Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
272
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 26 October 2009
"Fantastic Mr Fox" is a thoroughly entertaining children's movie that I can unreservedly recommend to parents seeking to amuse their offspring this Halloween break. The film is quirky,funny and unpredictable and the animation is visually impressive and original. The characters in the film are all iconoclastic and determinedly individual,especially Mr Fox , voiced perfectly by George Clooney. Mr Fox is a charismatic free spirit who, after moving to his new tree house, falls back into his old ways and cannot resist the temptation to raid three nearby farms and make off with large amounts of poultry. However the farmers take their revenge and hunt him down mercilessly .Can Mr Fox lead his merry band of woodland animals to safety and regain his brush in the process ? October 2009 has certainly been a good month for animated children's films with "Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs", "Up" and now "Fantastic Mr Fox" all being of a high standard.
22 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2009
This is a great-looking film made with traditional stop-go animation and it is not meant to be all about CGI and special-effects. The end result is gorgeous. The animals have a slight jumpiness to their movements but that is the style of the movie and strangely realistic. The score is also very simple, mainly (wholly?) a drum that you hear whenever the action it about to speed up. I found this entirely adequate, stylish, and even humorous. The creatures themselves are gorgeous to look at. George Clooney gives a faultless, stylish, humorous performance as Mr Fox. The story is about a fox who has settled down into marriage but who can't resist one more adventure. I loved it and so did my six-year-old and not many movies can reach such a wide age range as that!
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
Great family film, something for everyone.
My daughter asked for this DVD after reading the book and watching the film at school. She watched it everyday for about a week, and still watches it occasionally now.
I think the humour can appeal to all ages, which makes it a great family movie night film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2012
I bought this film to watch with my tutor group. We had just finished reading the book and we always watch the film afterwards.
They loved it, they are vertical which means they range from 11-19 (boys and girls) and they all thought it was funny.

The are a couple of jokes that they just didn't get, but me and my co-tutor had a giggle over. They didn't mind.
George Clooney's dry manner added to this.
They did enjoy it, but in comparison to the book it is quite different.

If you are buying it to give some little people an early injection of the legend that is Roald Dahl, then get Matilda instead.
If you are buying it as an adult to watch go for it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2016
This is a great film. It's very different to other Roald Dahl films as it feels almost more like a fly on the wall documentary than a film. It has a definite feel that this is what a Coen Brothers family film may look like. The film is along a similar narrative to the book, but given a few twists that can be done on film. The animation feels raw and not like the polished CGI animations we have come to expect, but this only adds to the brilliance of the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Fans of the wonderful and whacky world of Wes Anderson films will be lusting after this Criterion reissue (Feb 2014) of his 2009 foray into animation with "Fantastic Mr. Fox".

Unfortunately - better print or no and new extras or not - the American Criterion BLU RAY reissue is REGION A LOCKED - so it will not play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Perhaps with "The Grand Budapest Hotel" doing such great business and receiving such glowing reviews - "Fox" might see a REGION B release soon. But it's wait and see for the moment. For now don't make an expensive and easy-to-make Region-Coding blunder on this Criterion BLU RAY release...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
Great film to watch very funny and good coman sense lessons,can be learnt from,iit
I think it should be rated for 12,as the humour is quite dry,and with other induendos,in some bits,but all depending on the person watching it,as they may find it offensive,or even boring,all personal taste
So I did like it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2015
I just love this film! I'm a fan of Wes Anderson's work, as well as stop motion animation, and this film beautifully combines the two. It's a very clever adaptation of a Roald Dahl book with an all star cast and clever scripting. I wouldn't really rate this as a children's film, but I thoroughly enjoy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
The Fantastic Mr Fox, This dvd is wonderful ,brilliant movie of Roald Dahl's great story. I saw this on t.v over Christmas and I was so thrilled to bits, I got it from Amazon. Foxes are the in thing at the moment. why don't you order this great d.v.d and sit and watch it with the kids. and it is really funny as well. THE FANTASTIC MR FOX, THE FANTASTIC AMAZON AND THE FANTASTIC LOW PRICE You can't go wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
I liked this film, it's good sunday afternoon entertainment, and the special affects,
animation etc, is really hypnotic, I'm thirty three, can't remember much Roald Dahl.
But this is probably another good family/kids film. Obviously.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse