Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars14
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2008
I can't work out why nobody thought to do a book like this before now. God knows we're all fed up with pointless autobiographies of self-obsessed 23-year-old players at the big clubs. But larger-than-life characters and genuinely interesting anecdotes fill this book from start to end. I couldn't put it down - it's like Barry Fry, David Icke, Frank McAvennie, Big Ron and all the others are there with you. Except, you know, in a good way. These football blokes, they're a funny lot (in both senses of the word) and that really comes across in this book. The author of this book must have the best job in the world. It's a brilliant read and must have been a great laugh to put together. Completely refreshing after the all the worthless drivel from the Coles and Rooneys of the modern game.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2008
Football Fables is a real surprise package. It's a collection of stories from all sorts of players but they're all great, even the blokes I hadn't heard of.It's entertaining, exciting and riveting.

Each interviewee has his own chapter, telling one story but it's more in depth and detailed than in any bog standard autobiography.

Football Fables is an excellent read with funny stories you'll end up telling your friends. It is the perfect book to give as a present to any football fan, or indeed a nice little read for yourself.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2008
This is a fantastic book which captures moments from the last 50 years of football. The interviewees are never dull and offer up some great stories, clearly talking candidly and openly about their careers.

Individually, you may only read one or two of the contributors autobiographies, but to take a detailed snapshot of each and put 16 together is an excellent idea.

A perfect gift for a football fan. Highly recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2011
Being a huge fan of the beautiful game, I look to read as much as I can about the sport that I love. However, I have found time and time again that this isn't always the most fun. As the back of this book states, who wants to listen to a footballer, still in the game, who daren't say anything to offend anyone?

Iain Macintosh looks past the dull stories, and talks to some massive personalities about things that are actually interesting. His relaxed style, which makes him such a popular read on Twitter, means that the links between stories are easy to read, and build up to the 'main event' brilliantly.

I am sure, however, that Mr Macintosh wouldn't mind me saying that his interviewees are the true stars of this book. Whether it be Espen Baardsen's falling out of love with the sport, Carlton Palmer standing up for Graham Taylor, Ramon Vega discussing the abuse he received at Tottenham or Viv Anderson discussing the one-and-only Brian Clough, the book is filled with page-turning tales that grab your attention from start to finish.

I am a big fan of Iain Macintosh, and will be looking at getting his other books after reading this, I suggest that you do too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
What an amazing book. Iain is a top journalist and his approach is faultless. Found myself running late for everything as I was so engrossed in the stories he got out of these top footballers. Many of them were my heroes as I was growing up. Even though there was clearly a style of questioning throughout you cannot tell. It's like each player just opened up to a friend at the pub. Would recommend to anyone and that's a rare thing for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2012
A very well written book about some of the "not so famous" faces of football. If you like autobiographies by 20-something footballers who have had one decent season, then this isn't for you. This book has everything, from the highs to the lows. A must read for all football fans.

Here's hoping for more books by Iain Macintosh!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
Football Fables is a fantastic anthology of stories from some of the the games biggest characters. In depth interviews come from the likes of Barry Fry, Bryan Robson, Ron Atkinson, and Peter Shilton. Buy Football Fables. You will not be disappointed. Sublime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2014
Really enjoyed this book. Written in a very easy style with stories and contributions from some great characters of the British game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
Very good read enjoyed the stories made me laugh in places and brought back many memories of the players who contributed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
It's not gripping but a glimpse in to past footballers memories could have done with a better line starting eleven
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)