Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars23
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£34.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 August 2007
Two big heavy volumes! If like me you love to see full pictures and close ups of costumes from times gone by these volumes fit the bill. The costumes are on manequins and are more alive as a result. You get more of a feel for the size of the wearer. Page 168 Volume 1 is particularly good with a male manequin in coat and breeches with a female manequin in a dress and spencer. The comparison between the height and size is very real.And these are no 'ordinary' clothes either. They are the creme de la creme - the elite of the history and fashion world. Dive in and be amazed. Not cheap - but an investment
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2008
As a costume designer I am always on the lookout for really good reference books, this has to rate as one of the best. Two large fully illustrated volumes for a bargain price. The photographs are glorious showing wonderful detail and the costumes are beautifully mounted, particularly in volume one, giving a real feel of how they must have looked when worn. My only criticism would be that in some eras, particularly in the twentieth century, Male costume is underepresented, however this is nearly always the case in costume books. I definately recommend this book to any lover of fashion, costume or beautiful things...truly scrumptious.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
Two big, heavy books full of colour photos. The antique garments of centuries past are presented in a such a way that, although the manequins are shot in neutrally set studios, with the simple addition of period-relevant wigs to the heads of the dummies, we get a strong sense of what a complete outfit would really look like on the body. There are also inserts of paintings to see these fashions in the context of art work of the time. Clear, close-up shots of modern fashion too. A very rich and useful resource.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
Taschen books are well known for their quality and value, but this is exceptional - a pair of large format (and very heavy) hardbacks presented in a slipcase. Stunning photographs of clothes from the collection of the Kyoto Costume Institute including many close ups showing details of embroidery and design features. The text is informative without being dry. Highly recommended for anyone with an interest in fashion or textiles.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2008
If, like me, you work in men's vintage fashion, and you have high hopes for this book, here's a warning: STEER CLEAR OF IT.

Apart from several photographs regarding men's 18th Century fashion in the first volume, there is NOTHING on men's fashion whatsoever. As for the second volume, zero! No pictures at all regarding men's fashion throughout the whole of the 20th Century. A serious omission, even more so if you deal in men's clothing from the 1920's onwards.

I'm so disappointed with this that I'm sending it back two hours after receiving it.

PS: If you're interest is strictly in women's clothing, this book has some stunning pictures.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2008
The quality of these two volumes is superb and I imagine that everyone with an interest in Fashion would find the content thoroughly engrossing and inspiring.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
I purchased this book and it arrived in perfect condition and on time. I was, and am more than happy with the product itself and I would most definitely buy from this seller again.
They also answered all my questions thoroughly and didn't hesitate to answer them.

This book is also currently out of print and was a major find, and very reasonably priced.
You won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2011
These books are beautifully illustrated with dressed manequines (specially designed by the Institute), fragments of cloth, accessories and painting from the periods represented and shows some of the contents of the Kyoto Costume Institute [...] The Institute does not have it's own exhibition space. The historical garments shown in the books are exclusively western.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Great books, my girlfriend loved them as they were for a present for her. She is writing her PhD's about Vintage in fashion and these books will help her a little bit to do so.
They definitely look very nice! Recommend to anybody who loves fashion and like reading about it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2009
I'll keep this short and simple;
This is amongst the best visual references for historical fashion. Every garment is exquisitely photographed in exceptional detail, notes on the maker are brief but useful. Both books are of general high quality, they are hard-core big, heavy bulky things (bargain for the price!). The book covering 20th century fashion is a little larger than the first book, which is useful for anyone studying fashion are higher education. Overall, you will find yourself dipping in and out of them at leisure or when in need of research.

The only drawback to the books is they showcase very expensive, upper-class clothing. I am interested in costume design and like to have a range of clothing from a specific period, even so, these are great reference books.

Overall I highly recommend buying them, especially at this ridiculously cheap price.
Enjoy!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)