Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 December 2014
I'm glad that this was a free download. I picked it up as someone who has recently completed a professional garden design course and I thought it might be interesting to see what the author, apparently a seasoned garden designer, had to say on the subject. The honest answer is that there isn't much here other than the obvious and in some areas there are comments which strike me as well wide of the mark. There is a pretty strong steer in the book towards hiring a designer and very basic pointers for those wishing to design their own garden (no doubt because the author also sells her own online courses and therefore isn't going to pass on much without payment).

If you want to design your own garden or simply can't afford to engage a designer, there are some excellent books which are suitable for DIY designers and which will provide much more information about the process than you will find in this book. Diarmuid Gavin has a good book called 'Design Your Garden' and on a more detailed level, there is Rosemary Alexander's 'The Essential Garden Design Workshop'. These cover a lot of basic design principles and how to deal with problem sites in an accessible way for the DIY designer and will certainly guide you through the design process. You can also google terms like 'long narrow garden' or 'wide shallow garden' an you'll find plenty of images and commentary that will be helpful when trying to draw up a design. It is a shame also that the author didn't highlight that many designers are happy to provide a couple of hours consultation at a reasonable cost which may be enough to provide the home-owner with ideas to take forward themselves.

The tips about hiring a landscaper again pretty much state the obvious, such as go and look at previous work, and that section again is padded with a lot of pretty useless commentary.

Overall, the book seems to me to be nothing more than an extended advert for the author's website courses, her books and other services. If you want to re-design your own garden then you won't find much here to help.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
Just a sales pitch really, what a massive let down, not learnt anything new that would otherwise be common knowledge or something you can learn from asking someone that recently had their garden done in 5 minutes...

Sorry, but the Author does seem a nice person however so do not let that deter you from having a quick peak at her site though...

Someone putting this much effort into something they are passionate about deserves some merit! hence 2 stars :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2015
not for the faint hearted this book. It does give some useful ideas for designing your own garden but the book's main aim is to persuade you into hiring your own garden designer, presumably at great expense. Not one for keeping, think if the idea of rearranging my garden comes to me when lying on my lounger I'll just go and get another drink!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
If you know nothing about garden design this is the book for you, although you won't know much more when you have read it. The basic message seems to be to get a professional designer to design your garden. Which on reflection could be the best idea......if you have plenty of spare money!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
Bought this book via my kindle so that may be the problem. If I had had the chance to glance through this book in a bookshop I would not have purchased it.....there are only 20 garden photographs in the whole book which a find astonishing.

Could someone who has physically purchased the book could confirm if this is right? Or has my kindle not downloaded the book in it's entirety?

Nothing wrong with the text or the tips and advice, just would have been been really helpful to have had some visual photographs to back up what the author was trying to convey. Shame really.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
Lacking in pictures and very preachy about how to choose a landscape gardener which is irrelevant if your designing yourself.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
I found the book stated the obvious and the information poor. I started skipping through it to find something interesting.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
Not so much a design guide for beginners, more an advert for her design services. However, useful in part.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
This is an excellent starting point, helping you to decide on the best overall plan for you personally. It covers the whole range from hiring a professional to doing it yourself with the pros and cons of all the different approaches. It clearly shows in a few well-chosen plans and photos the advantages of designing a garden rather than sticking in a few plants where there is space!

However it is not a step by step guide to doing your own design.

I find her no-nonsense approach to design very refreshing. You may not even agree with all of it but it makes you think and explore new ideas. I would strongly recommend downloading this to your PC; a Kindle does not do it justice.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
Not what I expected from the overview
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)