FREE Delivery in the UK.
This title has not yet been released.
You may pre-order it now and we will deliver it to you when it arrives.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
George Frideric Handel: V... has been added to your Basket
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

George Frideric Handel: Volume 3, 1734-1742: Collected Documents Hardcover – 31 Jul 2015

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover, 31 Jul 2015
"Please retry"

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Pre-order Price Guarantee: order now and if the Amazon.co.uk price decreases between the time you place your order and the release date, you'll be charged the lowest price. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

George Frideric Handel: Volume 3, 1734-1742: Collected Documents + George Frideric Handel: Volume 2, 1725-1734: Collected Documents (Collected Documents of George Frideric Handel)
Price For Both: £220.00

Buy the selected items together

Product details

Product Description

Book Description

Handel's life and career are intricately documented in a wide range of contemporary sources. This multi-volume major publication is the most up-to-date and comprehensive collection of these documents available. Presented in an accessible form, the volumes include English translations of foreign-language texts and commentaries incorporating the results of recent research.

About the Author

Donald Burrows is Professor of Music at the Open University, a Vice-President of the Händelgesellschaft, Chairman of the Handel Institute, General Editor of the Novello Handel Edition and a member of the Editorial Board of the Hallische Händel-Ausgabe. His six books about Handel and his music include The Cambridge Companion to Handel (1997), and he has edited many editions of Handel's works, including Messiah and Samson and the operas Ariodante and Imeneo. His book A Catalogue of Handel's Musical Autographs (1994, with Martha J. Ronish) was awarded the Vincent H. Duckles Award by the Music Library Association.

Helen Coffey is Lecturer in Music at the Open University and has worked on the Handel Documents Project since it began in 2007. Her doctoral dissertation (University of Oxford, 2006) focused on the patronage of instrumentalists in Germany during the late fifteenth and early sixteenth centuries. This subject, and the activities of court and civic musicians in England at the same period, have formed the focus for subsequent published articles; her current research interests include the musical patronage of King George I as Elector of Hanover and the careers of German musicians in England during the eighteenth century.

John Greenacombe is a Visiting Research Associate at the Open University and a Trustee of the Handel Institute. An architectural and urban historian, he was formerly General Editor of The Survey of London. His participation in the Handel Documents Project has enabled him to bring together his experience of British archives and a long-standing interest in Handel's life and music.

Anthony Hicks combined a career as a computer systems analyst with an influential role as a researcher, critic and author on musical topics, particularly relating to Handel. His publications include an article on Handel in the second edition of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians and the entries for all the Handel operas in The New Grove Dictionary of Opera. A founder-member of the Handel Institute, he also played a leading role as advisor to the Handel Opera Society in London, the Maryland Handel Festival (USA) and the London Handel Festival. His appointment to the Handel Documents Project in 2007 enabled him to fulfil a long-held ambition and he continued to contribute to the project until his death in 2010.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
This item has not been released yet and is not eligible to be reviewed.