Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now
Buy Used
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Firefly and the Quest of the Black Squirrel (The Fairy Chronicles, Book 4) Paperback – 27 Jul 2007

6 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
"Please retry"
£11.29 £0.01

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Save £20 on with the aqua Classic card. Get an initial credit line of £250-£1,200 and build your credit rating. Representative 32.9% APR (variable). Subject to term and conditions. Learn more.

Product details

  • Paperback: 128 pages
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc; First Printing edition (27 July 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1402208758
  • ISBN-13: 978-1402208751
  • Product Dimensions: 14 x 0.7 x 21.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,032,809 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description


"The Fairy Chronicles" is a new series from Sourcebooks Jabberwocky. Each book introduces a new fairy with different powers and attributes whilst still keeping familiar friends in the action. The series reflects adventure and teamwork, sending a positive message to the reader, encouraging a healthy, active lifestyle and appreciation of nature. 6 are titles scheduled for 2007 with over 60 books in development for new adventures each season over the lifetime of the series.

From the Author

The Fairy Chronicles is a series of modern fairy tales full of magical creatures, both good and evil, and heroic characters who participate in dangerous missions to protect nature and fix serious problems. Ideal for all ages, reading levels ages 7 to 12, the stories include a diverse set of fairy characters and a wide variety of other magical creatures such as trolls, brownies, witches, dwarves, gnomes, elves, unicorns, goblins, wizards, dragons, ogres, magic gargoyles, gremlins, demons, nymphs, giants, and many more. Each story has some sort of problem to be solved such as recovering the stolen Shell of Laughter, helping to break an evil curse, solving the mystery of the Magic Snowglobe, rescuing kidnapped bat fairies, trying to locate missing human shadows, or helping a dragon complete a dangerous quest. Characters and readers learn interesting things such as why fairies fear jigsaw puzzles, how dragons are born, why the flamingo stands on one foot, the reason human beings have a shadow, what the grasshopper uses buttons for, where courage comes from, how hope is spread around the world, and what causes nightmares. The Fairy Chronicles are stand-alone books and can be read in any order. Visit for free e-books, word search games, and more. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
First Sentence
This was the most fun Lenox Hart ever had on spring break. Read the first page
Explore More
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Jessica Carl on 13 Jan. 2006
Format: Paperback
I was somewhat skeptical about this series at first, but my daughter received this book as a gift and really liked it. She is now walking around the house saying “pop” to change into a fairy and asking if anyone has seen her wand. We have started reading the online books at the website. Some of them are funny and some of them are serious. A few of the stories are somewhere in the middle like this one. My daughter and I both like the many different characters. This book has good variety in that way since it is a story with a dwarf, a black squirrel, a squitt, goblins, a black stag, and brownies. The Forgotten Forest sounds like a beautiful and tranquil place. It really carried us away in the end.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Margaret Downy on 3 Feb. 2006
Format: Paperback
I have always loved fairies, and I really like this book. The fairies go on a camping trip, then attend their fairy circle meeting. Then they set off on a mission to find a dwarf, the Black Stag, and blue moon clover needed to stop a terrible curse. They travel through the Forgotten Forest on their adventure, and of course they save the world in the end. The personalities of the girls are very likable, and the magical characters, in addition to the fairies, are a lot of fun. I highly recommend this book to all lovers of fairy stories, fairytales, children's fantasy, and wholesome stories with values and morals. ---Margaret Downy (teacher, collector of children's books, fairy lover, grandmother)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Heike Clarke on 14 Feb. 2006
Format: Paperback
I wouldn’t exactly call the books in this series sequels. They are more like a continuation of a big overall story. However, even though the books are connected, they are fun to read on their own. The adventures the fairies are having are very separate stories, and I think they are getting better. I actually read Book 4 of the series at the website before ever picking up Books 1-3. Book 4 so far is my two daughters’ favorite, mine too. The dwarf and his squit are our favorite characters.
Protecting nature is a nice theme running throughout the series and this book has a lot of messages relating to conservation and preservation. But it is not preachy which we like. There is just some information about parks and wildlife worked into the storyline. Gnome gardening is again part of this book as it was for the earlier books.
We liked the trip through the forest and the tension of the importance of the mission. When information was added in about blue moon clover and squits, it made the story even more fun. The run-in with the hornets was a little scary. Good thing Marigold was along on this journey. It is very convenient that each of the fairies’ gifts contributed nicely to the adventure, but the way these things were worked into the story was believable.
I will be reading this again with my two girls. It is a very good story.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again