Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars88
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2009
OK, depending on your point of view on political correctness, knowledge of rock music, sense of humour and probably how fat you are, you will either see this record as a work of genius or a steaming pile of (insert excremental equivalent here)!

To love this you will need an in-depth knowledge of 80s hair metal bands, the sense of humour of a 15 year old schoolboy and think PC should only ever stand for police constable. Thankfully, all of the above still apply to me, so I LOVED this.

You have to admire Steel Panther's ability to mimic some of the great bands of that generation. Part of the fun is listening and picking out which band each song was obviously modelled on...Iron Maiden, Enuff ZNuff, David Lee Roth, Whitesnake, Bon Jovi, Extreme... the "tributes" just keep coming, each one crafted with careful attention to detail, great energy and some fantastic playing.

If you didn't speak english, you could actually be mistaken for thinking that this is one of the best glam metal albums you have ever heard. But if you do speak english, you'll know that this is actually one of the funniest most un-PC records you'll ever hear. To write most of their lyrics, they must have just went to the local school and asked the kids to tell them what they knew about sex!

In truth, the non-stop onslaught of debauchery does get a little repetitive after a while, but when it's done well, like on Asian Hookers or Community property, you can't help but laugh out loud (partly in shock that they were actually allowed to put some of that stuff on a record). I think that the jokes will probably wear thin very quickly though, which is a shame as the music is good enough to Warrant (pun intended) repeated listening.

This is the album that the Darkness didn't have the balls to make. Justin and co managed to keep their tongues in their cheeks, whereas Steel Panther make a point of sticking their tongues firmly between somebody elses!

Makes you wonder what sort of an album they could have made had they taken themselves a little more seriously?
11 comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
Utter genius. The timing of Spinal Tap, attitude of Twisted Sister, riffs of prime-era Motley Crue and the potty mouth turn of phrase straight from Derek and Clive.

There have been other musical parody acts, but none of them could play or write this well. Go back 25 years and they would be up there with the giants of the genre filling arenas and corrupting countless teenage girls in the American Mid-West.

But what really makes all this work is that it is done with such great love for its source material. It would have been easy to make the mick with a sneering sense of superiority, but Steel Panther play it like they mean it. They make no excuses and there is none of the post-modern knowing nudges and winks that just about everyone else would have done. By playing is straight rather than outright laughs and by not making out that once they are off stage the wigs come off and they go home and listen to The Strokes, it all works with total credibility. You just know that Steel Panther genuinely still wish it was 1987 and that they really do still trawl strip clubs and listen to Faster Pussycat. Steel Panther are the band of the year by an absolute mile.
11 comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2009
They're as funny (or more) than Spinal Tap and musically they're much better. The ultimate combo of hot riffs and rip-my-guts-out-laughing lyrics.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2009
The band have been around under various monikers for quite some time, and whilst it's fair to say that yes they are taking the mick out of the whole hair metal genre, they are doing it with such panache, their love of the genre shines through.

The quality of songwriting and playing here cannot be faulted, and whilst I'm sure their lyrics will attract criticism from some quarters, they are no worse than some rap acts have been doling out for years, and are a whole lot funnier.

The band are more than capable of playing their material live, including acoustically which they do often at radio stations in the USA, and for a metal band the ability to play well live can make or break them.

I'm sure the band will go down a storm worldwide, and become the band that they think they've already been(see their 'Behind The Music' segment to see what I'm on about!)

My only criticism of this release, is that there is enough video footage of the band out there already to have put this out with a bonus DVD, but maybe that will come in the universe tour edition!

Up until now, Bad News have been my favourite of the metal parodies, but Steel Panther have left them in the distance.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2009
I had no idea what to expect when I stuck this album on for the first time, with some trepidation I might add, but I was blown away. Possibly one of the most hilarious albums you are ever likely to hear from tracks like "Fat Girl(Thar She Blows)" to, a personal favourite, "Turn out the lights".

