Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Shop Now Shop now
Gerald's Game and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Buy Used
£0.01
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Orion Tech
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: .
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Gerald's Game (Signet) Mass Market Paperback – 7 Dec 2001

68 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback, 7 Dec 2001
£0.01
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Save £20 on Amazon.co.uk with the aqua Classic card. Get an initial credit line of £250-£1,200 and build your credit rating. Representative 32.9% APR (variable). Subject to term and conditions. Learn more.



Product details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Putnam Inc; Reissue edition (7 Dec. 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0451176464
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451176462
  • Product Dimensions: 10.6 x 2.9 x 17.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (68 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 906,817 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Stephen King is the author of more than fifty books, all of them worldwide bestsellers. Among his most recent are the Dark Tower novels, Cell, From a Buick 8, Everything's Eventual, Hearts in Atlantis, The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon, and Bag of Bones. His acclaimed nonfiction book, On Writing, was also a bestseller. He is the recipient of the 2003 National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. He lives in Bangor, Maine, with his wife, novelist Tabitha King.

Product Description

Review

An incredibly gifted writer (Guardian)

You can't help admiring King's narrative skills and his versatility as a storyteller (Sunday Telegraph)

'America's greatest living novelist' (Lee Child) --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Book Description

Hodder are boosting Stephen King's backlist with new covers, new author brand lettering and a marketing campaign which directs readers to the right King title for them. 

--This text refers to the Paperback edition.

See all Product Description

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
First Sentence
Jessie could hear the back door banging lightly, randomly, in the October breeze blowing around the house. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

41 of 44 people found the following review helpful By RachelWalker TOP 500 REVIEWER on 21 Nov. 2004
Format: Paperback
Among Stephen King's large body of work, there are admittedly a few duds, but in far greater number are the really super pieces of work, the great books that will stand the test of time and, eventually, he will be deservedly remembered for. There are at least 5 which could vie for the "his best book" accolade, and Gerald's Game is one of them. It is, in a word, superb.
It is one of King's most eccentric books, in terms of the rest of his work. There is no horror here at all, at least not of the ghouly kind. Instead, we sink down into the mind of one character, trapped in a cabin for four hundred pages, and see the internal horrors that lie within it. It is a psychological novel more than anything, which would most probably appeal to fans of authors like Ruth Rendell or Ian McEwan - fans of writers whose normal subject is the human mind, its messinesses and ways of preservation, its internal conflicts and idiosyncrasies. Gerald's Game is a excellent book because King is able to keep us in the company of one single character, alone in a room, tied to a bed, for almost the entire book, and never do we experience a moment of boredom. It would be difficult to overstate the level of achievement this illustrates.
Obviously, not everyone's going to like it. There are people who will find this book boring, and will want more action, more obvious thrills and excitements. If you like subtlety, though, more focused and mental thrills which spring from a more psychological well, this book is for you. It's a marvellous exercise in form and structure, and an absolutely gripping psychological novel. I think King's best work is normally produced when he moves away from overt horror, and this is an example of that. It's a sharp, deeply engaging and gripping book that is no less terrifying than if there were vampires or ghosts involved. Read it. It's not only unique among King's work, but in almost everything else I've read as well.
5 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Straightforward TOP 500 REVIEWER on 16 July 2010
Format: Paperback
Stephen King remarked in his book On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft, that as a child he often used to play a game with friends and family which involved one person thinking of a scenario, which the others then had to invent a way to escape from. This story feels like a product of one of those sessions.

He also mentions that inspiration often strikes when he asks himself 'what if...?'. In this case, the 'What if' would be 'What if you were handcuffed to a bed, acting out a kinky sex game with your husband in a house located in a secluded part of the countryside, when he suddenly dies of a heart attack? How would you survive and escape? His characteristic ingenuity is employed as he tells what happens next, what goes on in the mind of the main character as she not only struggles with her situation, but also with memories that surface from her childhood.

Stephen King tends to write two kinds of thrillers - those like Under the Dome and Salem's Lot which have a large cast of characters, and those like Misery and The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon where the bulk of the story involves only one - or sometimes two - characters. This is one of the latter kind - it's a claustrophobic tale, with lots of internal dialogue (the main character has two or three internal voices that speak to her as she starts to crack up).
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By fredthe3rd on 2 Jan. 2008
Format: Paperback
I put off reading this book for years. it just seemed such a dark concept - and i think it's probably a good thing i didn't read it when i was fourteen, but when i finally did read it (in huge chunks while train travelling probably helped) it was unbearable - in a good way.

I can't reccomend it unconditionally because it's incredibly dark - and graphic in every way conceivable, but it really effected me - you can't sleepwalk through this book.

from squirming in a train seat - unable to stop myself from clutching the back of my neck for some reason to the the adrenalin rush as i read the final chapters late at night in a hotel room when i had a very early start the next morning then being unable to sleep for well over an hour because i was so excited this is a phenomenal read.

but it probably shouldn't be your first stephen king novel.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
Worrying though it is to admit this, these days, without my diary, I am lost. There used to be a time when I could remember to do the things that my colleagues requested of me without a written aid: now, they don't even ask me - they just flick to the relevant page and diarise it for me to find when I get to work on any given day. I mention my inadequacy merely to make a point: although I finished Gerald's Game a month prior to writing this review, I can still remember it vividly. For someone who is clearly losing their memory, this is an achievement that deserves a tribute - a tribute not to my ability to recall something that happened less than four weeks ago, but to Stephen King, who, as a novelist, is able to write such a horrifyingly memorable story.

Briefly, "A game. A husband-and-wife game. Gerald's Game. But this time Jessie didn't want to play. Lying there, spreadeagled and handcuffed to the bedstead while he'd loomed and drooled over her, she'd felt angry and humiliated. So she'd kicked out hard. Aimed to hit him where it hurt. And now he was dead - a coronary - on the floor. Leaving Jessie alone and helpless in a lakeside holiday cabin. Miles from anywhere. No-one to hear her screams. Alone. Except for the voices in her head that had begun to chatter and argue and sneer".

How you rate this book will largely depend upon three factors: how you take to the book initially, what you think of Jessie's "back-story" and whether you are offended by the subtle presence of sexism which seems to provide the undertone to the book. Reading through reviews both here and on other websites, I noticed a polarisation of opinion when it came to discussing the direction of the book.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback