Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Voyage Shop now Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

11
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Gelert Mini Canopy - Olive
Colour: OliveChange
Price:£25.95-£30.62
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 1 September 2013
I'm not sure why this is getting negative reviews as I've had no problems with it (in fact, I've purchased a second as a spare).

One end tightens around the porch area using one guy line and also pegs down using the four fabric loops (two on either side). The other end is supported by a fiberglass pole and three guy lines. It all seems quite secure. I've yet to use it in strong winds but I can't see how it would collapse if set-up correctly.

It's great for retreating under when it rains. It's really useful having the additional dry space outside your tent especially when using a small 3-man pup tent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 27 July 2013
great porch did what I wanted it to do, to make my 2 man tent bigger so i didn't have to cook in it any more
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 16 May 2013
It is fine, does the job. the only slight design niggle is that the canopy does not attach to the tent. It is held in place by a draw cord arrangement to pull it tight over the tent awning, but it seem to work.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 1 June 2012
Never been so dissapointed in a product in my life. We mostly have Gelert camping equipment, and have found their products good value, however the mini-canopy is just a poorly thought out waste of time.

You have 1 fibreglass pole which holds the mouth of the canopy open - this part is fine!

At the other end, you have 4 toggles which attach to the tent (ALL at the bottom), the rest of the material is designed to be held in place using tension against the tents existing opening. Unfortunatly, it would be impossible to get enough tension against the tent to hold it in place, the slightest breeze makes the thing come tumbling down.

After a couple of attempts at re-attaching it, the stitching by toggles then ripped, rendering the thing useless.

I'd have been better off selling my tent and getting one with a larger porch, rather than wasting an extra £30 on this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 13 September 2013
this is just what you need to make the tent have that little bit more. i found that if i got 2 ball bungies to put in to the little black tabs on the side it pull it around top of tent after that it was sorted could not ask for any better
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 4 August 2015
Brilliant.... Stopped a wet weekend in the tent becoming a wet and miserable weekend. Easy to put up, slightly prone too the wind, ended up with three tent pegs in the front fixing points but otherwise brilliant
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 21 April 2014
Really handy, may even big big enough to park motorbike in backwards
Blew a bit in some strong winds, but held. Great for its packed size
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 24 April 2013
Thank goodness I had also purchased a tent to justify shipping costs from the UK to the USA! Otherwise I would have been quite upset with myself for ordering this useless piece of gear with shipping that cost more than the canopy. The front end is perfect, a nice semi-hoop and nice height for entry and a camp chair. But then I thought, surely they failed to include the 2nd fiberglass pole for the rear sleeve. Not true, it really only comes with one pole. There's just a guy line drawn through the rear sleeve with plastic hooks on each end, along with corner grommets, to somehow attach and cinch it to the "universal tent" or stake it down. Useless, doesn't attach to anything I have or will own, and somehow cinching it down just doesn't do the trick. I might try to find my own fiberglass pole for the rear, to give it a similar semi-hoop setup as the front. Staked down, that could do the trick, but otherwise, it's useless to me and a waste of money, as there are much better options out there.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 19 August 2015
Very good to put onto your tent and it's keep u dry in bad rain so it's very good for the money happy camper,s
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 31 October 2014
If you're after a porch/canopy to add some extra living space to a small tent you can't go wrong with this one... I have a 4 man pop up tent and this fits perfectly over the front and gives enough room for a couple of people and gear to sit under during the inevitable rain that always comes when camping... The front is a nice arched pole with guy lines which gives plenty of support... The rear has 2 guy lines which pull back to add tension to keep it resting on your tent... There are 2 loops either side at the bottom so you can fix it to the ground with pegs too... I added an extra guy line with a clip right at the top just to add extra strength incase of really bad wind... Overall very happy with the canopy...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Gelert Ottawa 4 Canopy
£40.00 - £79.06

Universal Tarp
Universal Tarp by Coleman
£30.00
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.