Probably the most misogynistic band you'll ever hear as well, as most of the tracks focus around their various sexual exploits with women. At the end of the day they really have to be taken with a massive truckload of salt and with your tongue firmly embedded in your cheek. Part tribute, part pastiche, all METAL is the best way to sum them up, but don't be under the assumption that they're not very good, far from it, they are fantastic musicians in their own right.

I had the pleasure of seeing them live last month and it was utterly brilliant, to reinforce my above point, the lead guitarist burst into a 10 minute solo of epic proportions that, rightly so, received huge cheers and rounds of applause from the audience.

So I can't recommend it enough, however if I really had to pick faults then I'd say the last track on the album is pretty poor compared to what's come before it, and repeated listenings can lessen the impact of the songs. Still don't let those minor quibbles turn you off, if you're a fan of the hair metal era then I'm sure you'll love it, if you're an upstanding 21st century woman....you'll probably hate it :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2010
GET THIS!!! GET THIS!!! GET THIS!!!

You're parents/partner will love it
Put it in the car full volume and give your neighbours a listen and they will love it too.

You wont regret it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 April 2015
A very tongue-in-cheek, but clearly affectionate parody of '80s glam rock music. I really enjoyed this debut album at the time, and it still makes me grin today. Think of a mixture of Guns N' Roses, Poison and Motley Crew, with the latter-day The Darkness, and you have yourself Steel Panther.

'Feel the Steel' is full of well-crafted, clever, feel-good songs, with the most filthy but hilarious of lyrics. It'll rock your songs off but make you laugh as well. 'Party All Day' is a great copy-and-paste of Bon Jovi's 'Livin' On A Prayer', 'Community Property' is the funniest of love songs, 'Fat Girl', an obvious take on Whitesnake's 'Here I Go Again' is just hysterical, and I couldn't think of a better way to close things out than with a (dirty) ballad like 'Girl from Oklahoma'.

I have no doubt that some listeners just won't 'get' Steel Panther, but I do, and I love this album. If comedy and hair metal is you're thing, I recommend this one highly. Also, make you sure you take the booklet out and have a read of it, great stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2009
This will divide opinion. Either you'll love it for the purile lyrics and absolutely fantastic playing/excellently crafted songs or you'll just not appreciate the joke. I guess it depends on your opinion of bands like Motley Crue, Poison, Ratt, Bon Jovi, Warrant, Extreme etc. For my part I was lucky enough to see them in their "Metal Shop" incarnation and as a live cover band it was possibly the best night of a holiday to Las Vegas (that's high praise indeed). Consistently funny between song banter amongst themselves and with the audience - playing the dumb metal card but on record they don't get the chance to share that. Certainly an excellent set of tunes in my opinion but will the lyrics detract from the band's longevity. Sadly I suspect it will because musically the band is good enough to make its mark.

A band you should definately not miss live, if you get the chance. As for the album, I'm not so sure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2009
I first heard of steel panther last year when they appeared on Kat Von D's Show LA Ink. It was love at first sight!
The spandex and big hair - all an 80's fan girl could want!
Then I heard the music - catchy and very amusing lyrics. Excellent guitar rifts and solos!

This is a must for all metal fans! watch out spinal tap!

DEATH TO ALL BUT METAL!!!!!!!!! \m/
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2011
I can't believe nobody's reviewed this. Where Spinal Tap were actors in a make believe band Steel Panther are a very good band trying to be actors. Each member has taken on a persona consisting of numerous 80s hair metal heroes, replaced innuendo in the lyrics with just coming straight out & saying it & producing marvelous tunes in the process. They are ignorant, sexist, chauvinist & it's as if the last 30 years never happened. If you take it seriously you will be mighty offended but if you take it at it's intended tongue in cheek then it's themselves they're really making fun of.

If you ever liked Poison, Crue, Van Halen, Whitesnake, Bon Jovi & so on then you should hear this because it's musically as good (& borrows a little here & there). Just be careful if you're the sort of person who sings along to choruses in public as you might find yourself in a spot of trouble.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)