Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Shop Now Shop now
Fuse (Pure Book 2) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Buy Used
£2.80
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by ACE_BOOKS
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: BRAND NEW --- ELIGIBLE FOR AMAZONS FREE SUPERSAVER / PRIME DELIVERY ---
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Fuse (Pure Trilogy 2) Paperback – 18 Jul 2013

30 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£1.49 £0.01

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Save £20 on Amazon.co.uk with the aqua Classic card. Get an initial credit line of £250-£1,200 and build your credit rating. Representative 32.9% APR (variable). Subject to term and conditions. Learn more.



Product details

  • Paperback: 560 pages
  • Publisher: Headline (18 July 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1472201426
  • ISBN-13: 978-1472201423
  • Product Dimensions: 15.2 x 3.5 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (30 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 111,780 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Julianna is an award-winning poet, novelist, and young adult writer. For years, she has been thinking about writing a futuristic dystopian novel about a society of haves - the Pure, who escaped the apocalypse and live in an uncontaminated dome-covered city - and have-nots - the wretched survivors who live in the nearly-destroyed outside world.

(Photograph: Laura Ciociola)

Product Description

Review

'A great, gorgeous novel, boundless in its imagination. You will be swept away' (Justin Cronin, New York Times bestselling author of The Passage)

'Discomfiting and unforgettable' ( The New York Times )

'This novel sizzles with invention and viscerally disturbs with its portraits of catastrophe' ( The Sunday Times )

'She has a flair for keeping the pages turning with a combination of short, sharp action beats and drip-fed revelations. Strong stuff, and gripping to boot' ( SFX magazine )

Book Description

The second book in the PURE trilogy for fans of THE PASSAGE, THE ROAD and THE HUNGER GAMES.

--Ce texte fait référence à l'édition Hardcover.

See all Product Description

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Related Media

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Quicksilver TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 18 Feb. 2013
Format: Hardcover
It's often hard to review second books in a series. World building is normally done in book one and plot resolution is yet to come. With no beginning or end, we have only middle, so how to judge? 'Fuse' has this problem in abundance. It adds little to book one, remains readable throughout, but leaves the reader only with more questions.

That I feel so discomfited signals a degree of disappointment with the book. I really liked Pure. It is dark and dirty; a dystopian vision that works, that goes deeper than just another Hunger Games clone. 'Fuse' however ploughs the furrow left by Kantiss Everdeen. Pure explores some interesting areas, such as the role of technology in human advancement and the futility of hankering for a better time. The concept of being fused to your past was fascinating. Best of all 'Pure' wasn't all about an oppressed group sticking it to their overlords. Which is exactly what 'Fuse' is.

The fragmented heroes in this book are trying to destroy the Dome and bring down its leader, Ellery Willux. The book starts slowly. The bleak existence of those outside the Dome makes for heavy reading, but things do eventually get going. The narrative becomes exciting and there are some great set pieces, but I felt the story became a string of events, with characters arbitrarily being pushed in one direction or another. It's plot development as practised by the writers of Lost.

Too often characters would suddenly acquire significant pieces of information, important landmarks would not be guarded, characters who had been useless, suddenly acquired value. Worse still, Willux, the central villain becomes a caricature of himself.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Kate TOP 500 REVIEWER on 20 Feb. 2013
Format: Hardcover
Please don't read this review if you haven't read Pure (Pure Trilogy), the first in the trilogy.

Pure was a highlight of 2012 for me. Here is a dystopian vision utterly horrific. A vision of a near future so mangled and grotesque that you want to look away but you can't. A world in which all souls who survived the Detonations are fused with whatever they were holding, clutching, embracing, fixing at the time of the catastrophic explosions. One of them is Pressia, the girl with a doll for a hand but uncannily practical nonetheless and she returns as our heroine in Fuse.

As Fuse begins a Wretch is found, her fusions cured, her skin soft and unblemished. But the child Wilda is unable to say anything but this: `We want our son returned. This girl is proof that we can save you all. If you ignore our plea, we will kill our hostages one at a time'. Willux, the leader of the Dome, wants his son Partridge returned. The pretence is gone. There is nothing that the Dome will not do to the Wretches scrambling for a living outside the walls. Pressia, meanwhile, is on the trail of the Seven who alone have the knowledge that Pressia and her followers need to uncover the truth behind the Detonations and the possibility of a cure from their fusions.

Among the characters returning in Fuse are my particular favourites Capitan (or Cap) and Helmud. Brothers fused together they each carry a horrendous burden. Their story develops throughout the novel more so, I'd argue, that any other. There are other familiar figures here too - Lydia, the fearsome Mothers and Bradwell. It is arguable that such is the strength of the other characters that this time Pressia's tale is less prominent.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Marleen on 19 Feb. 2013
Format: Hardcover
I received my copy from Headline Publishing through Nudge and rated it 4.5 stars.

In this, the second book in the Pure trilogy, we meet our protagonists where we left them at the end of the book one. Pressia is with Bradwell for whom she is developing feelings she doesn't recognise or trust and trying to come to terms with the fact that she's recently found and lost her mother, discovered that her father may still be alive and the existence of her half-brother, Partridge who is a Pure, from the Dome and the son of Willux, the man who caused the destruction of the world.

Partridge is still living outside the Dome and glad to be spending time close to Lyda, the Pure girl he loves. He is also devastated following the brutal death of his mother and brother; deaths ordered by his father. But his mother left him with something; three vials containing the first step in a cure for the damage done by the detonations. If they can find the next two steps it might be possible to undo the devastation his father has caused, but their chances seem slim.

Partridge's father wants his son back and is not beyond keeping all of the people outside the Dome hostage to achieve his goal. Willux has plans for his son and nothing or nobody is going to stop him from achieving them. Faced with a possible massacre among the Wretches he has come to recognise as different but very worthy humans, Partridge has no choice but to submit to his father's demands. He has to go back inside and hope that he will be able to fight the battle against his father's evil plans from there.

Meanwhile Pressia, Bradwell, El Capitan and his brother Helmud leave on a seemingly impossible quest to find the ingredients and formula needed to create the cure.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback