Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Frank Miller's Sin City Volume 4: That Yellow Bastard 3rd Edition: That Yellow Bastard Bk. 4
 
 

Frank Miller's Sin City Volume 4: That Yellow Bastard 3rd Edition: That Yellow Bastard Bk. 4 [Kindle Edition]

Frank Miller
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £15.99
Kindle Price: £6.71 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £9.28 (58%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £6.71  
Hardcover £16.21  
Paperback £11.19  
Kindle Summer Sale: Over 500 Books from £0.99
Have you seen the Kindle Summer Sale yet? Browse selected books from popular authors and debut novelists, including new releases and bestsellers. Learn more

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Purchase any Kindle Book sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive £1 credit to try out our Digital Music Store. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)


Product Description

Review

"...it's no understatement to say that he (Miller) has shaped the current wave of big-budget franchise moview more than anyone." -- The Guardian May 27th 2005

"If you're going to read just one Sin City book, That Yellow Bastard is a great choice to make." -- icomics.com reviews 15 March 2005

"In the world of comics, Miller is regarded as the very best working today..." -- The Times Magazine, 21 May 2005

"Why go and see the film? Because..there's nothing wrong with a revisit when the material's this good." -- Comics International, March 2005, Issue 182

Product Description

Frank Miller changes the game in the fourth volume of his signature crime series, introducing the only truly heroic figure in Sin City's world of vice, Detective Hartigan. A highlight of the series, and the inspiration for one of the segments of the blockbuster Sin City film, That Yellow Bastard returns in a newly redesigned edition, with a brand-new cover by Miller-some of his first comics art in years! The worst thing to be in Basin City is an honest cop, but it's Hartigan's last day on the job, and he plans to go out with a bang. Little Nancy Callahan, age eleven, has been kidnapped by a psycho who likes to hear children scream, and Hartigan's going to find her no matter what it takes. No matter who the psycho's daddy is. All the prison time in the world won't change that. Hell of a way to start retirement . . . With a new look generating more excitement than ever before, this third edition is the perfect way to attract a whole new generation of readers to Frank Miller's masterpiece! * Over a million Sin City books in print! * New cover by Frank Miller! * With Miller and codirector Robert Rodriguez gearing up for Sin City 2, this third edition is being released at just the right time! * That Yellow Bastard was one of the stories in the Sin City film, starring Bruce Willis as Hartigan and Jessica Alba as Nancy!

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 94903 KB
  • Print Length: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Dark Horse Books; 3rd edition edition (2 Nov 2010)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00A7H2ODM
  • Text-to-Speech: Not enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #71,679 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Story 4.5 stars, format 3 stars 12 Jan 2014
By Johan
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is absolutely one of the best story arcs of Sin City. Hartigan fits perfectly into this universe of Miller's noir. The paperback format, however, I find to be on the small side for this beautiful piece of art. Unfortunately, the price tag on a bigger collected version of this story is out of my price range.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
Detective John Hartigan is only hours away from retirement but Nancy Callahan, age 11, is moments away from death. In the hands of a ruthless connected serial killer and rapist Nancy will suffer unmentionable ordeals. John Hartigan must raise his 38 cannon and ignor his failing health to save little Nancy, even at the expense of his dignity and his life.
This cleverly written and exquisitely illustrated tale pulled from the dark gritty bounds of Frank Miller's Sin City series will rock you.John Hartigan is not your typical cop and his devotion to the protection of Nancy from the cruel menace that wishes to defile her spans eight years. Miller has created a superior character in Hartigan and molded a believable plot exploring the idiosyncratic mind of a killer and the devotion of an aging man whose body is no match for his adversary. Put away your preconceptions about the "comic book" medium and prepare to be flattened. In the tradition of "Pulp Fiction" and "Silence of the Lambs" "That Yellow Bastard" is praiseworthy celebration of human ability that is illustrated with maturity and candor.
-Brian Franklin
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrill a minute 6 Feb 2007
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
What can I say - brilliant.

I chose to review this one and not the others as

a) people who read the series will suspect review the first one only, and

b) this is is my favourite of them all (personally)

Buy all of these books, 1-7, they are all truly great stories. Some people have knocked the graphical style of these books - to me, they are one of the high points - they has a superb style all of their own. Millers dialogue, jokes, slang and story are all superb - great film noir, and add in his sound effects (SPAK! HEFF!) and he really has made this series unique Miller.

Finally, I'm not a fan of comparisons with films - usually graphic novels are changed dramatically (often for the worse) in the movies. Sin City is different. I thought it was a cracking film and is incredibly faithful to the books (although in differing order). Therefore, for once I can say, if you liked the film you'll love the book, as opposed to if you hated the film dont be put off by the book.

Cinematic, thrill a minute series.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not The Best....... 19 July 2000
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
That Yellow Bastard....does exactly what it says on the cover. That is, he's yellow, and my, what a bastard he is! In typical Sin City stylee, this is a tale of revenge and redemption. The main character, Hartigan is every bit as lovable as Marv, and the other regulars, but the story does not twist and turn as the previous episodes do. It all seems like a very long-winded way of telling a short, but heart rendering story of what is basically boy-meets-girl, boy-loses-girl, boy goes crazy-ape-bonkers and kills everyone. This has already been done by the solo Miller in the eponymous debut and 'The Big Fat Kill'. Still this series has got legs, and if anyone can keep it going it is King Frank.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow. 17 Jan 1998
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
Frank Miller takes us back to the world of Sin City with a bang. This book is a perfect example of Miller's uncanny ability to turn the most common everyday people into modern-day tragic heroes. Hartigan's story is a change from Mr. Miller's "criminal-with-a-heart-of-gold" tales of earlier Sin City volumes. Also, this is his first (and best) use of color in the Sin City series. Needless to say, this book is a non-stop gripper from start to finish that everyone, comic fans or not, should have on their bookshelf.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it 28 Feb 2011
By lordork
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
i have been reading through all the sin city comics and this one is as good as the rest. the images and the story line are great. i have no complaints only praise for frank millers work. would recommend to any graphic novel fan
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars great book but...
when i first got this graphic novel i was extremely excited as ive loved the others , but when i opened the first page all of the font and picture was blurred and this continued... Read more
Published on 31 Oct 2011 by FinnMcHarrie
5.0 out of 5 stars What it said on the tin
Item was as described and in better condition that i thought it would be, would never have known this was second hand. Read more
Published on 17 Jan 2011 by Monleish
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best in the series....
That Yellow Bastard is the fourth installment of Sin City, the noir epic of Frank Miller.

An absolute classic this one, with one of the nastiest villains ever, Junior! Read more
Published on 23 April 2008 by grr
5.0 out of 5 stars Hartigan saves little Nancy Callahan in Miller's comic noir
Although I still have a preference for Marv and narrative of "The Hard Goodbye," the first of Frank Miller's "Sin City" graphic novels, I think that artistically he hits full... Read more
Published on 6 Jun 2005 by Lawrance M. Bernabo
5.0 out of 5 stars Miller writes his way into the comic-book hall of fame
Frank Miller is one of the greatest writers of comic book literature to date. With a tone that can be likened to Raymond Chandler in a bad mood, Miller's style is lean and very... Read more
Published on 16 Feb 2001 by A. Robinson
5.0 out of 5 stars THAT YELLOW BASTARD IS ONE HELL OF A READ
It's very simple to sum up this book and the rest of the Sin City collection: genius. Frank Miller is the greatest comic book writer in artist of our time, he has taken... Read more
Published on 22 Oct 1998
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category