Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
33
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2010
My daughter has just sat the first module of her WJEC GCSE Geography. This book came recommended by a friend of mine who's a Geography teacher. When it arrived it didn't look very appealing - there was a lot of writing and not much in the way of pictures (as in the BCP guides which we've found very useful for the sciences). Despite the initial impression, this book proved invaluable. Because it exactly matches the syllabus, there's no flitting around the book to find the topics covered by your exam board, you can simply work your way through it. My daughter felt 100% prepared/ confident going into her exam but I suppose only time will tell how effective this book is ...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2011
Bought the book for more than the above price through school. It has all the right topics and content, including brief case studies, but only a few useful notes. It's mostly activities that will not help you recall information directly. On top of this, several of the charts and maps have incorrect keys and annotations, clearly a copy and paste job with no proofreading. My advice would be to use your lesson notes or try to obtain the textbook that explains the same course in much more detail.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
I used it for quick revision before topic tests. I found it was somewhat detailed, but I felt not enough. Although I did not use it much before the exam (school gave us densely packed A3 sheets with lots of detail for each topic), I found it was a good buy over the 2 years I used it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2011
Geography rivision book very good, bought book for son who is sitting his GCSE's at the moment. It was recommended by his school and he has used it for Geography revision already. Great condition and fast delivery, just hope he passes his exams but time will tell.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Generally this is a good book, but students, teachers and parents need to watch out for some incorrect labels on diagrams. In the section on changing populations, France is given a short life expectancy for the elderly and high infant mortality! Sadly this sort of thing is seen more and more in books, with much editorial work done by overseas, non-graduate copy-editors and proof-readers who may check that the 'words are OK', but not whether they are appropriate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
This book will help a lot for geography gcse wjec revision. It makes it more interesting than trawling through books and are some really good exam tips etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
This product was recommended to us and I can highly recommend it too. It has been incredibly helpful with my son's revision. Very happy with this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
This book was exactly what my son needed to revise for his exams. Everything he had to learn was in this book. Very educational and good quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
Easy to understand, good diagrams, nice and slim so it doesn't take up much room in your bag would recommend this boo for gcse.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Bought book for my daughter to help with revision for exams.
She has found it really helpfull, glad i bought it now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.