Buy Used
£2.80
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Book is in great condition, eligible for super saver delivery and prime, shipped by Amazon.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Fleabee's Fortune (Deptford Mouselets S.) Paperback – 14 Oct 2004


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
£0.30 £0.01


Product details

  • Paperback: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder Children's Books (14 Oct. 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 034085510X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0340855102
  • Product Dimensions: 13.1 x 19.7 x 1.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 793,699 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

Jarvis's gleeful descriptions of life in the sewers will delight the book's more bloodthristy readers. (tes teacher)

This books begins a new Deptford series for younger children featuring the same brilliantly imagined and realised subterranean world. Scray and exciting , this book will grip readers from the very first page. (Teaching and Learning)

Jarvis isn't afraid to paint darkness into his novels, but his narrative landscapes also include warmth and humour. (Scottish Sunday Herald)

Jarvis is a real storyteller and the tale lends itself to some wonderfullly descriptive and amusing phrases. (Carousel Spring 05)

Book Description

More gruesome tales of sorcery from the dark world of Deptford ...

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 5 Jan. 2005
Format: Paperback
If you liked the "Deptford Mice" and the "Deptford Histories", this book will come as no disappointmet.
Written from the point of view of a rat, it shows what life is like on the other side of The Grille. Fleabee is a rat but unlike the others she isn't evil and doesn't want to hurt anyone. The reader can feel the tension mounting throughout the book as she has to make a deadly choice.
The story is fits perfectly into the other tales from Deptford, you may even recognaise a few old faces from other books. Though the story is often dark there is also humour and hope in a dreary sewer world.
The illustrations really bring the story to life and I hope that anyone who reads this book enjoys it as much as I did. From the first page I was hooked and the last page left me holding my breath for the next one.
This a must-read for fans of Robin Jarvis and Deptford, if you don't know the author or his books: get reading!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 14 Mar. 2005
Format: Paperback
Although this book provided me with a very welcome return to the world of depford I was ultimatly left disappointed. The pictures that peppered the chapters of this book, although well drawn, distracted me from the story and kept drawing me out of a world that the words so creativly inspired. This book seemed aimed at a younger audience than the "depford mice/ depford mysteries" and I felt let down by this. The ending of the book, although setting up a series of other books was rushed and rather than tying up loose ends left me feeling let down. One for fans of Mr Jarvis only!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback