Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars8
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£32.29
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2010
I bought this although there were no other reviews at the time - just to see what it was like. I also bought another GIMP book at the same time which I really like, but this one disappoints me.

It's hard to be hard but ...

The illustrations are in B&W which is ridiculous for a book about colour image processing; in many cases it is impossible to even imagine what the authors are trying to illustrate.

The links to the web site which supplements the book don't work!!

The style is dry - it's hard work and doesn't make you want to keep reading. I believe that this is because the authors have fallen into the trap of describing/explaining what the software does rather than how you can do what you want to do _with_ the software. Sadly, I have written several software instruction manuals that also fell into this trap - and I was told by my customers how unhelpful they found them.

The book is detailed and contains plenty of information and I am sure I will find it useful for reference, but I cannot recommend it as a first book on GIMP or to learn how to use GIMP.
11 comment17 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
This is an excellent reference book. I can't imagine that anyone would read it cover to cover, but every function in GIMP is described an explained in detail, in an easy to understand language.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2010
This is a very thorough guide to GIMP containing both theory and tutorials. The tutorials could be better explained and illustrated and it is not an easy slog, but perhaps that's more the result of GIMP's capabilities. There are not many GIMP guides available and this is certainly the best, and best value, I have seen.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
This is an excellent reference book for GIMP. It does what it says on the tin what more could you ask thanks KM
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2010
I have been using GIMP to edit photos for my web applications and for our families to enjoy.
In the past I ave used Photoshop and Paint Shop Pro, but moving to Linux, Ubuntu and Mandriva Power Pack, I became acquainted with GIMP's ability to edit and create high quality images in Linux. This then persuaded me to use GIMP for all my cross-platform needs.
I did a search for books and found the GIMP Bible which was what I needed to help me use GIMP more fully. The other reason is that I already use another Bible the Linux Command Line and Scripting Bible, its a massive 809 pages and has increased my Linux skills more than I could have done unaided.

The GIMP Bible's 722 pages is a comprehensive and worthwhile investment for my cross-platform needs.
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2010
I bought this book as a back-up reference guide to Akanna Peck's book "Beginning GIMP".
So far I have found it exceptionally useful and I look forward to using it in the coming years!
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
Arrived as required. Thanks.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
Very good seller! AAA+++
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.