Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2013
I really enjoyed reading the Fat Vampire which I initially did not expect to. The main hero Reginald is neither an alpha male nor is he gorgeous. He is flawed, and a binge eater and even though he is very smart, he is not that confident which makes him likeable and kept me reader rooting for him. The other characters are equally intriguing, Maurice, Clare, Nikky, Timen Karl even Claude. I cannot wait for the show down between Timen and Reginald in the next book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
So, you're looking for a book, right? And you're thinking that some Urban Fantasy might be good, and you decide to look for vampire fiction, cause that's all the rage at the minute, yeah? Then you stumble across this Value Meal about a fat vampire...

At first, you're worried, "A fat vampire? I've never heard of such a thing!" Then slowly, you realise that you're right... you've never heard of a fat vampire before. (Or, if you have, pretend that you haven't).

You begin to read, and as you read you're sucked into the world of Reginald Baskin, a (no spoilers) vampire who's eternally stuck at a comfortable 350 pounds -- he's American, what can you expect? Wait, no, that's not fair. They'll learn to use the metric system, eventually.

I loved the first four books of this series, and I'll be picking up the next two in short order, and no doubt carry on with the rest (there will be more, won't there, Mr. Truant?) The writing is evocative, action packed, interesting and down right twisty. I highly recommend the books for lovers of the genre and newcomers; with subversive tropes and characters reeking of verisimilitude, what could go wrong?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
Reginald becomes a vampire, a fat vampire, in a vampire nation of fit and strong vampires.
Book 1 in this series is available for free (at least it was when i downloaded it and it was still free when i wrote this review.) so give it a go. I then found it was cheaper to buy the next 3 books in this value meal rather than separately.
I enjoyed books 1,2 and 3 a lot and would give them each 5 stars. Book 4 was still good but had a bit to much politics in it for me so 4 stars.
This is a really different vampire book with lots of humor, i will be reading the rest of the series, and checking out other books by the author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
In the world of kindle horror and supernatural, it is quite easy to lump all vampires in one category- the brooding, evil and yet attractive male or female that fights his or hers inner demons with the love for a human counterpart.
Fat Vampire goes beyond the vampire theme and creates memorable characters within an interesting plot. I have read all 6 books and I have not been disappointed, if you are looking for the next Twilight then look elsewhere but if your are looking for a horror or science fiction novel with some philosophy and humour then Fat Vampire.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
Good series, overall. It is very different from the usual vampire story as it explores the hierarchy of vampires and how they could look in the future. It has a lot of twists and turns, some of the characters are complicated, devious and very manipulative, and there are some unexpected surprises chucked in the story when you least expect it. I will definitely read more in this series as I want to know what happens with Reginald and his crew and who wins the election and if the angels interfere again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
I have to admit when I first saw fat vampire I thought it would be a curiosity but probably a bit of a one trick pony. These books are actually intricate, well thought out novels. They do have some dry funny bits and also tackle themes of good and evil, morals and compromise and having to do things you do not like or agree with for a greater good. The characters are interesting, flawed and very believable and you cannot help but care about them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
it was a really fun read with a larger than life character , an unlikely hero , but very real .
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
Wonderful wonderful wonderful book, loved it so much i bought the whole series. Id recommended this if you like vampires and action as this has plenty of both!

The author has taken a difficult genre in that its been done to death and still he does something completely different with it, Truant, youre a genius!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
There are lots of Vampire books out there and I think that these are slightly above average but seem rather short. Not sure if I will read any more as its hard to see where the story is going and what there is new and interesting to say. If you see them on Kindle at a low price give them a go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
I love all of these books, mainly because they are well written and take the piss of other books on the way. I bought the first book because it was free, and to see if indeed all vampire books are sparkly teen romances, and I see now that there is hope in this world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse