Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars35
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2010
This well presented book gives an astonishing insight into the real woman behind the "legend", allowing Marilyn to make the transition from "wallposter icon" to real human being through her own writing, poems and jottings. It is a book aimed at those who are genuinely seeking a real insight into this intriguing, complex, intelligent, divinely beautiful and gifted individual who suffered so much for her art. Only recommended for serious Marilyn scholars and those who wish to glimpse the warm, vulnerable and uniquely talented individual behind the myth.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2011
Managed to read this book in a couple of hours. The many notes and letters written by Marilyn show us a determined but insecure woman. I bought this book expecting to learn more about her a.k.a geting more gossip about her life - thankfully, it doesn't do this. Instead, it gives us a personal insight into her thoughts and interests. I would definitely reccommend it if you want to see the real Marilyn and not just the story of her life. Its a beautiful and simple read...very happy with my buy!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
This is one of those books that every Marilyn fan must have on their bookshelf. Comprised of various notes, poems and thoughts from Marilyn herself (with the actual pieces printed within the book) this book allows readers an insight into the mind of Marilyn Monroe. It is incredibly personal but tastefully done and allows us to see the real Marilyn. This is not a book filled with gossip and stories but writings by the woman herself. The book is beautifully presented and lovingly put together by Comment and Buchthal. If you are a Marilyn fan you won't be disappointed!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2011
A good book for any Marilyn lover an insight to her inner most feelings in her own handwriting! with some lovely photos sad and moving.
A very good price to the cheapest i found.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
Her public persona was that of the blonde bombshell Hollywood star. She was married to the great Yankee baseball star Joe Dimaggio and famed play write Arthur Miller. She appeared to have lived a life most could only dream of, but behind the public persona was a tortured soul. This books brings to light fragments of Marilyn's diaries, letters and poems that have never been published along with some rare photographs that provide a unique look into Marilyn's private thoughts and psyche. I was skeptical that this book would be anything more than an attempt to capitalize on Marilyn's legend with a few scraps of her writings. I was wrong there is much of interest here, and perhaps some added layers of mystery to the ending of her life. This book should be interest to all fans of Marilyn Monroe.

I also have to recommend "Marilyn, August 1953: The Lost LOOK Photos (Calla Editions)" for an amazing collecting of never before published, candid photographs of Marilyn at the height of her career; and "Misfits Country" for a look behind the scenes of the making of her final Film.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2011
Almost like ur sitting with her in her private moments -but in a non intrusive way- you almost wish you could tell her it's alright after reading some of the notes where she pours out her insecurities. Amzing book to add to your collection if you enjoy and love Marilyn.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2010
I've read many books on Marilyn Monroe over the last 25 years, but Fragments has come along after all this time and put most of them in the shade. Mainly because these are Marilyn's own words, not speculation, and she was a sensitive, witty observer of her own life. Obviously these were private musings and some may think they should not have been published at all. But perhaps with an iconic figure like Monroe, who has become almost a symbol of fantasy, reading her side of the story can bring us a little closer to the real, intelligent woman behind the myth. The title, 'Fragments', is very apt and this is not an autobiography - more like a lovely, poetic puzzle that you can return to again and again. In many ways it goes deeper than any memoir and yet also keeps her mystery alive.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2011
The title of this book is accurate. I was hoping it would be a little more telling. However in fairness I guess that you cant magic up what isnt there. The fragments that were found are all in here and so we cant expect anything more from the authors.
It is a fascinating read - especially some of the letters and entries by Marilyn regarding herself and her experiences. These do shatter some of the things written about her by previous authors which in itself makes the book priceless.
The contents are scanty and confusing and are spread here and there which kind of makes you feel like you are missing something - and indeed we are but only time will tell if any more documents and facts come to light.
If you are a Marilyn Monroe collector this book is a must have - there's no getting around it.
I recommend it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2011
As an avid fan of Marilyn's, I have collected many books about her but I have to say this is my favourite. It gives the reader an insight into the real Marilyn, we can see aspects of her personality that perhaps wouldn't have been previously expected, through her musings and snippets. This book reveals Marilyn as the sensitive, eager to please, intelligent individual that she truly was and I would definitely recommend.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
A very detailed book, with very helpful notes and very easy to read. Marilyn' s handwriting was not easy to read, so next to the original notes, letters, etc, one can find the printed ones with extreme respect to the original text. One can see what was written with pen, or with pencil, or if there are corrected words. An excellent book, for an excellent lady.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)