Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars109
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2006
Considering the fact that this type of movie doesn't usually appeal to me, it was especially pleasing to leave the cinema feeling totally satisfied following this rollercoaster ride of a movie. As soon as the credits were rolling, I was promising myself the DVD.
I won't go into huge detail, but the 'heroes' if you will, led by the fantastic Mark Wahlberg, are the perfect characters for this film - an excellent blend of no-nonsense toughness, blunt humour and raw emotion.
The film mixes amazing fight scenes with both comedy moments and heart-wrenching scenes, and at times Four Brothers is genuinely shocking. This isn't only thanks to the brutality with which victims are dealt with in this gangster-type flick, but with surprising and sometimes desperately sad plot twists.
The film ends perfectly, and it's not often a movie of this nature leaves me with a warm glow inside. But the perfect combination of violence, emotion and humour in Four Brothers leads to an engrossing and highly enjoyable experience.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2006
This film is absolutely amazing you really feel like you are a part of this thrown together family and their struggle to avenge the murder of their foster mother. Each brother has their own individual qualities and brings thier own personality to the table, but they are all united in their goal to repay the woman who saved their childhood and offered them love. This is a film about the bonds that tie and the repaying of a debt that can never be fullfilled, i cried and laughed with these brothers - a real joy to own - watch it now!!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2006
This is an excellent film, with a group of brothers taking revenge for the death of their mother. The plot is very good and very realistic. My husband and son both enjoyed and would recommend it to anyone who likes action movies.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2006
God know's what film the previous reviewer watched cos i personally thought this film was well made,well planned a good action movie all around.Going into the film you should know through the directer's previous work JOHN SINGLETON (BOYZ IN THE HOOD,BABYBOY 2FAST2FURIOUS) what sort of film you are gonna get,Fair enough i might be a bit biast cos i am a big fan of TYRESE(who is turning into a fine actor)and MARK WALBERG(who is very underated).Sometimes there is nothing better then a good revenge movie with a well thought of cast, even ANDRE 3000 puts in another good performance so early on in his acting career.I wont give to much away but if u like FAST CARS,FIGHTING SCENES,LOT'S OF SHOOT-OUTS,TOUGH GUY ACTING FROM A GOOD CAST,AND MOST IMPORTANTLY REVENGE, you wont go wrong watching this film.Rent it or buy it trust me im buying it after seeing it at the cinema.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2006
If you like a gritty drama immersed in action then this is the film for you. Four adopted brothers show that the bonds of brotherhood are much stronger than those of blood as they take vengeance on those who killed their mother. An urban western set in Detroit creates a desolate backdrop for adrenalin-pumped car chases and sophisticated shoot-outs. Not just your average action movie from director John Singleton (e.g. 2Fast 2Furious) the powerful performances from Mark Wahlberg, Tyrese Gibson, Andre Benjamin and Garrett Hedlund will guarantee to get you emotionally involved, hoping that the brothers will reap the revenge they set out for.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
I absolutely loved this film, I wasn't sure I would do when readying about it, but I saw a trailer and it looked good so thought I would watch it and give it a go.

The story centres around three brothers that return home for their mother's funeral, where they reunite with the fourth. While making arrangements after her death, the boys learn she may have been murdered. They decide it's up to them to solve the mystery behind her death and get revenge.

The good thing is each of the boys is different, they have a different character, they are not brothers in the real sense of having the same parents, they are adoptive brothers, so having different upbringings gives this film a real gritty edge, and combining that with the murder of the person that they loved, that bought them up that cared for them, keeps you on the edge of your seat following the story closely.

I would say the film itself is more a modern day gangster/crime based film, there are lots of plot twists, a lot of action and there is no way you could not be enthralled watching the movie. Gruesome and violent at times, but the film needs that for it to make sense. The plot isn't the strongest, but with the action, the family, the relationships that more than makes up for a slightly weak plot.

Four Brothers show that a bond is stronger than anything and that getting revenge on your mother's killer isn't always going to work in a way they expected.

The way the four brothers work together Bobby (Mark Wahlberg), Angel (Tyrese Gibson), Jeremiah (André Benjamin) and Jack (Garrett Hedlund) is great, you have the baby of the group, the wannabe rockstar Jack who has struggled his whole life. Bobby is the eldest, the more screwed up, the one that seems to have the most to hide and doesn't want the world to know him. Jeremiah is the settled one, the business men the one with a family, maybe the one with the most to hide? then you have Angel the strongest of them all, the one in trouble with the law, the one you wonder about a lot. So many contrasts, so many things to follow, so interesting all the way through.

A dark thriller, well worth watching even if you don't like this type of movie, its a fast action packed film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 September 2013
Albeit certainly not a masterpiece, this is a very watchable film mixing criminal mystery with some social drama. Below, more of my impressions with some SPOILERS.

Years ago, Evelyn Mercer, a single white woman from Detroit (and a real saint according to everybody who knew her), adopted four of the most difficult orphaned boys living in a foster care center in her neighborhood - two white and two black. She raised them, then, once grown up, they went their separate ways. But after their adoptive mother was killed in what seems a banal stupid robbery which went horribly wrong, her boys are back home. And once the funeral is over, they start asking questions. And then the film really begins...

The greatest quality of this film resides in the interactions between the four brothers: Bobby (Mark Wahlberg), Angel (Tyrese Gibson), Jeremiah (André Benjamin) and Jack (Garrett Hedlund). Bobby, the oldest, the meanest and the most violent is a somehow shady character, who did time for some quite serious felony. Angel, the strongest of them, also was in some trouble with the law, but before doing anything really serious he joined the Army and seems to have turned his life around. Jeremiah is a serious businessman, married with children. Finally Jack, the youngest and the most frail of them, who may or may not be homosexual, tries very hard to become a rock star - for the moment without success... A fifth person moves in with them soon after, Angel's old flame Sofi, better known as "La vida loca", played wondefully by Sofia Vergara. This character brings some humoristic element into this film, as Sofi is very much into threesomes, involving her, Angel and a washing machine...))) Finally there is the disturbing character of Victor Sweet, a rising star in Detroit's underworld, played magistrally by Chiwetel Ejiofor.

I am not certain if director John Singleton (known best for his groundbreaking "Boyz'n the hood") was inspired by the old western classic "The sons of Katie Elder" - but for me this film looked very similar to this oldie but goldie. Indeed both films tell the story of four brothers who come to bury their mother, just to discover that her death was probably not so accidental as it seemed and also Bobby and Angel seem to some extent be the equivalents of John Wayne's and Dean Martin's characters. There are also some other similarities, but you will have to discover them by yourself.

There are some elements in this film which I think were also inspired, at least a little, by the outstanding "The Wire" TV series, especially in the description of the criminal underworld of Detroit. This certainly gave this film more atmosphere...

The ending is good and strong and rather surprising - and I didn't see it coming at all...

So all in all, this is a solid, honest film, very watchable indeed. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
A saintly older lady makes a determined effort to place children from broken families with adoptive parents in the economically distressed Detroit neighbourhoods. Over time, the most difficult children are refused by anyone, so she takes on the additional task of adopting them herself.While many of the children she has placed go on to normal, full lives (e.g. the good cop in this film) the 4 irreducibles remain on the fringes.
Late one Winter evening she is shot dead in a robbery of the local store.
She is buried with great sadness from many, and the 4 unplaceables return for the funeral.
They live in her old house while they settle her affairs, and re-connect through their memories of her. They become curious about the circumstances of her death, and go to the store, where the helpful owner shows them the security tape of this terrible deed.While they watch in shock and horror, they also notice some illogical elements in this robbery.Given they have all been in trouble many times with the law, they can see that what the police have written off as collateral damage in a robbery, is not at all the case.Their mother was specifically executed-she was the target, not the cash.
From here, we are taken on a rollercoaster ride, as the brothers start their own investigation, through the layers of Detroit officialdom.Corruption in high places; crime lords out for a piece of the Govt funding available to the city;council employees on the take; a corrupt cop......until what really happened is revealed. Through all this, the 4 brothers grow closer together and work as a team, relying on each other for survival in this increasingly hostile and deadly pursuit.
The film is very violent, be warned.
But the story is very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2006
I saw this film a few times at the cinema. I found it to be really good. The action sequences were really good and the acting was good as well. The storyline was not basic so you didn't know what was going to happen exactly.
I will happily recommend this movie to anyone. If you enjoy films like Snatch, Lock Stock, Layer Cake, then you will enjoy this film.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 September 2006
Mark Wahlberg is the king of the modern B-movie, isn't he? a likable enough actor specialising in blue-collar underdogs, time and time again he appears in underachieving films which just fail to be anything more than merely watchable: Budget seems irrelevant - from 'Planet Of The Apes' to this one, he's the Emperor of 'Alright I s'pose':

Four Brothers has some good qualities, but aspires to more than it is capable of delivering: It's beautifully shot in a harsh Detroit wintertime, and wishes for a gritty, downbeat realism: However, the ludicrous plot - especially the fact that the four protagonists seem to be able to kill and torture at will around Detroit with the police either turning a blind eye or, eventually, colluding in the mayhem, together with a cartoonishly cliched collection of supporting characters -robs it of any credibility.

As a soul lover, I found the soundtrack especially galling: A lovely selection of Detroit music from the late 60s and early 70s, it has almost no connection whatsoever with what's happening on screen, and appears to be bolted on to give the film an air of Tarantinoesque cool. Doesn't work in this case.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)