Fuchs: Serenades No. 3-5 ... has been added to your Basket
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Available to Download Now
Buy the MP3 album for £5.99

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Fuchs: Serenades No. 3-5 (Naxos: 8.572607)
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Fuchs: Serenades No. 3-5 (Naxos: 8.572607) CD

Price: £7.72 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
Does not apply to gift orders. See Terms and Conditions for important information about costs that may apply for the MP3 version in case of returns and cancellations.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Complete your purchase to add the MP3 version to your Amazon music library. Provided by Amazon EU S.à r.l.
21 new from £4.50 1 used from £5.49
£7.72 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Buy a CD from our World, Folk, Classical or Jazz stores to purchase Songlines Music Awards 2015 CD for £3.99. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

Fuchs: Serenades No. 3-5 (Naxos: 8.572607) + Fuchs: Serenades Nos.1/ 2
Price For Both: £15.34

Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Conductor: Christian Ludwig
  • Composer: Robert Fuchs
  • Audio CD (26 Mar. 2012)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Naxos
  • ASIN: B007C7FFS6
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 276,839 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.

Song TitleArtist Time Price
  1. Serenade No. 3 in E Minor, Op. 21: I. Romanze: Andante sostenutoCologne Chamber Orchestra 4:20£0.99  Buy MP3 
  2. Serenade No. 3 in E Minor, Op. 21: II. MenuettoCologne Chamber Orchestra 5:50£0.99  Buy MP3 
  3. Serenade No. 3 in E Minor, Op. 21: III. Allegretto graziosoCologne Chamber Orchestra 7:35£0.99  Buy MP3 
  4. Serenade No. 3 in E Minor, Op. 21: IV. Finale alla Zingarese: Allegro con fuocoCologne Chamber Orchestra 4:15£0.99  Buy MP3 
  5. Serenade No. 4 in G Minor, Op. 51: I. Andante sostenutoCologne Chamber Orchestra 4:23£0.99  Buy MP3 
  6. Serenade No. 4 in G Minor, Op. 51: II. Allegretto graziosoCologne Chamber Orchestra 4:08£0.99  Buy MP3 
  7. Serenade No. 4 in G Minor, Op. 51: III. Menuett: Moderato amabileCologne Chamber Orchestra 5:58£0.99  Buy MP3 
  8. Serenade No. 4 in G Minor, Op. 51: IV. AdagioCologne Chamber Orchestra 6:56£0.99  Buy MP3 
  9. Serenade No. 4 in G Minor, Op. 51: V. Finale: Allegro con fuocoCologne Chamber Orchestra 3:56£0.99  Buy MP3 
10. Serenade No. 5 in D Major, Op. 53: I. Adagio con espressioneCologne Chamber Orchestra 5:10£0.99  Buy MP3 
11. Serenade No. 5 in D Major, Op. 53: II. Allegro graziosoCologne Chamber Orchestra 7:34£0.99  Buy MP3 
12. Serenade No. 5 in D Major, Op. 53: III. Allegretto amabileCologne Chamber Orchestra 3:13£0.99  Buy MP3 
13. Serenade No. 5 in D Major, Op. 53: IV. Finale: Allegro vivaceCologne Chamber Orchestra 5:10£0.99  Buy MP3 

Product Description

A richly endowed composer, selfless teacher, and a rare human being proclaims Robert Fuchs memorial stone, and this esteem is reflected in his astonishing roster of pupils Mahler, Sibelius, Wolf and Korngold among them. His own compositions, though, have been overlooked, unaccountably so on the evidence of these lovely Serenades. The Third is quite Brahmsian with a wonderfully bracing Hungarian finale. No. 4 is a highly expressive and richly scored work, whilst No. 5 casts its net yet wider with anticipations of Mahler, and joyous references to the Vienna of the Strauss family. Serenades Nos. 1 and 2 are available on Naxos 8.572222.

Currently Principal Conductor of the Gwangju Symphony Orchestra in South Korea, Christian Ludwig served as artistic director of the Cologne Chamber Orchestra from 2008 to 2011, conducting the orchestra at major venues in Paris, Munich, Rome and Cologne.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
The name Robert Fuchs (1847-1927) is these days primarily remembered as the teacher of the likes of Mahler, Sibelius, Wolf and Korngold, but he was a fine composer in his own right. I know the music of Fuchs through his very fine chamber music, yes he shows an indebtedness to the composers of the German Romantic tradition, but he certainly has a voice of his own as his excellent string quartets will attest!
The music presented on this disc represents volume two of the set and is unfailingly tuneful and enjoyable, even more so than his chamber music, it shows the influence of Brahms in particular, which is understandable as both composers held each other with great regard. In the third serenade, which as with the first two is for string orchestra, this influence is most prevalent in the final movement which is based on a Gypsy theme, which is reminiscent of Brahms' Hungarian Dances. The fourth serenade, which at 25 ½ minutes is the longest of the five, adds a pair of horns to the string orchestra to particularly good effect. The fifth and final serenade is the only one to be scored for `Small Orchestra', and Fuchs employs this added tone pallet well making especially good use of the woodwinds. There is also a surprise in the final movement, were the influence moves away from Brahms, giving us instead a form of homage to Johann Strauss.
This may not be great or deep music, in places it's even quite light, but it is enjoyable and attractive music, music to keep you smiling. It is also music which is well plaid by the Cologne musicians, with their performance helping me to recommend this disc whole heartedly!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 1 review
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Introspective String Music 23 Sept. 2012
By J. R. Trtek - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Fuchs was a respected composer in his day as well as a capable teacher, counting Mahler and Sibelius among his students. Brahms, never an indiscriminate slinger of praise, expressed admiration for his works. He apparently was not much of a self-promoter, however, and his music has since lapsed into obscurity. I've heard his three symphonies and confess I don't think they're much to write home about, but this trio of serenades are definitely worth a listen. To me they are reminiscent of string music by Edward Elgar, though perhaps a bit more meandering. Lacking a strong propulsive sense, they are nonetheless pensive and emotionally probing. Ludwig and the CCO have also previously recorded Fuch's first two serenades plus another string work; both discs are recommended as worthwhile finds.
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?