Five Dead Canaries (Home Front Detective series Book 3) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Five Dead Canaries (Home ... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Five Dead Canaries (Home Front Detective Series) Hardcover – 28 Oct 2013


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£19.99
£11.39 £0.89
£19.99 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Five Dead Canaries (Home Front Detective Series) + Instrument of Slaughter (Home Front Detective Series) + Bespoke Murder, A (Home Front Detective Series)
Price For All Three: £34.37

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: ALLISON & BUSBY (28 Oct. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 074901332X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0749013325
  • Product Dimensions: 3.2 x 15.9 x 24.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 92,729 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Edward Marson was born and brought up in South Wales. A full-time writer for over thirty years, he has worked in radio, film, television and the theatre and is a former chairman of the Crime Writers' Association. Prolific and highly successful, he is equally at home writing children's books or literary criticism, plays or biographies.
www.edwardmarston.com

Product Description

Review

'An enthralling and accomplished historical adventure' Good Book Guide 'A grand romp very much in the tradition of Holmes and Watson. Packed with characters Dickens would have been proud of. Wonderful, well written' Time Out

About the Author

EDWARD MARSTON was born and brought up in South Wales. A full-time writer for over thirty years, he has worked in radio, film, television and the theatre. Prolific and highly successful, he is equally at home writing children's books or literary criticism, plays or biographies. A master of historical fiction, he is the author of the hugely successful Railway Detective series, the Restoration mysteries and the historical adventure novels featuring Captain Rawson. He lives in Gloucestershire with his wife Judith Cutler.Author's Website: www.edwardmarston.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 24 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By stephen barlow on 23 Feb. 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This latest book in the Home front detective series is good but not the best.It is about a group of women munitions workers, called canaries because their skin turns yellow due to working in an explosives factory during WW1 They form a football team and one day when a group of them are celebrating a friends birthday in a private room of a pub an explosion rips through the room and kills all but one of them.
The rest of the book is about detective inspector marmion and sergeant joe keedy's attempts to solve the crime.There is perhaps less action in this book than the other two in the series but it is still a good read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By james eves on 4 Feb. 2014
Format: Hardcover
I have in the past compared the Home Front Detective to the Railway Detective series and was waiting to see how they would develop,now with the third outing of DI Harvey Marmion and Sergeant Joe Keedy they need no moore comparison,in their latest outing in the Five Dead Canaries they now have established themselves as a duo to be recon with.One of the joys of a Edward Marston adventure is that you are given a insight into a period of history that has to a degree been over looked.In Five Caneries we are not only have a very good who dune it ,but we are given a snap shot of the work that women did in the First World War. Once again Edward Marston has produced a page turner that had me burning the midnight oil and it is not often that you get a women`s football team as part of the plot,especially in 1916.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Terry Mawn on 10 Jan. 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I am a big Edward Marston fan all his books are well researched and well written and good stories worth reading
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I liked it it kept me interested from page 1. The usual twists and turns plus the interaction from the chief Inspector with his sarcasm and threats to a subordinate who was a better detective. The family problems and romantic interest kept it a very likely situation for the First World War backdrop. A book on similar lines to the Railway detective Inspector Colbeck
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By P.Whittaker on 18 Feb. 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
The story was addictive, it was written in a way which was easy to follow, but kept the guilty person hidden until the end. It kept you guessing and at times most of the characters are under suspicion. The whole story is feasible and is on a par with "The Railway Detective Series", a very good read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Great story and very well developed, you are kept on your toes till the very end, with a few twists to keep you guessing - but then that is the craft of Edward Marston - cannot wait for the next in the series, and some of his books should have been developed for Television by now, they are excellent material.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By totiwren on 30 April 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The story had twists and turns and introduced new characters, but not too many to be confusing. The accurate historical references are great.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Plot wise up to Marston's standard. Maybe the five victims were a little complicated to follow at times. Still a good read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback