£8.24
  • RRP: £8.94
  • You Save: £0.70 (8%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

First Contact: Or, It's Later Than You Think Paperback – 26 Jan 2010


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
£8.24
£3.76 £0.74

Trade In Promotion



Product details

  • Paperback: 267 pages
  • Publisher: Harper Paperbacks; 1 edition (26 Jan 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 006174977X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0061749773
  • Product Dimensions: 13.5 x 1.5 x 20.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,501,013 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Pub Date: 2010-01-26 Pages: 267 Language: English Publisher: HarperCollins US A satirical joyride in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and Douglas Adams. First Contact introduces us to the hyper-intelligent Rigelians. who admire Woody Allen movies and Bundt cake . and who urge the people of Earth to mend their ways to avoid destruction of their planet. But the president of the United States. a God-fearing. science-doubting fitness fanatic. is skeptical of the evidence presented to him and sets in motion a chain of events that will change the lives of his young attach. an alien scam artist. several raccoons. and a scientist who has predicted the end of the universe. Parrot sketch excluded.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

By D. Burgoyne on 19 Aug 2011
Format: Paperback
I really enjoyed this book. Nice mix of political satire and sci-fi. Some hilarious self referencing from the author.

Anyone who likes odd humour and simpsons references will love this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 24 reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Smart Salmagundi Satire 2 Feb 2010
By Cynthia George - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
First Contact transports and inserts the reader into a political science fiction hullabaloo. An intelligent read that is difficult to put down, the level of intimacy between the author and the reader can only be compared to two compatriots conversing in the middle of a busy café where hopes, dreams and the meaning of life are consumed along with whimsically-named foodstuffs. The novel presents a unique reading experience heavily influenced by the artistic stylings of Monty Python, Douglas Adams and a young Woody Allen. Mandery's bang on observations about real, everyday situations and relationships were dispensed in a playful, comedic manner that forewarns, "it's later than you think." This is one new author to watch spinning a tale dying to be played out on the big screen.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Stop the universe! I'm laughing too hard.... 1 Feb 2010
By J. A Magill - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
In this frenetic farce, which plainly owes much to Kurt Vonnegut and Douglass Adams, //First Contact// offers a unique premise. Aliens from Rigel-Rigel arrive on earth for brunch with the President. They are enlightened, laid back lovers of Woody Allen and Bundt cake, who wish to share their knowledge. One problem - they are greeted by a President who is a shallow, science doubting, underwear-obsessed idiot, who assumes - partially on the basis of it being brunch - that the aliens must be Jewish.

""Well, I never heard that word [brunch] when I was a kid. We had breakfast, and then we had lunch like the good lord intended... I'll say now the same thing I said then: Don't understand it, ain't gonna eat it." The association of brunch with the Jews is yet another counter historical, anti-Semitic defamation, like Jews' responsibility for the death of Jesus, with the notable difference that everyone likes brunch..."

Ralph Bailey, the President's attaché whose portfolio had consisted of fetching his boss's preferred lunch sandwich ("extra meat") from Blimpway and catering to the previously mentioned underwear issues, serves as liaison with the aliens. At the same time, he has found sudden happiness with his new girlfriend, Jessica Love.

Mandery leaps about the galaxy, finding ways to celebrate topics, like Sting, the Simpsons, and Dr Pepper, even as he mocks censorship, political spin, government waste, insurance fraud, the fourth wall, law professors, and the galactic scourge known as the PTA (don't ask). At times the trip can be a bit dizzying, almost breathless, with even the author walking on and off the page, but the laughs never stop rolling. For fans of Douglas Adams and Christopher Moore, //First Contact// will leave you in stitches. Get it before the universe ends and makes reading it a lot trickier.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Between Woody Allen and Kurt Vonnegut 10 Feb 2010
By D. Maier Katkin - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is a deeply thoughtful book that touches on issues of political and existential importance with a light hand and unfailing good humor. The author is not a character in the story, but is nonetheless a presence throughout the book, indeed a genuinely endearing presence talking to readers about what is happening in the story, about himself and about life. In fact, the author is probably my favorite character in the book, except maybe for the charming, precocious two-year old to whom the book is being read, and who deconstructs and demolishes all of its most clever arguments. First Contact is a really good read, and my guess is you'll hope the author writes another book soon so that there can be some more contact.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Vonnegut lovers will celebrate 8 Feb 2010
By M. Johnson - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
I picked up First Contact because the author, Evan Mandery, billed the work as a conscious homage to Kurt Vonnegut. As a Vonnegut devotee, I was skeptical, but Evan Mandery really delivers. Like Vonnegut, Mandery takes on weighty topics like tolerance and censorship with graceful, gentle satirical thrusts. The narrative, which is skillfully rendered, also accommodates Mandery's personal commentary on what's going on. The book is hilarious and extremely engaging. I really couldn't put it down. As someone who is sad that there will be no new works from Vonnegut, I am happy that Evan Mandery has come along.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
On of the most enjoyable books I have ever read 9 Feb 2010
By Seth Karp - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
Disguised as a boisterous journey through the galaxy and beyond, Mandery skewers the forces of provincialism as he comments on the important things: relationships, government, the quest for knowledge, chocodiles, and Bundt cake. This is satire at its best, the work of a master. Carefully crafted and riotously funny on the outside, what I will remember about this book is the compassion and humantity at its core.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Look for similar items by category


Feedback