Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars10
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£14.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 August 2013
An eye-opening account of all the times our borders have been breached. Surprising and informative. Good for all the history nuts looking for a different slant on our country's history.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
Typical of Hernon's work, this book combines Hernon's smooth journalistic prose with a unique and substantive grasp of history. Highly recommend!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
This is an expertly crafted journey through Britain's invasions, many of which have been forgotten. Hernon brings a reporter's eye to the events which have shaped our island which makes this book a very accessible read. It's packed full with great information that you never realised you were ignorant of ( for example, we once had a French king called Louis. He booted out King John) . This book is a well written gem which will leave you marvelling at the resilience of this little island.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
Really enjoyed this. It was particularly interesting to read about events in an area I know well which does not usually feature in the history books, to picture events against landmarks I know and see names which are still current locally. It is also well and clearly written.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
Think no one has invaded this country since the Normans and at least they weren't really French? Then think again with this hugely entertaining and informative read. Discover, for instance, why the handover to William and Mary went as smoothly as it did. Recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed this read. Loved the way it was written and found it refreshing compared to other books on history. Schools should use this to engage children and show them that history really can be interesting!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
This was bought as a present for me as I am into my history. I found it a thoroughly interesting read and would recommend it to anyone. A fascinating account that is superbly written
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
Fortress Britain is an extremely fascinating read into the hisory of attacks on our own shores. A very detailed and well written book that is a must for all historians out there.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
Not a flowing read as the text appears to be informative and historical bullet points just strung together to form descriptive paragraphs.
Quite disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
Lots of interesting material and excellent writing. An enjoyable and informative read - a real page turner. Would most definitely recommend.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.