Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars23
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 January 2016
Lovely family video, I watched it today first time I've had chance to see if it works ok. No problem very good filming and great scenes I will be showing it to my great nieces when they visit next month. They have a very big retriever so this will be just the thing for them to enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
I bought this as a present for my 9 year old grandson, who really enjoyed it. He said it was very sad sometimes but had a good ending. My son said it was an ideal present for a boy who loves animals, and also is good for family watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Growing up in the Pacific Northwest, young Angus McCormick (Jesse Bradford) has learned many survival skills. He's just finishing up a nice canoe. And when he finds a stray dog, he adopts him and names him Yellow.

Taking a few days off from school to accompany his dad, John (Bruce Davison), on a supply run seems like a dream come true. But when they encounter a fierce storm, the boat they are in capsizes. John is quickly rescued, but the search and rescue teams can't find any trace of Angus or Yellow.

The two have survives and are trying to find their way back to civilization. Will they be able to survive and be reunited with their family?

This movie is fairly standard and innocuous family fare. It is a little slow at times, especially in the beginning while things are set up. It is fairly predictable. But it is entertaining. Kids will enjoy it more than their parents. My biggest complaint was actually the short scenes. Many things are introduced and resolved too quickly, never giving any plot point time to be fully developed. At the same time, I did eventually get caught up in the emotions and found the ending satisfying.

The film could have been much better but does grow on you. Don't rush out to see it, but there's no reason to avoid it either.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
A nice film of a boy and his dog, although it ended happily, I found it a bit upsetting and frightening when the boy was saved by the emergency services, and the dog nearly fell to its death
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
I thought this movie was good. however I did get a bit bored if im being honest. I think it could of been a little bit better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
Very happy with the speedy delivery..this is a christmas pressie for my son who loved this so much he wants it on dvd..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
really enjoyed this film if you want a good dog film to watch order this one. good value for the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2009
Cat lovers will not enjoy this film.

But if you have ever lost a dog, or have the imagination to understand that condition, you should give this a chance.

'Far from Home' combines the awesome beauty of the Pacific northwest coast, a dog, a happy ordinary family as well as rescue aircraft and helicopters, so there's something for everyone.
Let's be frank, this is not Oscar material, the human actors are sound rather than superb, but 'Yellow' (the dog), plays himself with great authenticity and naturalism.

The story is contrived, no sailor who knows the Pacific coast would set sail without checking the local met. forecast first, but this provides the writers with the opportunity for a storm to separate Dad from son and his dog.

Everyone reacts with proper stoicism and the human characters are soon re-united but 'Yellow' cannot be picked-up by the helicopter so we are all set for much anxiety as the labrador must now fend for himself in the vast temperate Cedar forest of the Canadian coastal wilderness.

The ending is surprisingly touching and actually quite numinous. If you own tear ducts, prepare to use them.

Up there with any of the great 'dog films' and something for all the family.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
One of the best boy/dog films ever made..the scenery makes it special
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
Absolutely loved this film. Just right for family viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.