Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars21
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2011
Firstly, I want to say I read a lot of books, especially e-books (over 150 in the last year) and so I reckon I can assess when something is worth the cost and this book isn't. It is a so-called trilogy which is actually one book split into 3 parts to maximise the income for the publisher/author. The first book is not good enough to make you want to buy the other two.

Frankly, whilst the plot is okay its not worth the total price you would pay for all 3 parts of the novel and I won't be buying 2 & 3 because if I wanted to spend that kind of money on a book I would pay for a well known author and get a thumping good read.

In fact I have had a lot of free books or 85p reads that have far exceeded this book in terms of readability and entertainment factor.

The content of the book itself is written okay but misses some excellent opportunities to expand the plot at various stages and get the reader involved.
22 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
Poor plotting is one of this books many problems.

Terrible grammar, spelling and punctuation just makes you even more aware of how weak the story is.

If you are looking for GOOD space opera, I'd recommend any of Jack Campbell's books in his Lost Fleet Universe.
Also, MR Forbes recent Starship Eternal is pretty good.
Starhold by J Alan Field is not a bad read.

This on the other hand is uninspiring drivel not worthy of your time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
The storyline was weak, the characters flat and the action drawn out over several pages when just 2 would have done.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
this, being the first of (3 so far, more to come) is a great find and great fun! I love the characters, especially Adam as the 'abducted by aliens' and his rescue into a completely different set of worlds where he is superior in many ways. This is a really interesting author and I don't believe I could be a bigger fan. His story, ideas, characters, settings are just great. I, personally, found this very entertaining (again, fun) ....... he then, thankfully, has written two more and is working on a 4th book in this series.
Well worth every penny. I was given some old A E Van Vogt and Fredick Pohl and several old sci fi books recently and Mr. Harris ranks right up there with them in his story telling. I bought this in the kindle deals on a whim and is already one of my favorite writers. I would pay more........
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
Okay, so this book looked interesting, so I decided to give it a try. It basically has a similar start to many Sci-Fi stories like Buck Rogers, or Farscape, in which a modern day character is thrust unwillingly into a sci-fi setting. What I like about it is that much of these events are viewed from the point of view of the aliens. This feels quite fresh as we read about this mysterious 'alien'.

Another thing that's interesting is the concept that humans are superior to the aliens in most ways. It's almost a reverse Superman (though Adam is no way near as powerful).

There are some well done comedic moments, like when the aliens' translator translates planet Earth to planet Dirt, as well as a few colourful insults that the aliens struggle to work out.

One of the best parts of the book though is something that's not fully realised, but I hope will be fleshed out in future books is the relationship between Adam and Riyad. Being political enemies on Earth, they are now thrust into this unfamiliar environment and both are trying to get home, though for different reasons. It's a 'put your differences aside' kind of thing, and Harris does a good job of writing from both POVs and doesn't fall into the trap of Riyad being 'evil' just because America went to war against his country.

There are a few things I didn't like however. While the world is detailed and has a large background, we have far too many info dumps of stuff we don't really need to know, like the inner workings of ships, or some of the histories. Also, with the over enthusiastic blurb, and the repetition of the Vitruvian Man for each chapter heading, I feel Harris is trying too hard. The writing itself could do with a bit of work, but I've certainly read worse, and bad writing can only detract from a story if you are unable to know what's going on, so here, he succeeds.

All in all, a decent book. I've bought the rest in the series, and am looking forward to reading them all.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2012
I came across this by book by accident and took a chance. It's a brilliant sci-fi yarn, I really enjoyed Fringe Worlds and the good news is that the next two instalments are even better. The pace is fast moving and easy to read. Love the characters too, especially Riyad the ex-Taliban space pirate! I seriously can't wait cant until the 4th book in the series is released. Highly recommended and well worth the cost.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
when this book is free on the American Kindle, and is only 187 pages long.
It is well over priced. I have to say Do Not Buy, unless it is FREE.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
Enjoyable read, some cute and interesting ideas though it could use an edit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
Well writen, looking forward to reading more of TR Harris
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
Magnificent story with a tip of the hat to abduction stories this action novel explains one of the possible reasons for aliens to be interested in us. A lone human escaped from a shipload of abductees is stranded on the other side of the galaxy and off we go on a comical, action filled, dramatic journey. I might buy the rest of the series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse