Start reading Frost Hollow Hall on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Frost Hollow Hall
 
 

Frost Hollow Hall [Kindle Edition]

Emma Carroll
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (22 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £1.19 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £5.80 (83%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £1.19  
Paperback £4.51  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Purchase any Kindle Book sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive £1 credit to try out our Digital Music Store. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Review

Emma Carroll, in her spooky debut, makes the Gothic ghost story her own ... believable, moving and just the right sort of frightening (Daily Telegraph)

This is a charming story which, despite dealing with dark themes of grief, poverty and death, remains light-hearted and hopeful. With wonderful description and great characterisation, Emma Carroll is a real find and Frost Hollow Hall is a perfect ghostly mystery for fans of Eva Ibbotson, Ellen Renner and Marie-Louise Jense (We Love This Book)

An emotionally-charged historical tale and a very believable ghost story rolled into one (The Telegraph)

The perfect wintry ghost story (The Sunday Express)

Book Description

A ghostly tale about love, loss and forgiveness with an instant classic feel.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 443 KB
  • Print Length: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber Children's Books (1 Oct 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00DY0TWES
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (22 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #18,327 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A charming find. 27 Nov 2013
By Pyewacket TOP 1000 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I came across this book as a recommendation for children in the Saturday Telegraph and it immediately grabbed me as a book I would like to read. I certainly wasn't disappointed.

When Tilly goes skating with the Butcher's son little does she know that she is literally skating on thin ice. Abruptly, the ice starts to crack and in she goes into the freezing waters of Frost Hollow Hall's lake. She desperately tries to get out from under the ice but can't......suddenly she sees what appears to be a 'golden' boy who guides her to the edge of the lake where her friend is able to drag her out. Half dead, he rushes her to Frost Hollow Hall. Once there and suitably warmed up, she is able to relate her tale.

Lady Barrington who lost her son to the ice 10 years ago appears and is evidently shocked at the likeness between Tilly and someone else she has known. Mrs. Jessop the Housekeeper offers Tilly a job as a housemaid at the house, which pleases her because her Father and older sister have done a bunk and left her and her Mother penniless and owing a lot of back rent.

From hereon in, Tilly's mission is to find out why Kit (the drowned son of Lady Barrington) is still earthbound and cannot move on.

She and another housemaid called Gracie fall foul of a spiteful entity on the back stairs and Gracie who always seems to be smashing crockery, is adamant that it is not her but the crockery is moving and smashing of its own accord. Of course only Tilly believes her. Mrs. Jessop the Housekeeper seems to have a soft spot for Tilly for some reason. Why?

This is a beautifully written book both scary and very moving in equal parts. Highly recommended for older children and adults alike.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, enchanting story 23 Dec 2013
By L. H. Healy TOP 100 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback
It's 1881 and Tilly is skating somewhere she shouldn't; on the frozen lake at Frost Hollow Hall. No one is meant to go there anymore. We learn as the novel opens that ten years before, Kit Barrington tragically died there. When the ice cracks and Tilly slips beneath into the freezing water, she sees a beautiful boy. Who can he be, is he real, what does he want with her?

After hearing so many good things about this debut childrens/young adult novel this year, I couldn't resist buying it whilst I was on holiday recently. It sounded like a lovely, classic read to curl up and enjoy, and indeed it was a very enjoyable book; an enchanting story, an atmospheric setting and with a lovely character and great first person narrator in Tilly. I eagerly raced through it and would certainly recommend it. An engaging, mysterious and ghostly read for Winter.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, wintery book! 18 Dec 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book has been recommended to me by so many people that I bumped it up my to be read list. I decided that I wanted to read it before Christmas, as it has that real wintery vibe about it. I'm thoroughly glad I read it because it's a fantastic, easy to read story. Emma Carroll's debut is incredibly established. It's hard to believe that it is her debut!

The story is told by a strong protagonist Tilly. She goes skating with the butcher's son Will at the spooky Frost Hollow Hall's lake. Tilly doesn't realise that she is literally skating on thin ice. Soon, the ice begins to crack and Tilly plunges into the icy waters of Frost Hollow Hall's lake. Tilly desperately tries to get out of the lake, when she begins to give up hope, she sees a boy who guides her to the age of the lake, where Will can then pull her up and take her to Frost Hollow Hall to recover. Tilly meets Lady Barrington who lost her son Kit to the ice/lake 10 years ago and Mrs Jessop the housekeeper. Tilly begins to work at Frost Hollow Hall but finds there are spooky goings on. Tilly wants to find out why Kit is still earthbound and isn't ready to move on yet.

I thought Frost Hollow Hall was an engaging, beautiful read. I was so impressed with Emma Carroll's writing. It felt like I was inside the book watching the scenes play out. I loved Tilly as a protagonist. Emma Carroll is definitely on my radar for authors to watch out for!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely debut novel 18 Dec 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Emma Carroll's beautifully written debut novel will keep you shivering under a blankie, and engrossed by the mysterious goings-on at Frost Hollow Hall. The heroine, Tilly Higgins is a hugely likeable character with a big heart and despite her hardships, she manages to rise above all the challenges life has dealt her. A cross between Downton Abbey and The Others! An excellent read and suitable for young and old. I look forward to reading more from this rising talent.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frost Hollow Hall Review 9 Dec 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book is a very enjoyable Christmas for all ages starting from nine years plus. I would definitely recommend it to other people.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly gripping read! 19 Nov 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book is an amazing read and I was unable to put the book down. Finished it in roughly four hours, and am still reeling from the glorious storyline and the events of the novel.
Tilly is a head-strong courageous character and the bond and witty banter between herself and Will is beautiful and as a reader it was a thrill to see their relationship develop!
You can tell a book is truly great when you get goose bumps whilst reading and the fast pace of the novel leaves you craving more.
I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a good ghost story and for those who love a thrilling captivating read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars good pre teen fiction
Even though this book was bought for me by my daughter, I actually enjoyed reading it and have passed it on to her now.
Published 1 month ago by Michelle
5.0 out of 5 stars A real example of truly excellent writing.
An enchantingly wonderful story which takes you out of reality, delving straight in Victorian England. So well in fact that sometimes you're unsure if you want to return! Read more
Published 1 month ago by Jess
5.0 out of 5 stars Good
A fantastic story about friendship and love
Published 1 month ago by zheng lu
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
A very well written ghost story
Published 1 month ago by brian cater
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly beautiful
I received a free copy of this book via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I really enjoyed this book, it was fun and full of mystery. Read more
Published 2 months ago by dottleddolly
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully spooky
Just finished reading this to my children - and felt them both gripping my arm whenever one of the maids was brave enough to go up those back stairs in the dark... Read more
Published 2 months ago by Johnny TwoLegs
5.0 out of 5 stars Frost Hollow Hall
I bought this book because Emma Carroll (the author) was visiting my school and she signed my book with a personal note. Read more
Published 2 months ago by Tikki Graham
5.0 out of 5 stars COOL
This book was really good.
Exciting and gripping.
Would definitely recommend.
Tilly is an awesome character.
I can't wait to read Emma Carroll's next book. Read more
Published 4 months ago by Loopy Horse
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful for children and adults.
I bought this book for my 10 year old and she begged me to read it! I'm so glad I did. It's a really good story, very spooky in places, but thrilling to the last page. Read more
Published 4 months ago by BO'M
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice ghostly tale
I was in need of a lighter read. So I picked this one up.

I relaxed on the sofa and there I stayed until I finished reading it. Read more
Published 4 months ago by read-along-with-Sue
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category