keels over with a heart attack. What do you do?

The starting point for some immacuately paced writing. King builds and releases tension with indefinable grace. There are moments of squeamish physical horror but it is not strictly a horror novel, for the most part it is all pyschological as we inhabit the female protagonists mind for what seems an unendurable length of time. This is gripping and you'll read it in one sitting. King has a remarkable empathy and deft touch when it comes to drawing his female characters (evident also in Dolores Claibourne) and that empathy is evident here.

Recommended to anyone who wants a lesson in how to structure a story and the masterly use of dramatic tension or those seeking a truly fantastic read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback