FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Fighting Fit: Complete SA... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See more of our deals.
Trade in your item
Get a £0.34
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Fighting Fit: Complete SAS Fitness Training Handbook Paperback – 6 Jan 1995

82 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
£8.99
£3.07 £0.01
£8.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Save £20 on Amazon.co.uk with the aqua Classic card. Get an initial credit line of £250-£1,200 and build your credit rating. Representative 32.9% APR (variable). Subject to term and conditions. Learn more.

Frequently Bought Together

Fighting Fit: Complete SAS Fitness Training Handbook + The Official British Army Fitness Guide + Para Fitness and Training Guide (General Military)
Price For All Three: £29.77

Buy the selected items together


Trade In this Item for up to £0.34
Trade in Fighting Fit: Complete SAS Fitness Training Handbook for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.34, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 176 pages
  • Publisher: Orion; New Ed edition (6 Jan. 1995)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0752805894
  • ISBN-13: 978-0752805894
  • Product Dimensions: 13 x 1.5 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (82 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 14,922 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Book Description

The fitness plan used by the SAS - perfect for fans of British Miltary Fitness classes.

From the Back Cover

Every year thousands of men and women discover new levels of fitness and inner strength as they are put through their paces to meet the demanding standard required for new recruits in the British Army - this book will take you to the same level.

Recommended by a recent SAS squadron commander as 'an excellent guide', Fighting Fit's unique and proven training programmed have already helped many soldiers pass the most demanding tests.

Now you can join them. Illustrated throughout and including inside information on the kit you'll need, the food you should eat and how to cope with injury, Fighting Fit is the comprehensive insider's guide to the fitness methods of the world's most professional army.


Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful By K FRY on 10 May 2004
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book really is very helpful. There is a general section explaining general theories about losing weight, increasing fitness and strength, and improving general fitness, a section regarding nutrition and diet, a section about skills and equipment needed for training if a reader is considering joining the armed forces, and several exercise regimes, ranging from four weeks to four months in duration, of varying difficulty, all of which are tailored to specific goals. At one end of the spectrum is a program for people with a low level of fitness who want to improve fitness and lose weight, but can only spare a little time to exercise, at the other end of the spectrum are intensive training programs for those considering joining the Paras, SAS or Commandos.
A nice feature of these programs is the way they are tailored to the requirements of the unit they are designed to train you for, ie the Paras program involves lots of 'tabbing' (high speed marches over moderate distances with weight) and speedwork, while the SAS program involves a lot of long, hard marches over hard terrain with heavy pack.
The book also has a lot of information on the requirments to pass selection for the Royal Marines, and the British Army, as well as its elite Regiments (SAS and Paras), which provides excellent goals for those who are seeking to join them to work towards.
Although a large majority of people who follow this book will probably not have the eventual goal of joining the SAS, your eventual goals should still be high to gain the most from the book; the beginner and intermediate programs are very good but if you use them alone you will only be using 30% of the book.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
69 of 70 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 1 Dec. 2005
Format: Paperback
Despite the Waltish title and schoolboyish cover, this is a valuable book for anyone thinking of improving their fitness with a military aim in mind.
It starts with general fitness and exercise routines you can do at home and outside for no (or barely any) cost and then builds up from there, all the way to truly expert level.
It even covers diet in detail, an area which almost all exercise and fitness books aimed primarily at men do not cover well. And being aimed mainly at men, it (sensibly, rather than sexistly) presumes zero knowledge in this area: it provides a two weekly shopping lists from each of which you can make a week's worth of healthy food.
Some of the reviews here say that this book tells you no more than what you might already know from armed forces PT training. Yeah, well, maybe. For those already in the forces, I think it does a good job of setting out a training plan of gradually increasing toughness. Plus it keeps reiterating the "no magic answer" point: you've simply got to put the time in. It's also a handy reference book. But, crucially, it is an excellent starting point for those OUTSIDE the forces (and so without access to expert PT advice) but who are thinking of joining.
A sports nutritionist in my family has questioned the credentials of Mr Weale and his collaborators to give the nutritional advice in the book - but have agreed that all of the dietary advice is sound.
So I'd especially recommend this to anyone considering joining the forces (particularly the reserves, as they are to a much greater degree personally responsible for ensuring that they meet the military fitness standards), provided they keep away from trying out the pre-SAS, Commando and Para selection stuff too early.
But for anyone needing to ensure they are MILITARILY fit, this book is definitely worth the price.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
101 of 105 people found the following review helpful By Adam Lea VINE VOICE on 3 Feb. 2005
Format: Paperback
O.K. I will tell you now, this book is good. I recently bought Chris Ryans SAS Fitness Guide and being honest I was disappointed. If you have bought the same book (Chris Ryan) and thought the same, or perhaps thought that it was good then I seriously recommend that you buy SAS Fighting Fit.
Firstly as the name suggests it is geared towards getting you the reader through SAS, Para and Royal Marines Commando's selection. I myself am planning to join the latter and I honestly belief that this book, provided that I stick with it, could be the one thing that genuinely does help me.
Now of course this not only a military book, there are many comparisons in it that are military associated, but that doesn't mean that it is just for people like me. It is a great beginners, intermediates and maybe even advanced guide for anyone who wants to get fit. As the first page states, it is a no bullshit guide. It does exactly what it says on the tin.
However, if you are say a bodybuilder (your kind are discussed quite a lot in the book) then don't buy this. This is not a book that aims to get you looking like Arnie, afterall how many Para's, Marines or SAS guys have you seen that look like that. No, this is a muscle building, fitness building, stamina building and most importantly self-esteem building book that does not focus on any one particular thing.
If you want more info. then read on, otherwise simply buy it now.
This book starts you off by telling you to undertake a pulse rate fitness test, it has an easy to understand results table that puts you into a category. I was a 60-70bpm, thus fit but nothing special. Then it gives you a measure of your weight and height table which tells you whether you are under or over weight.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback