Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Shop Suki Ad Campaign Pieces Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now Halloween Pets Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now
Start reading Flags Of Our Sons on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.
Read for free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device


Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

Flags Of Our Sons [Kindle Edition]

John A. Bray
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £7.05
Kindle Price: £2.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £4.06 (58%)
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for £0.00 and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

  • Length: 282 pages
  • Prime members can borrow this book and read it on their devices with Kindle Owners Lending Library.
Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.


Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £2.99  
Paperback £7.05  
Audio Download, Unabridged £0.00 Free with Audible trial
Kindle Unlimited
Kindle Unlimited
Enjoy unlimited access to over 700,000 titles and thousands of audiobooks on any device for £7.99 a month, including this one. Learn more

Book Description

Johnny Madigan is orphaned, penniless and just sixteen years old.

He tells a Union Army recruiting sergeant he is eighteen and old enough to fight.

But is he - or indeed any man - ready to be thrown into the horrors of the American Civil War?

On the bloody field of the Battle of Fredericksburg, as thousands of young men in both blue and grey are brutally cut down, the boy becomes a man.

And he is thrown into a man's battle.

Captured, he stumbles across a nest of plotters who could cost the Union the war. Can he foil their plot before eventually making his way back to the home he loves?

'Flags Of Our Sons' is a meticulously researched adventure story that brilliantly recreates the drama, passion and terror of the Civil War.

It is perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Charles Frazier.

"This is the Civil War in close-up, in all its fury and glory. A fantastic, captivating read." - Richard Foreman, best-selling author of 'Sword of Rome'.

John A. Bray served for seventeen years in the New York City Police Department and took early retirement with the rank of lieutenant in 1976. After admission to the Bar, he served for four years as a prosecutor in the Department's internal disciplinary system. After leaving the NYPD, John practiced criminal defense law on Long Island and in New York City for 30 years

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent digital publisher.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Page of Start over
This shopping feature will continue to load items. In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading.

Product Description

About the Author

John Bray retired as a lieutenant after 17 years on the New York City Police Department. After acquiring a BS and Juris Doctor degree, he was admitted to the bar and worked for four years as lieutenant prosecutor in the departments’ internal disciplinary system. After leaving the NYPD, he practiced criminal law for 30 years. Currently, he’s the immediate past president of the Chesapeake Bay Writers Club and the author of four novels, The Ballad of Johnny Madigan, now renamed Flags of Our Sons, by his new publisher Endeavour Press of London England; The Confidential, now renamed Blue Heat; Code Name: Caleb, a sequel to Flags of Our Sons; and a fourth novel just submitted to the publisher, not yet given a title, with the working title Operation Rebound, a sequel to Blue Heat. All the novels are available on Amazon Kindle, Barnes and Noble Nook, Smashwords, Apple i-store and Sony e-reader. Five short stories published by Lost Coast Review, a print magazine, are available through Amazon Createspace. He is also a member of the Virginia Writers Club and the International Thriller Writers. Email:

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 678 KB
  • Print Length: 282 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd. (20 Dec. 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #446,391 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Human Account of Historic Battles 14 Jan. 2013
By Helen
Format:Kindle Edition
John Bray brings human emotion to the devastating battle scenes, as his protagonist Johnny struggles with fear, guilt, grief and pain. This exciting account of courage and survival during war is relevant to any generation.
This book is not about to replace The Red of Courage or Gone With the Wind but it does strike a balance between being literary and also being an action and adventure novel. I was at times engrossed, at other times just entertained. Hope there's a follow-up due at some point. Keep them coming.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical and gripping 29 Dec. 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
This is the second John Bray book I have written after just reading Blue Heat. Flags of our Son's, not to be confused with the World War II book "Flags of our Fathers" is based in the American civil war and has a real military feel to it. It is an historical book and you can tell that it has been well researched to keep it as accurate as possible. It brings home the same horrors of war as those that are young and serving out in Afghanistan today.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Military action 29 Dec. 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
In some ways a military coming of age story about a sixteen year old who signs up in the American civil war. The author has obviously done his research and written quite an action packed book that transports you back to the horror of the American civil war. I really like John's writing style and the way he makes you feel immersed in the story. After reading this book, I look forward to reading more from John Bray.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category