Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars54
3.8 out of 5 stars
Price:£5.95+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2010
This is much easier than using a bit of cotton on the map or dental floss as I do! However, I find it reads a little short when measured against the map scale, by 3% to 5 %, despite taking up any slack in the wheel as recommended. I still use it but I calibrate it each time by achieving the same reading along the bottom of the map where the kilometer squares run in a line, and then I read the true distance from the map. Alternatively you could just up the reading by about 4%, although shorter distances have a greater error factor. Today it read 10.9K for a run I did, instead of 11.3K which is around 3% error. The other slight annoying thing is turning the needle back to zero every time you need to use it but this is probably common to all these type of mechanical map measurers. Overall, I cannot grumble for the price I paid. You might consider going for a higher priced instrument, but of course there is no guarantee of higher quality.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2011
The measurer is well made but it is inaccurate. It is double sided. The outer scale of side 1 represents inches to miles on the outer ring and centimetres to kilometres on the inner ring. The accuracy shows a four per cent error (low). The precision of the markings on side 1 is good.
The second side shows statute miles to the inch, km to the inch (not cm as stated on the packaging) and nautical miles to the inch (three scales, nested in circles). The scale precision is very poor, difficult to read, and the inch base makes the second side pretty well useless with modern maps.
From my view, the only useful scale is the inner cm measurer on side 1, but remember that you will have to apply the relevant conversion for 1:25,000 and 1:50,000 maps. The scale marking is 'cm to km'- true if that is the scale of the map (1:100,000).

My opinion is that these types of measurer should be dedicated to given map scales. As it is, this is nothing more than a trundle wheel and you will have to apply your own conversions. That is one possible source of error, and the accuracy of the instrument adds to the issue.

It is well made, but the design needs a re-think.
22 comments|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
The problem with map measurers is that you keep loaning them to people and forgetting to ask for them back. This little device solves the problem. I bought five and was still unable to exceed the £10 free delivery limit, so I had to buy a book as well. This device has a serrated wheel, so it doesn't skid around. The scale is 1: 63,000 (the old one inch to the mile) of which there are very few maps left.

The scale on one face also converts between statute miles, kilometres, and nautical miles. The scale on the other side does little more than measure how far the wheel has travelled in inches or centimetres. It can also be used to convert between inches and centimetres.

However, this is not the best way to use a map measurer. All you really need is the needle set to a zero Mark. Measure the route with the measurer. Then go to the scale at the bottom of the map, and unwind the measurer back to 0. If you were born after the 1970s and are happy with kilometres, you don't even need to do that. Just unwind the measurer across the one kilometre grid squares counting as you go. It sounds as if you've walked farther and impresses your friends more if you use kilometres. If you're using a nautical chart, measure up a line of longitude. The distance in minutes of arc of latitude is the distance in nautical miles.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
This is the easiest and one of the cheapest ways to get a fairly accurate measurement on local maps when seeking out routes for training for distance walking/running. It is very easy to use on any scale map.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
Forget about the scales on the dials, they are of little use. Use it as a rolling wheel and 'unwind' it along the scale at the bottom of the map to give the distance.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2010
Very pleased with this item, it has come in vvery useful to calculate distance on planned walks following an Ordinance Survey map. My only critisism is that the measurer is slightly difficult to turn, over acute angles following footpaths on the map, but maybe with practice it will be easier!. Fast delivery and a good product. Thank you.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
This reads 3% low. It should be fairly simple for the manufacturer to have got this right: it's only the circumference of the trace wheel multiplied by the internal gear ratio. My test: I laid out the first 1.2m of a steel self-winding measure on a table and traced the device from 10cm to 110cm (don't start from zero - it's not accurate enough). The metric scale should have read 100: mine read 97. I retraced backwards to the start point: it was zero on the scale (if it hadn't been, the wheel could have slipped). I repeated several times - same result.

The trace wheel diameter is 6.35mm (1/4"), so circumference is PI times this, ie. just under 20mm. If the internal gear ratio was 50, it should have read 99.7 - so I can't explain the error, except it might be because the wheel is serrated.

I carefully filed the wheel down - you can do this if it under-reads since a smaller wheel has to go round more times to cover the same distance. It's now better than 0.5%.

One good point: it has a metal trace wheel, which is unlikely to wear. Since the gearing can't change, it's very unlikely to go out of calibration. Just watch it doesn't slip when tracing on a map. However, I could see a nylon jockey wheel through the bottom aperture: more wheels mean more wear and backlash.

Forget the Imperial scale. 1 metre is 39.37", not 39 as per the dial. Anyhow, all maps have had metric scales for decades.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2011
A useful little device and much better than struggling with a ruler. It's a bit fiddly to use, and care is needed to get the direction of travel right (or you start at 100 and work down rather than at 0 and work up!).
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
This seems an easy bit of kit to use - just run the wheel along the map and hey presto! But if you use OS maps which are 1:25,000 the scale isn't compatible. I thought it was just me being girly so took the measurer into work where the boys that run, walk & cycle hang out. They couldn't get it to measure on the required map either
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2011
I agree with others on the limitations of the Scales on both sides of the wheel.

However it is cheap and accurate enough for most folk who leisure walk.

As for the scales .... modify the Inches to miles Scale like I did.

I removed the dial cover and scanned the Scale[600dpi]. Then on the computer added slim RED lines at every 2.5 division points and marked them 1 to 14 also in RED. These are Miles and suit the common UK Ordnance Explorer maps at 2.5 Inches = 1 Mile and for the older 1.25 Inches = 1 Mile Landranger Maps... merely double the red numbers ... in your head ...easy.
The resultant scale was printed on photo paper and I replaced the rear scale ..[Nautical miles etc] with my modified scale.
If you don't want to do all the scanning etc ...then simply remove the Inch to Miles dial, cover and mark the red lines / numbers by hand with a pen.

A Tippex Arrow was added on the body side beside the handle to remind me which way to roll it so the needle went "forwards" and not "backwards.

I also drilled a hole through the handle and added a lanyard.

This whole process really is much easier than it seems written out and only took abt 20 mins in total ... much less if you write the miles on in red by hand.
33 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)