Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars77
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 22 December 2014
King Creosote aka Kenny Anderson, is an inspirational man and performer. He has released over forty albums and has a healthy disdain for both the music business and modern downloads and the like.

This album came out during the run up to the referendum on Scottish independence and comes across as both homage to Scotland both in terms of now and with respect to her heritage. Opener `Something to believe in' is just a beautiful love song with his haunting vocals, simple refrain and moving emotion. `Cargill' is a beautifully crafted postcard from the fishing days of Scotland all wrapped up in a love story and is amazing.

`Largs' takes us much more upbeat revisiting holidays from years gone by, with strings and boundless energy. Track 4 `Miserable Strangers' is another simple song that beguiles you and culminates with the simple refrain `At the back of my mind, I was just hoping I might just get by'. It is full of emotional revision and acceptance of your situation; I just can't get enough of it.

`For one night only' harks back to the days of the pay packet and saving for the sunny day that just might be round the corner. Kenny has got loads of friends to help on this including The Delgado's (I can never get enough of them either).

There is not a bad track on here it is an absolute gem which I have been listening to for months and it still puts a smile on my face. `One floor down' reminds me of early `Tindersticks', but it cuts out way too soon, and if that is the only criticism, then it is really a compliment. The penultimate track seems to be a call to fellow Scots to wake up and realise what you already have - that is a beautiful country - to be proud of. One of the best albums of 2014, just excellent.
22 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 21 July 2014
For those of a non-Scottish background don't be put off by the title. Yes the music was written for a documentary on Scotland's recent history but much of it is as relevant to the North of England as it is to the Clyde shipyards for example. To get a more in depth review I suggest you read Red on Black's excellent summation but I will disagree with him regarding the track Largs as it is basically a song about my own childhood and the childhood of innumerable other Scottish folk. This is Kenny's genius (I don't use the word lightly) - he describes real life with such perception coupled with such beautiful melodies that you are transported to another time, another place. Superb!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
Over the years King Creosote (aka Kenny Anderson) has been variously described in the national press as a “Scottish miserabilist” (the FT) –a highly unfair and limited summary of the rich range of emotions that King Creosote can evoke in his listeners, and as being in possession of a “pleasant baritone” (The Independent) – a vast understatement that does not do his voice anything like justice – he’s simply one of the best vocalists and (conveniently) lyricists I’ve ever heard. He is able to surround himself with other gifted colleagues and accompanists who support and showcase his talents admirably.
“From Scotland with Love” reflects these talents of musicianship and composition perfectly. It’s a fabulously produced and arranged set of pieces – more strings and more backing vocals than usual in a King Creosote recording perhaps, but that reflects the nature of this piece as the sound track to an otherwise silent film exploring the recent history of Scotland and the Scots http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b047lx52 .

It’s difficult to categorise this music, but of course it’s very Scottish and is firmly grounded in the folk tradition. But again that doesn’t do it full justice.

In fact the only way to do this music justice is to buy the CD and listen to it. So I recommend you do You won't regret it..
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The wonders that have flowed from the East Nuek musical community the Fence Collective, particularly King Creosote (Kenny Anderson) have been a quiet triumph. Anderson's 2011 album with Jon Hopkins entitled "Diamond Mine" was one of the best of that year and he has a fine pop sensibility, spry wit and melodic charm to spare.

"From Scotland with Love" sees King Creosote writing a record to accompany a documentary of archive footage released to coincide with Glasgow's Commonwealth Games, although the album has broader ambitions. Indeed, it is a kind of mini history of Scotland set to song or more precisely an attempt to capture national identity at a crucial point in the nations development. This is Anderson's most personal album to date and a labour of love. In every sense he has done his theme justice. From the haunting accordion opening of the gorgeous "Something to believe in" to the heart wrenching instrumental closer "Prairie Tale" this album emotionally grabs you by the throat and doesn't let go. Songs which standout on first listens include the glorious piano ballad "Cargill" a fisherman's love story with the immortal line alluding to "my heartstrings entangled in your net". There are echoes of "Diamond Mine" on the plaintive "Paupers Dough" a socialist plea for justice and a stirring call to fellow Scots "to rise above the gutter you are inside". This may be one for the Independence campaign? It is not all serious stuff with "Largs (Long) motoring on at pace although it is probably the weakest song on the album. Much better is the anthem like "For one night only" which does recall his Scottish compatriots Frightened Rabbit. The counterpoint to this is the sprightly "Bluebell Cockershell 123" based on one of those children's skipping songs and powered by handclaps and a lovely Anderson vocal.

As a partnership "From Scotland With Love" was created in collaboration with director Virginia Heath and Producer Grant Keir. They have done a sterling job especially on songs like the splendid "One floor down" and "Miserable Strangers" the very special tale of Scots emigres forced to leave their country in search of work. Whilst this album does not edge the brilliant "Diamond Mine" it is a very fine body of work full of woozy charm and particularly affecting songs.
1010 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
This is rapidly turning into a superb year for modern (dare I use those hackneyed terms 'left-field' or 'quirky') folk. First there was the new Harp and a Monkey album (even better than their debut!), then came the Pictish Trail compilation (sublime), and now this! Fantastic.
Like other reviewers on here, I too came to King Creosote rather late, having seen him a few years back at the Cloudspotting Festival in Lancashire. He was one of those musicians whose personality shone through his music, and he wasn't scared of playing with the boundaries - mixing things up with experimentalists The Earlies at one show.
This is quite a gentle record compared to others in his canon, but it remains both characterful and masterful with wonderful lyrics, haunting but often uplifting/bright melodies and some respectful string arrangements. I too feel it sits quite comfortably with his work with Jon Hopkins, but there is nothing wrong wit that. A great record. Score: 4.3/5
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
King Creosote is a national treasure. In my opinion this is one of the best albums releases this year and I would encourage you to buy the DVD to accompany the music. Great film of Scotland dealing with a number of themes such as labour, love, dancing, struggle of the working folk and migration.
Possibly Kenny Anderson's finest album and he has many excellent albums to chose from. Do yourself a favour and make the purchase. You will not be disappointed
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
One of the best musical discoveries of my life is Kenny Anderson. To my shame, as an old folkie, not really aware until the beautiful Diamond Mine, Mercury nominated record....now well and truly catching up, so many wonderful records by this genius and this one is right up there...it's beautiful...with "the film", for me, just perfect art. Now decided that I want to live in Fife and have Kenny as my best mate.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
Great new record from Kenny I have no doubt that Diamond Mine is fine record but I have always preferred the man on his own as find that is the best, I particularly love "They Flock Like Vulcans to See Old Juniper Eyes On His Home Craters" as it is a fine record all the way through. This is just a great album not one of these records made to be only accessible while watching the film it does stand alone very nicely ....keep up the good work mate
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
When an artist that I really enjoy brings out a new album I find I approach it with some trepidation, fearing that this one might be a let-down. Although I had watched the documentary shown on BBC to which this album was the mood music and enjoyed, still as a fan of King Creosote I had that worry that it would disappoint. It didn't. I think it is terrific, very varied and evocative of Scotland. There are beautiful, sad songs, political messages and memorable anthems.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
I watched the programme of the title on the TV and was haunted by the sound track , so much so that as soon as the programme finished I immediately ordered both DVD and CD. Of course I am Scottish and an exiled one at that, and affected by it more, but I am no Nationalist and do not view Scotland through rose coloured glasses. I had never previously heard of King Creosote. Watch the DVD and buy this CD.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£4.83
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)