Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars19
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I've waxed so lyrical recently over Frommer's guides that I feel the need to say that I have no connection with them, and I have no financial or other interest in their success!
I'd have thought that there will be a rush on these London guides as we approach the Olympics because there will be people with time on their hands who do not want to spend their visit bumming around the dubious delights of the Stratford Olympic area which will be best avoided other than for events where you have tickets. This comment of mine will be out of date by mid-August, anyway; such fleeting a happening is the Olympics that this book wisely (or lazily) avoids it.
The mapping is excellent throughout, from the Underground map and overview of Central London in the front-cover foldout, to the detachable large strong map in its own pouch inside the back cover.
It's a workmanlike guide and invaluable for all to whom London is a confusing prospect, and it covers all that a tourist would reasonably seek. There's no real quirky information, and it is short on cheap eateries. I have an old Fodor's guide that beats it hands down on that stuff, and I notice elsewhere on Amazon that the up-to-date Fodor's guide is available both in print version and Kindle download. I'd still buy this Frommer's one too, though, because it has a lot of valuable information compressed into an easy-to-handle size, and the maps are terrific. Steve Riches, Northampton, UK.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 May 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Even though I was born and raised in London and know the City quite well I have to say i'm impressed by this book and can definitely recommend it.

The book itself is about the size of half a sheet of A4 paper so may not fit in a back pocket very well but would certainly go into a jacket pocket comfortably. It is pretty well made with a nice strong binding so the pages won't fall out and start to tear away the first time you open it.

The cover folds out into 3 and gives you a handy tube map plus a general London map and the back cover has a pop sealed plastic wallet inside with several other maps of particular areas.

The book itself is divided into sections of interest such as Nightlife, Restaurants, Arts/Theatre and lists various places under each category along with information like nearest tube and a short sentence or two description. As well as this there is also the tours sections which suggest routes or pre arranged tours to go on and give nice little tidbits of info.

Overall the whole thing is clear and well laid out with most of the information you would need to make the most of a visit to London and even though I only got it this weekend I have already made use of it by finding a good restaurant and comedy venue near where I was staying which made a big change to the fast food and couple of pints in the Hotel bar I would normally have settled for while in London.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 May 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Coming in at a very pocket friendly price and size (A6?) this Day By Day guide to London has 184 pages divided into 9 chapters. These are:

Best Full Day Tours
Best Special Interest Tours
Best Neighbourhood Walks
Best Shopping
Great Outdoors
Best Dining
Best Nightlife
Best Arts & Entertainment
Best Hotels

Each chapter contains a maps (38 in total!) of the areas and short, descriptive summaries of each topic plus a rating and contact details including the nearest tube station. Prices are also given and there are plenty of photos to break up the text.

The front cover folds out to allow it to be used as a page marker and has a good sized map of central London on its inside. Like all the pages in the guide, the cover seems to have been treated (lightly) to a protective sheen that should help keep stains at bay. The cover is quite thick too and seems fairly sturdy.

At the back is a plastic pocket containing a good sized, fold out map of London.

There is also a useful index and a final chapter - The Savvy Traveller - which is full of useful tips with headings such as Before You Go, Getting Around and London's Architecture.

All in all a very good, practical guide at a very fair price - 100% recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The idea of the guide is that it gives you an itinerary for up to 3 days in the capital. That's quite a good idea if you are just here for a short break. what's rather disappointing is that it is almost entirely about bog standard tourist London. The one noble exception is the pub crawl, which takes you round an interesting collection of central London boozers. it is so centred on central and west London it doesn't even mention the world heritage site at Greenwich, just 3 miles east of Tower Bridge (which does make it in!)

Not altogether accurate either - it has a section on architecture which tells us that the South Bank's Festival Hall is an example of brutalism - it certainly isn't. It talks of Norman churches and how rare they are in Britain - they aren't.

And finally there is a section on London languge. Don't even think of trying these phrases unless you want to sound like a Linguaphone course for Pearly Kings!

it comes with a handy pull out map of the centre to propel you round the standard tourist haunts. Maybe OK if you've never been and have just a couple to days to spend, but a better book would lead you to more interesting fare.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 May 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
London is a vast city with a great deal to see and do. Some go to London for a weekend, others for a few days or even longer. Either way there never seems enough time to see what you want to see. This is where this book comes in handy and as I have just returned from a four day trip to London I can honestly say this book was extremely useful.

First of all you are provided with maps, which for a city like London is precisely what you need. There is the Underground map and overview of Central London in the front-cover foldout, and finally the detachable large map in its own pouch inside the back cover which is strong and not flimsy.

The guide is broken down into several sections covering full day tours, walks, shopping, pubs, dining, hotels, arts & entertainment, etc. all of which contains the information you need: locations, opening hours and the like as well as some basic information about the area/location. This is all very useful but what is also important is the information it leaves out because it lets you discover the wonders London has to offer but gives you the framework to let you do that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
There is much to admire about these Frommer's guides. The maps are clear and well produced. The map inside the back cover is in a plastic pouch and can be taken out and unfolded before being returned to the pouch.

The guide pages are clearly presented with a good font on a clear background.

So presentation is a strong point. It really is very good.

Content does not quite match it because I think it tries to cover too much. A guide book of this length cannot really afford time to discuss hotels and restaurants in anything other than a fairly superficial fashion so it would be better if it stuck to sights and attractions. On those topics it is very good.

So if you have not been to London before, which I think is the target audience for this book, then I think you will find it of great help.

All in all the reservations about trying to cover too much are offset by the excellent presentation and very useful tourist info which combine to get this a four star rating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 September 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Such a helpful, handy but extremely thorough guide! This book made sure myself and my partner made the most of our weekend in the "big smoke"! You will be hard-pressed to find better!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
London day by day is a nice portable book.I love how the gallerias are mapped out showing what is on display on each floor.It is also colour coded showing the likes of the best full day tours, the best art and entertainment to the best hotels.Other little gems are the quick history of London and cockney rhyming slang.The only let down for me was the maps as a featured shop along to visit was not properly mapped.The main road disappeared of the map at the point marked and I could not find a continuation for the road I wanted.However all in all a good guide to London.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 May 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I love the enclosed map of London, which in fairness, is probably worth the price. Particularly with a visitor, wanting to have a sense of where Underground stations are situated.
I just don't get the sense to the "whole" in terms of experiencing London. A few "site-bites" isn't enough. Much better to get the many books that are available to actually enjoy the town, without making the visit to London almost a nonsense.There are only so many sights to see. I couple of hours wandering around is far better than trying to cram in too many sights.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
An engaging insight into London, offering a selection of the best of London. This guide is broken down into nine main sections. Full day tours, walks, shopping, pub crawls, dining, hotels, arts & entertainment are all covered. Not in depth, no full tour-guide in depth historical analysis, but then this is a Frommer's guide and they let YOU discover the delights but give you some structure to the discovery. The guide's small size means that the photos in the book are somewhat disappointing, but the information is good fayre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)