Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars59
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2006
This is without a doubt my favourite movie of all time. I love the warmth of the story, the humour Steve Martin and Martin Short inject into the movie, even the music is all so perfect. George Bank's (Steve Martin) daughter returns home from studying architecture in Rome and announces she is engaged to a man she met there. The plot is based around George's struggle to let go of his daughter and to accept his new son-in-law whilst his wife and daughter plough ahead planning a very expensive wedding with the help of Franc (Martin Short) the wedding co-ordinator.
This is definitely a feel good movie and if you are a fan of Steve Martin, I would highly recommend it. PS have he tissues ready as it is a tear-jerker
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2008
I really can't say enough good things about this film, it's definately one of my all time favourites. Steve Martin plays a great role as George Banks, but the star of the film is without a doubt Martin Short who plays the wedding planner, Frank. The accent cracks me up every time I hear it. This film really is, in my eyes, completely faultless. The funny parts had me laughing out loud, and other parts had me in tears. I think what I love most about this film, is that whilst it has the great comedy element, it still manages to be very believable. I think a lot of fathers with married daughters could watch this and sympathise! Brilliant film, I'd recommend it to anyone!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
George Banks (Steve Martin) has just heard the words every father dreads. His daughter Annie (Kimberly Williams) has just announced that she's getting married to Bryan (George Newbern), a man she met while studying in Europe. While George's wife Nina (Diane Keaton) is thrilled by the news, George doesn't handle it well. After all, this means big changes happening in his life. And he doesn't cope well with change.

So, naturally, he handles this the way any dad would. He starts watching "America's Most Wanted" in case Bryan is on it. And when it comes to planning the wedding, his idea is cheap and informal, much to the women's dismay. Will he ever get with the program? And if he does, will he survive the big day?

This movie isn't a laugh until it hurts comedy. There are plenty of laugh out loud parts, but the humor is often subtler. While some of George's antics are definitely over the top and border on embarrassing, the movie manages to find the balance between embarrassment and humor. And the ending it truly touching.

And I can't say enough about the acting. Everyone is believable. In fact, what makes the movie work is the fact that every one of the characters and actors seems absolutely real. The exception, of course, are Franck and Howard, the over the top wedding coordinators played by Martin Short and B. D. Wong who absolutely steal every scene they are in.

Whether you've gone through a wedding or not, this movie will make you laugh and touch you. And what more could you want from a wedding, and movie, then that?
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2000
Father of the Bride is by far the best of Steve Martin's later work, at some points even harking back to his glory days with Carl Reiner (The Jerk, The Man With Two Brains). Father of the Bride is a remake of the 1950s classic with Spencer Tracy and Elizabeth Taylor but could not be more different. Martin's portrayal of the over-cautious father who is struggling with letting go of his daughter and, as he sees it, giving her to another man is unrepeatable. His descent into almost madness is sheer genius climaxing in the fantastic supermarket scene. Further comedy is injected when Martin Short (Innerspace) turns up as the indecipherable wedding co-ordinator, seemingly intent on spending all of Steve Martin's money! Short and Martin play off each other brilliantly, a fond reminder of Three Amigos, showing the fact that they are both greatly underrated these days. Diane Keaton (The Godfather) is perfect as Martin's wife, the level headed other half to Martin's anxiety-ridden character. The films great asset is that whilst being outrageously funny, it never ceases to be anything but completely realistic, I know people who have watched this and said it was a painful reminder watching Martin behaving as they did under the same situation! Though this should not put you off buying this film, it's a modern classic and no mistake. I gave this film 4 stars though I think the film really deserves 5, I deducted one for the DVD because of the lack of extra features. But the film itself is faultless.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2007
A very nice, heart-warming family movie with plenty of gags thrown in for good measure! The funniest gags is when Steve Martin has a bit of trouble with the dogs at the posh mansion! Steve Martin is OK in this movie. He is George Banks. He is a nice, kind man who wants the best for his daughter and wants his whole family to be completely happy with their situation. Diane Keaton is good as his wife and mother of their daughter Annie. This is a great, touching movie that doesn't have to rely on 90s toilet humour and crude gags and shows that a classic movie can be created using imagination and sensitivity.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
George Banks is an ordinary man whose 21 year-old daughter Annie has decided to marry a man she met in Rome, but George can't think of what life would be like without his daughter.

His wife tries to make him happy for Annie's sake, but when the wedding takes place at their home and a bizarre wedding planner takes over the ceremony, George must try to handle the fact that people grow up, and move on...

Any father with a daughter of a certain age, will take heed with this movie, because its simply so true, and Martin nails it as the titular character.

All his worries and quandaries are true and are dealt with in a wonderful way, despite the film being wonderfully hilarious.

There are the odd movies that lay on the schmaltz and sugar coat every aspect of the narrative, and you really don't mind them doing it, in fact, you hoped they would do it a little bit more, just to make it that little more heartwarming.

The cast are fantastic, Martin in my opinion hasn't been this good since, and the whole film is just nice, funny, and heartwarming.

You will want to ring your daughter after seeing this, just to let her know you love her.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 21 January 2016
A classic movie about how one father reacts to letting go of his daughter when she decides it's time to get married and leave home. It tries to be light-hearted although at the core of it, the energy is sort of bitter-sweet. I think this is one of those rare times where I liked the sequel (Father of the Bride 2) more than the original because the sequel is a lot funnier. Still, this is an enjoyable watch too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2011
This one is better than the one with Spencer Tracy. Very sad at the end, cant stop watching it. ITS GREAT.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2011
A must for all parents of the bride, it brings light hearted relief to the very serious business of planning the big day. Be prepared for a lot of laughter and just a few tears. Dads beware the tears can get you too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
I saw the original black-and-white version of this some years ago, but had never seen this. Steve Martin stars as the hapless father, surveying the chaos after his daughter's wedding. Then, as in the original, the rest of the film goes back to when his daughter first announces that she's engaged.

It's nicely done with plenty of modern updates, and some great choreographed scenes showing Martin at his best. Diane Keaton is excellent as his long-suffering wife, and Kimberley Williams is very believable as their daughter Annie.

Lots of humour, great pace, and the ending was every bit as moving as I remember the original version being. Definitely recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)