Start reading Fracture on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books even without a Kindle device-with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones and tablets.
Fracture
 
 

Fracture [Kindle Edition]

Megan Miranda
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (73 customer reviews)

Print List Price: 6.03
Kindle Price: 1.54 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: 4.49 (74%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 1.54  
Hardcover --  
Paperback 5.95  
Unknown Binding --  
Audio Download, Unabridged 13.55 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.
Amazon Family members enjoy 20% off every delivery of nappies. Join today to get your discount, as well as a free trial of Amazon Prime and access to exclusive offers and discounts.


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Review

One of the best YA thrillers I've ever read (Praise for FRACTURE, Wondrous Reads)

Brilliantly written, I was gripped and absorbed by every single second of the story. It's quite literally one of the best debuts I have ever read (Praise for FRACTURE, A Dream of Books)

A stunning debut. I'm definitely going to check out whatever Megan Miranda writes next! (Praise for FRACTURE, I Want to Read That)

Fracture took me totally by surprise. It was emotional, powerful and it left me reeling (The Book Addicted Girl)

Fracture is a gripping read full of heart in mouth moments, mystery, action and romance . . . It's hard to believe that this is Megan Miranda's debut and I can't wait to see what she writes next - if it's half as good as Fracture then it's sure to be impressive! (Feeling Fictional)

Book Description

A breathtaking story of complicated friendships, twisted love and the fine line between life and death. The perfect thrill for fans of Sophie McKenzie and Cat Clarke

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 525 KB
  • Print Length: 289 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1408846160
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens; 1 edition (25 Dec 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S. r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B006RHB3P6
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (73 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #56,468 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful début 6 Jan 2012
By carly
Format:Paperback
Fracture is Megan Miranda's début novel, it is truly a wonderful read and I devoured it very quickly.

Delaney is the main character in the book, she is just a regular down to earth teenager, who is secretly in love with her best friend. The story starts off with Delaney falling through a frozen lake near her house. Best friend Decker rescues her with the help of their friends. Eleven minutes Delaney was under the water, she should be dead.

She wakes in the hospital for coma, doctors are amazed and immediately start running brain scans. The brain scans do not come back normal, but doctors cannot believe Delaney doesn't suffer from some symptoms like memory loss, speech problems, thing like that, she is a medical miracle.

Strange occurrences start happening, Delaney feels a pull in her body, an itching, leading her to the dying. Thing is she doesn't know if she is drawn to the dying or she is causing the deaths.

Delaney meets Troy, who is an older guy, and seems to get Delaney. He suffers from the same bone chilling gift as Delaney and the two of them seem to be linked to each other. Troy is not how he seems, he has a sinister side. Delaney finds finds him in the assisted living centre where he works, aiding an old lady along with her own death. Everything come into sharp focus for Delaney, she knows she needs to stay away from Troy, she knows what he is doing is wrong, but he pursues and frightens her.

When Delaney senses the death of someone she knows, she realises her gift is more of a curse.

Delaney drifts apart from Decker and the rest of her friends. Her mum is distant and just wants to force pills down her throat, to make things go back to normal.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not completely sure about this book 7 Jun 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
Fracture puzzles me, for a number of different reasons. Firstly, the storyline is interesting and unique, and the idea of a girl who has had a near-death experience and is now drawn to the dying and dead is something not seen a lot. The descriptions, particularly of the hospital and the dying patients, are clever and intriguing, and the book does carry a sense of 'what happens next' throughout. The book does excel in its cliffhangers and elaborate, spontaneous ideas.

However, the book failed to touch my heart or make me feel for any of the characters. This is plainly because none of the characters have any personality - they are all simple and predictable, and none of them seem to feel or convey human emotions at all, like fear and anger - and if they do, we are certainly not told. By the end of the book, I was still not clear on who Delaney really was, and if she was quiet, confident, fearless, generous or introverted. I think it's important to be able to relate to the characters in a book, but it wasn't possible in Fracture.

Also, there are several unexplained loose ends. For example, halfway through, when Delaney visits the hospital, she sees a grey, extra-terrestrial-looking, dying person. This was a really interesting description and I wanted to know what happened to this person, and what was wrong with them - but no more was said about them; they were simply forgotten. Sick people in the hospital are also continuously described, but after that, they are forgotten and left. If you are going to create a sick, fascinating character, you could at least explain what is wrong with them, or say who they are.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fracture 15 Jan 2012
Format:Paperback
I have so much love for this incredible debut novel! This was an outstanding read from an exciting new author who is definitely one to watch. She literally blew me away with this captivating title which I adored from start to finish. As soon as I'd finished then I wanted to start reading it all over again. It's difficult to really put into words how much I enjoyed this book and how immersed I became in the story but suffice it to say, 'Fracture' already has a permanent place in my list of favourite reads for 2012.

Delaney's life changes after she falls into a frozen lake. Trapped underwater for eleven endless minutes her heart stops and she's declared dead but then miraculously starts breathing again after being pulled from the ice. But Delaney has changed and she isn't the same person she used to be. She can't make sense of what she's feeling but she finds herself mysteriously drawn to the dead and dying.

Central to the book is the bond between Delaney and her childhood friend and neighbour Decker. I loved their friendship and although they both won't admit to their real feelings for each other, you can tell that these are two people who are destined to be together. They complete each other perfectly. I adored Decker who is the gorgeous boy next door type and who is sensitive and caring inside. I wish I could just pluck him out of the pages of the book and conjure him up right in front of me! As much as I fell in love with Decker, I seriously disliked Troy who Delaney meets after her accident. He's an ominous presence in the book and actually pretty creepy and sinister. He's the complete opposite of Decker and seems to be the bad to Decker's good.

I loved Delaney who narrates the story from a first person perspective.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars Fractured my heart just a little!
"And as I drove, I felt random pulls. Faintly left. Faintly right. Behind. Ahead. I couldn't escape it. Death was everywhere. Read more
Published 5 days ago by Emily
3.0 out of 5 stars ok read
The story is ok. I just thought it lacked layers. You want more happening and it's just this teenager thinking and overthinking everything.
Published 19 days ago by S. M. Renard
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping
A page turner which kept me on edge to the end. I was hoping it wouldn't just fizzle out, but it didn't. Read more
Published 3 months ago by Book chatter
4.0 out of 5 stars amazing mix of paranormal, romance, death and bereavement
The first thing I have to say regarding this book is that it is something completely different in Young Adult fiction. Read more
Published 5 months ago by Book Angel Emma
4.0 out of 5 stars Book review
This is a really good book but it had some parts that did not make sense or was a little silly.
Published 5 months ago by Katie Bailey
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Special
The main character is a 17 year old Maine High School student who suffers an accident just before the Christmas holidays. After the accident she has a special power. Read more
Published 5 months ago by J. Lock
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing read
This was such an interesting read, I don’t know that I could put a label onto it – it fits into so many different categories. Read more
Published 9 months ago by Jenni (Juniper's Jungle)
5.0 out of 5 stars loved this book!
Loved this book! Couldn't wait to get tithe end to see what happened! Read this in a day - highly recommend.
Published 11 months ago by Emmaw
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good
So it took me all of about 12 hours on and off reading to finish this. I loved it, and it went everywhere with me for that day, although I felt the plot was really quite mundane... Read more
Published 11 months ago by KathyB
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed it.
this book arrived quickly and well packaged and in great condition. Loved this story supernatural twist, but in your face werewolfs and vamps etc, really good, creapy book. Read more
Published 11 months ago by Andie
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


ARRAY(0xa92c29c0)