Footsteps on the Shore (An Andy Horton Mystery) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
£4.28
  • RRP: £20.99
  • You Save: £16.71 (80%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Footsteps on the Shore (A... has been added to your Basket
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Footsteps on the Shore (An Andy Horton Mystery) Hardcover – Large Print, 28 Mar 2013


See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover, Large Print
"Please retry"
£4.28
£4.28 £16.13
--This text refers to the Paperback edition.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Severn House Large Print Books; Large type edition edition (28 Mar 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0727899813
  • ISBN-13: 978-0727899811
  • Product Dimensions: 14.9 x 2.6 x 21.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 4,364,213 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

British crime writer, Pauline Rowson, author of the DI Andy Horton crime series, has been hailed as "redefining the genre of the police drama" by setting it against the atmospheric backdrop of the ever changing sea. Her cops are tough yet fallible. The DI Andy Horton series of crime novels has everything: compelling crimes, complex past history, a tough work environment, romantic entanglements and political intrigue played out against the dramatic and powerfully evocative British marine landscape of Portsmouth and the Solent. She is also author of two stand alone crime thriller novels.

"Deserves mention in the same breath as works in the upper echelon of American procedurals (those by Ed McBain or Joseph Wambaugh for example) and their British counterparts, including the work of Peter Robinson and John Harvey." Booklist

'Like Rebus, Rowson's DI Andy Horton is a detective who does not always work within the rules. As with all Rowson's novels the ending is dramatic and deeply menacing. If you are a fan of traditional detective fiction in a vivid setting that makes you believe that you are there, you will love this one.' Mystery People Magazine

'Like Ed McBain, Rowson works many subtle variations on the procedural formula (including very interesting relationships between Andy and a couple of his superiors). A definite winner in the crowded field of British procedurals.' Booklist

Pauline Rowson is also the author of several marketing and motivational books and an entertaining and inspirational speaker. Visit her website at www.rowmark.co.uk.

Product Description

Review

Deserves mention in the same breath as works in the upper echelon of American procedurals (those by Ed McBain or Joseph Wambaugh for example) and their British counterparts, including the work of Peter Robinson and John Harvey. Procedural fans who haven't already read Rowson should be encouraged to do so in the strongest possible terms. --Booklist Starred Review

Rowson's latest should please both Andy Horton fans and puzzle aficionados. --Kirkus USA

Footsteps on the Shore, is a detective novel in the tradition of Rankin and Harvey. Like Rebus, DI Andy Horton is a detective who does not always work within the rules. As with all Rowson novels the ending is dramatic and deeply menacing. If you are a fan of traditional detective fiction in a vivid setting that makes you believe that you are there, you will love this one. --Mystery People Magazine --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

About the Author

Pauline Rowson is the author of the contemporary mystery crime novels featuring the flawed and rugged DI Andy Horton whose patch is Portsmouth CID. Her crime novels are highly acclaimed in the USA where they have been likened to the novels of Ed McBain and Joseph Wambaugh and their British counterparts John Harvey and Peter Robinson. In the UK they have been hailed as the 'Best of British Crime Fiction,' 'exemplary procedurals,' 'an entertaining read in an engaging series.'She is also the author of two fast-paced, thrillers one of which is the award winning In Cold Daylight which was voted by the public as one of the top ten best reads for World Book Day. Her books have an international readership and have been translated into several languages. --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
DI Andy Horton is a great character. The novels are fast paced and action packed and have the added twist of Andy’s search for his mother who disappeared in mysterious circumstances when he was a child. More please.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Angela Best on 10 Mar 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Enjoyed the story - like all the Andy Horton stories - like that it is set in an area near my home
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Siouxj on 9 Jan 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Brilliant series, particularly if one can identify with the locality. The lady knows Portsmouth and it's environs - add a flawed detective and it's riveting.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback