Start reading First Frost: DI Jack Frost series 1 on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Add Audible Narration
First Frost (Unabridged) Narrated by Stephen Thorne £15.09 £3.49
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

First Frost: DI Jack Frost series 1 [Kindle Edition]

James Henry
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (127 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £7.99
Kindle Price: £4.98 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £3.01 (38%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Audible Narration

Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £3.49 after you buy the Kindle book.

Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Book Description

'Frost is back - this is a brilliant read, I can't recommend it highly enough' Martina Cole



Denton, 1981. Britain is in recession, the IRA is becoming increasingly active and the country's on alert for an outbreak of rabies.



Detective Sergeant Jack Frost is working under his mentor and inspiration DI Bert Williams, and coping badly with his increasingly strained marriage.



But DI Williams is nowhere to be seen. So when a 12-year-old girl goes missing from a department store changing room, DS Frost is put in charge of the investigation...


Books In This Series (9 Books)
Complete Series


  • Product Description

    Review

    "Frost is back - this is a brilliant read, I can't recommend it highly enough" (MARTINA COLE)

    "Not only a gripping mystery, but an exclusive look at Jack Frost's early years" (DAVID JASON)

    "The success of First Frost is incontestable. This is a palpable hit... [a] dark, but glittering pearl" (Barry Forshaw INDEPENDENT)

    "This is great stuff. Just when you thought you'd seen the last of him, Jack Frost returns in a prequel to the series, which finds Frost in his best paisley tie tracking down a missing girl" (PETER ROBINSON)

    "Gripping, and funny with it" (PETERBOROUGH EVENING TELEGRAPH)

    Book Description

    R.D. Wingfield's unforgettable Jack Frost returns in this gripping prequel to the bestselling series. A Sunday Times Top 10 Bestseller. Perfect for fans of David Jason's Frost and readers of Stuart MacBride and Peter James.

    Product details

    • Format: Kindle Edition
    • File Size: 1045 KB
    • Print Length: 353 pages
    • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1250025532
    • Publisher: Transworld Digital (20 Jan. 2011)
    • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
    • Language: English
    • ASIN: B004J4VZE8
    • Text-to-Speech: Not enabled
    • X-Ray:
    • Word Wise: Not Enabled
    • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (127 customer reviews)
    • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #40,172 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
    •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


    More About the Author

    James Henry is the pen name for James Gurbutt, who has long been a fan of the original R. D. Wingfield Frost books and the subsequent TV series. He works in publishing, and enjoys windsurfing and long lunches.

    After a successful career writing for radio, R. D. Wingfield turned his attention to fiction, creating the character of Jack Frost. The series has been adapted for television as the perennially popular A Touch of Frost, starring David Jason. R. D. Wingfield died in 2007.

    What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


    Customer Reviews

    Most Helpful Customer Reviews
    34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars Frost in flares! 22 Feb. 2011
    Format:Hardcover
    I loved this, because the authors have been really clever in their approach to a new Frost novel - they've stayed true to the Frost we know and love but they have also given the series an interesting new angle by taking it back to the 80's - this is Frost in flares and a brand new rain mac, before he was promoted, in the days when making a quick call meant finding a phone box first...
    A very gripping, easy to read crime novel, and good fun too!
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars First Frost 2 Mar. 2011
    Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
    I found this just as good as the other Frost novels even though it was written by another author. I read it in two days, unputterdownable.
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars Read in a flash 15 Feb. 2011
    By Ali K
    Format:Hardcover
    I really liked this book, easy to read and it just fairly skimmed along. Slick, well packagedand an entertaining story. Well done!
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1.0 out of 5 stars First Frost 26 Jun. 2014
    Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
    Got 10% into this book and quickly realised that this was going to be a waste of my time. It is, quite simply, a novel which excels in simplicity. But, with simplicity comes shallowness, comes mediocrity, comes pure boredom. The dialogue is terrible and quite frankly fails to create that original Frost humour. In fact, it just comes across as an author trying too damn hard, which is a total turn off.

    We want passion in our lead characters, we want them to speak for us, say the things we dare not. Frost in this novel just came across as that witty, giddy, class clown we all seem to bump into at work...the stuck record we soon get bored of listening to.
    The author, with his simple prose and cliche 'Jack the Lad' characterisation made me fall asleep everytime I picked this up.
    Let's just hope a person being introduced to literature reads 'Catch 22' rather than this. Because this is enough to put anybody off for life!
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars First Frost - first class!! 17 Jun. 2011
    Format:Audio CD
    Having always been a great fan of Frost - the books, TV series and audiobooks - I was quite cautious when I opened the CD of this audiobook. I need not have worried, as, in this "prequel", James Henry has captured the atmosphere and attitude of R D Wingfield's marvellous books, and David Jason again took on the personna of Jack Frost. I enjoyed this story thoroughly, and would be delighted if there are further episodes to come.
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely frost! 17 May 2011
    Format:Hardcover
    Having read all the original frosts and loved them,was sceptical,but no need to be, absolutely BRILLLIANT,just like putting on your favourite slippers! Please can we have some more??? Really well written a fitting tribute to R.D.Wingfield,so glad i gave it a try,read it ,frost fans you wont be dissappointed,had a few sniggers along the way too!Typical Jack Frost sense of humour!! Loved it !! More please!!!
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars First encounter with a literary Frost 14 May 2011
    Format:Hardcover
    First Frost is a prequel to the Inspector Frost series written by R.D. Wingfield. James Henry is a pseudonym for James Gurbutt and Henry Sutton. I haven't read any of the original Wingfield books, but have watched some of the TV series, A Touch of Frost, in the 90's. I can't recall too much of it, mostly I just remember the wonderful David Jason and the general atmosphere of the series, but not any other specific characters. In my memories the atmosphere and colour tones of the TV series, were gritty and grey. That atmosphere is captured perfectly in this book. Set in the early 80's, this time frame is a little too early for any concious memories on my part, but it does seem familiar from all the series and documentaries I've seen about the era.

    I adore this hard-bitten, gruff and cynical version of Frost, though I gather from articles I've read comparing the two, that this is true to the literary version of Frost, as the TV version is somewhat kinder and more likeable. While that incarnation of Frost is fantastic, this version fits the era and the story better. Hanlon and Clarke are great sidekicks. I love Clarke's ambition and the way the writers don't shy away from putting her in some pretty nasty situations due to her gender. This isn't our modern society, this is a time when gender inequality was rife and feminism had a long way to go to reach all its goals. The book is true to the era it's set in and evokes some of the political climate as it shows some of the effects of the financial slump of that age and, most powerfully, emanates some of the menacing threat the IRA formed. The fear and belief that the IRA is behind a lot of the events in the book, is brought back into focus again and again.
    Read more ›
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars First Class for a new author 8 Jan. 2012
    Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
    Having read all the other Frost books I didn't believe that another author could take over but I was wrong, so wrong. James Henry had done a great job and a seamless takeover. The same humour and turn of phrase. Please can we have more Frost books soon.
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
    Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

    Customer Discussions

    This product's forum
    Discussion Replies Latest Post
    No discussions yet

    Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
    Start a new discussion
    Topic:
    First post:
    Prompts for sign-in
     

    Search Customer Discussions
    Search all Amazon discussions
       


    Look for similar items by category