Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars18
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 November 2014
A fascinating book, it is raw and comes across as a very honest account of one man's experience of the Rhodesian war. It is graphic and takes the reader through a journey of how a person becomes transformed into a killing machine and the impact it has on that person's life. When you think you have reached the part of in the book where it appears the depth of humanity can reached, the reader is taken into further depths, where there are no winners or losers, it is a fight just to survive. It does leave the reader wondering whether the soldiers are just as caught in a ruthless war wondering what it was all for and also explains how civilians were caught in the middle. Resources were short, the soldiers had to keep going with limited R&R, it was relentless; people died but you just moved on without looking back. It is clear the enemy had just a bad a time or even worse - such a waste of life. The banter reminded me so much of the harsh sarcastic sense of humour people had at the time and the rough friendships. As someone who was around in the country at the time, I can relate to the content, though my partner who had never been there, or had never lived in a war found it very difficult to comprehend just how tough it was - this was daily face to face combat with limited resources. The sense of humor was always lurking around the corner, though very dark and perhaps it's only one who understood the way of life at the time can pick up on it, whereas my partner was not so able to.

Once sentence really stood out "This was my father's war" - these 5 words stood out and certainly made me think about it and I completely agree with it. The author was a teenager and probably had never voted, thus never had any input or say to progress a solution, yet his, like many others of his age, life was on the line.

It's a tough book to read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
The Rhodesian war ended only in 1980 but is now almost forgotten outside Southern Africa· The men who served in the Rhodesian Army, black and white thought they were fighting to save their country from communism, anarchy and dictatorship· History will be their judge as to what has happened since in Zimbabwe· This is a brutally honest account of the bitter bush war and what life was like for a young man in the elite Rhodesian Light Infantry· It becomes apparent towards the end of the book that for many of the teenage boys and young men who served in this unit, the mental scars of this war in which they never lost a battle but ultimately lost their country, will never heal·
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
Having developed an interest in the Bush War I soon found that this book was a 'must read'.
It gripped me from the start, from the harsh training regime through to the even harsher realities of bush warfare.
The author manages to convey a sense of what it must have been like to have been there, from black humour to war crimes, nothing is spared from the reader.
If you have any interest in Rhodesia and the Bush War, this is highly recommended, the only down side is numerous grammar and spelling errors, a common theme with Kindle books in my experience.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
I ended up reading this book when I became aware that a relation had fought in the Rhodesian Bush war. I have to admit to knowing little about the conflict prior to reading this book. Despite being quite shocked by some of the content and events described I had to admire the authors courage for telling it how it was from his persceptive. The book is nothing if not shockingly honest and certainly worth reading if you want to know more about the war.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2008
This is one of the best books avaliable on the Rhodesian war. Couldn't put it down, it's well written and i would recommend this to anyone.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2007
A very personal and moving account of a young man's experience of war. I could not put it down and found it graphic and deeply honest. There is no rosy glamorising of conflict. This is a great book about a forgotten war.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
As someone who "took the gap" early in 1970 I am more disinterested in the lives of those who did not. Chris Cocks has written in a way that touches the heart of any "Rhodesian" and describes the futility of that war. John Cronin`s "The Bleed" adds to this account and gives a more strategic angle to the story. Brave men and good soldiers both.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
FIREFORCE is a must read account of personal combat experience. Brutally honest it pulls no punches of the authors feelings during contacts, the aftermath, and the boredom of barracks life.
A must read for anyone interested in Rhodesia and a must read for any British combat troops deploying on COIN operations.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2012
An absolute must read book for anyone interested in the Rhodesian bush wars later stages (late 70's. A personal, candid, graphic and moving account of the authors service in the awesome Rhodesian Light Infantry with a large number of photographs from the author, told in a way which makes this book unputdownable, I read it twice within a month. The courage, tenacity and love of their country, as for most Rhodesians, shines through. With their backs to the wall and abandoned to their fate by the West, the British modelled Rhodesian armed forces fought a desperate virtually unsupported war(apart from South Africa) with only several thousand dedicated regulars aginst vastly superior (in numbers) communist backed terrorists numbering tens of thousands in the final stages. Never defeated in battle, the armed forces and country were betrayed by politics outside their influence. Its sad to see this once proud country now destroyed by Robert Mugabe, the very person the Rhodesians, Black and white, were trying to stop get in power. Read alongside Peter Petter Bowyers Winds of Destruction, another awesome book, to get a real flavour of this almost unforgotten war.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
Not totally politically correct - but a worthwhile read, and covers a brutal war very well. I'm very happy to have bought it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse