Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

Tell the Publisher!
I’d like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Four Plays: Summer and Smoke/Orpheus Descending/Suddenly Last Summer/Period of Adjustment [Mass Market Paperback]

Tennessee Williams
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Amazon Price New from Used from
Mass Market Paperback --  
Unknown Binding --  

Product details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 127 pages
  • Publisher: Signet Classics (30 Nov 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0451529146
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451529145
  • Product Dimensions: 17.6 x 10.8 x 2.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 740,848 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Book by Williams Tennessee

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
Before the curtain rises a band is heard playing a patriotic anthem, punctuated with the crackle or fireworks. Read the first page
Explore More
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

5 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading! 19 Sep 2009
Format:Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
I think that Summer and Smoke and Orpheus Descending are two of Tennessee Williams' best theatre plays. The characters seem real, nothing in them is conventional, nor out of tune. The same is true about the situations.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four plays 16 Oct 2010
By Diddle
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Purchased for GCSE studys. the school supplied own copies but bought own so as my daughter could make notes in the relevent pages.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars  2 reviews
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value - Portrait of a Playwright at the Height of his Powers 20 Oct 2010
By Stephen Dedalus - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Although I do not share the opinion that the quality of Tennessee Williams' plays suffered greatly after 1961's NIGHT OF THE IGUANA, it is true that his work lost favor with the public as he began to abandon conventional narratives in favor of more experimental and absurdist forms, as opposed to the expressionism and Southern Gothic melodrama that first put him on the map with THE GLASS MENAGERIE and A STREETCAR NAMED DESIRE in the mid-1940s. This collection from Signet Classics brings together four plays from this decade-and-a-half "golden era" in Williams' career, a period that most would call his best and all would agree was his most successful critically and financially.

SUMMER AND SMOKE (1948) is the first play and it comes on the heels of the massive successes of MENAGERIE and STREETCAR. As a result, it is a work that continues in this expressionistic vein, with careful and detailed production notes recalling the former and the sexual angst and human drama of its characters quoting the latter. ORPHEUS DESCENDING (1957) is a remarkably effective reworking of an earlier apprentice play, and it updates the Greek myth within a rural Southern backdrop. In my opinion, it is not only the best play in this collection but one of the playwright's five best works in his entire canon. Next up, and almost just as good, is SUDDENLY, LAST SUMMER (1958), a tremendous psycho-drama that features a climactic monologue that is among the most gripping and nightmarish in American drama. The only real misstep in this collection is PERIOD OF ADJUSTMENT (1960), a shamelessly commercial romantic comedy... it is quite inconsequential.

Despite my indifference to the final play of this collection, the value of this small paperback is indisputable. There is more to Tennessee Williams than STREETCAR and MENAGERIE. While his later plays are less accessible (but quite underrated!), this collection is a great and inexpensive way to introduce yourself to more of this fascinating playwright's work. ORPHEUS and SUDDENLY, LAST SUMMER, in particular, are essential.
5.0 out of 5 stars Tennessee's other great plays 23 Jun 2014
By Peg D. - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
As a playwright, you can learn how to craft reading these memorable works by Tennessee. Forget the movies ... the plays really tell the story!
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category