A Gentleman's Honour: Bastion Club Series: Book 3 and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
Price: 1.78

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading A Gentleman's Honour: Bastion Club Series: Book 3 on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

A Gentleman's Honour: Number 2 in series (Bastion Club) [Paperback]

Stephanie Laurens
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10 customer reviews)
RRP: 8.99
Price: 6.29 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
You Save: 2.70 (30%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 27 July? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 5.99  
Hardcover, Large Print --  
Paperback 6.29  

Book Description

21 Jan 2010 Bastion Club (Book 2)

The season has yet to begin, and Anthony Blake, Viscount Torrington, is already a target for every matchmaking mama in London. But there is only one lady who sparks his interest...

Desperate and penniless, but determined, Alicia plans to make an excellent match for her ravishing younger sister. But one moonlit stroll may prove Alicia's undoing when it leads to an accusation of murder.

Every instinct Tony Blake possesses tells him that Alicia- the exquisite beauty he discovers standing over a dead body - is innocent of serious wrongdoing. His social prominence will certainly work in her favour. But it is more than honour that compels Tony to protect her - and he will do everything in his seductive power to make Alicia his.


Frequently Bought Together

A Gentleman's Honour: Number 2 in series (Bastion Club) + A Lady Of His Own: Number 3 in series (Bastion Club) + A Fine Passion: Number 4 in series (Bastion Club)
Price For All Three: 19.87

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Piatkus (21 Jan 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 074994028X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0749940287
  • Product Dimensions: 12.6 x 19.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 277,391 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

The first romance stories Stephanie Laurens read were set against the backdrop of Regency England, and these continue to exert a special attraction for her. As an escape from the dry world of professional science, Stephanie started writing Regency romances. Her hobby quickly became a career when her novels about the masterful Cynster cousins captivated readers, making her one of the romance world's most beloved and popular authors. Currently living outside Melbourne, Australia with her husband and two cats, she has been writing historical romance novels for more than 20 years and is a New York Times, Publishers Weekly, Wall Street Journal and USA Today bestseller.

Learn more about Stephanie's books from her website at www.stephanielaurens.com

Product Description

Book Description

London's most eligile - and adventurous - bachelors have banded together to form the Bastion Club, an elite society of gentleman dedicated to determining their own futures

About the Author

Stephanie Laurens is the New York Times bestselling author of many Regency-set Romances, well known for the Bar Cynster series, which have gained her a legion of dedicated fans.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
First Sentence
"We've a month before the Season begins, and already the harpies are hunting in packs." Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has a quite charm 20 Nov 2003
Format:Mass Market Paperback
In the second of the Bastion series from Stephanie Laurens it is the turn of Tony Blake, Viscount Torrington and former spy to meet his match in the matrimonial stakes.
Coming across a young lady in his godmothers garden at a party he finds that she is everything he wants, unfortunatly she is also standing there with a bloody knife in her hand and a dead body at her feet. And so Tony is called upon to put all his spying expertise into play to ensure the innocence and safety of Alicia, the young 'widow' that has captured his attention.
What follows is a different approach for Laurens, Tony and Alicia are more than willing to act upon what they feel for each other. They form a friendship, a partnership and support each other through the ensuing plot to discover the real murderer.
Alicia is a very likeable heroine, practical in her management of a large household of younger brothers and sister, assured in dealing with society and intelligent in her relationship with a complex and world weary hero.
The only issue lies with the search for the murderer/traitor which is slow with paper trails and research being at its foundation. However this is more than made up with the interaction between the main characters in what is one of the better Laurens stories.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to put down 22 Jan 2008
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I picked up A Gentleman's Honor by Stephanie Laurens, I had not expected it to be much more than a semi-interesting read. However, with every page turn, I became more and more attached to the novel's heroine, and actually found it very difficult to put the book down. Since reading this book, I have highly recommended it to all my girlfriends. It's a beautiful story about life, love and friendship filled with excitement, heartbreak and hope. I'd also recommend reading Tino Georgiou's bestselling novel--The Fates--if you haven't yet!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story but.... 15 Oct 2003
By A Customer
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I enjoyed the book, but, yet again an author's lack of knowledge on England has let her down. The biggest area of bemusement is journey time, I know England is a small country but even today it is a whole day journey to get from the centre of London to Exmoor! At the time the story is set in the early 19th century it would have taken days, maybe weeks! I do understand that for a story to be fast moving the plot must move on, but, for me it does weaken a story when simple errors like this occur.
For fans of Ms Laurens, I am sure that the style of the prose will be enjoyed, but it does miss some of the sparkle of her 'Cynster' books and could have done with a bit of editing down.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Beat Him as a Hero 5 Mar 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
A Bastion Club novel featuring Anthony Blake, Viscount Torrington and desperate and penniless Alicia Pevensey (pretending to be a young widow, Alicia Carrington).

Sinfully sensual novel, peppered with humour, and a big fat 5, 5 plus actually ......... thus far Tony has (and probably will be forever) one of my favourite heroes'.

Romantic fiction at its best, I would highly recommend this series by Stephanie Laurens.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
By Marshall Lord TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
An entertaining if completely implausible story which is second in the "Bastion Club" series of novels which are a sort of hybrid between detective stories and modern erotic romances set in the Regency period of history.

The "Bastion Club" stories begin just after the battle of Waterloo brought to an end twenty years of war. In the book "The Lady Chosen: Bastion Club Series, Book 1," a group of British officers who have been serving their country, first as officers in the Guards and latterly as spies, met after the battle to discuss how they were going to adapt to peacetime life. Most of them have recently inherited titles, all are single and most of them need to marry. And the whole of the "ton" as high society was called, knows that they are very eligible batchelors.

Realising that they are likely to be mobbed by matchmaking mothers, our heroes decide to set up a club where they can retreat to enjoy one another's company, and plan together their strategies to make sure that each has a chance to marry the lady with whom he has the best chance of a happy marriage rather than someone foisted on him by "matchmaking mamas." They call it the "Bastion Club" because it is intended to be, as described in this volume "their secured base from which each would infiltrate the ton, identify the lady he wanted as his wife, and them storm the enemy's position and capture her."

So they buy an empty property in Belgravia to serve as the club. Each of the novels in the series tells the story of how one of our heroes finds his lady - and then has to use the skills they acquired during the war to rescue her from the machinations of some criminal mastermind.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback